We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small apartment stay in central Reykjavik” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small apartment stay in central Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My partner and I stayed in Apartment 40 for 5 nights in Aug 2014.

PROS:
- Small apartment style, so you have a separate bedroom, ensuite, kitchenette (with utensils, basic cooking equipment) and a small lounge area.
- Impeccably clean (and they service the apartments daily too)
- Central location to 'downtown' Reykjavik and the tourist/shopping area.
- Free wifi (in does drop in and out a little bit - but remember it's free! There are 4 wifi network options and you can choose the one that has the greatest strength).
- Small milk in the fridge (it's the small things - enjoyed a bit of milk in my coffee each morning)
- Parking lots and street parking right next to Hotel. About $10 a day - but only if you're parked there between 10am and 6pm (free there after). We never had to pay as we were out exploring all day.
- Secure entrance.
- The remote reception wasn't a problem at all. You just buzz through the intercom, they open the door remotely and your keys are on a bench inside within a marked envelope. Maps and brochures also there with some tourist attractions etc.
- Check-out is a breeze. Because you pre-pay (or we did), you just leave the keys in the apartment and go!

CONS (for consideration, but not show-stoppers)
- It is a little bit noisy - or was on our floor. We could hear the people up stairs walking around quite easily - creeking floors, I guess. Unfortunately, they had a tendency to do this at 2am in the morning...
- They do warn you (there are literally signs on the wall!) - but the hot water is REALLY hot! I struggled with the shower because i couldn't keep the water cool enough to stand under half the time. My partner had better luck. Let's say, once you go hot, you can't go back. Be careful if you've got children that they don't get scolded.
- This is a preference one - but we found the bed really really soft (maybe made of just foam?). Husband actually slept on the floor one night, as he prefers a firm mattress. You sink into this bed. But, as i said...that's a preference thing; so you may have no issue at all.
- Satellite tv had quite a few stations that didn't work (mostly all the english news channels...) but we weren't there to watch tv anyway and used the free internet to check the news.

Overall, we liked this apartment hotel. If you stay here, i recommend asking for a top level floor to avoid the noise issues.

Enjoy your stay - Iceland is a fascinating place. We loved our time there.

Room Tip: Choose top level floors to avoid noise from guests walking around in rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our beds have top quality spring mattresses and guests have often asked which make they are because they want to buy one. We will check the bed in apt. 40 to make sure it is as it should be. All furniture is renewed as needed from time to time.

The internet connection is very fast and good enough to hold Skype conferences. Because of thick walls you may need to change to a different wireless access point if you move from one room to another.

Icelanders drill for hot water like some other nations drill for oil. As you say the hot water Reykjavik in comes form the tap very hot, up to 86C. All showers have blenders with a lock to make sure accidents do not happen. You would have to push a button to override this safety feature, which is not recommended.

Again for the satellite stations these have over 40 channels including several news channels. There is a special remote for the satellite receiver. I think the misunderstanding arises because we have recently renewed the 42“ flat screen TVs. These can receive a lot of local channels that are scrambled and the one in apt 40 clearly has not been cleared of these extra channels.

We appreciate guests´s comments on anything that can be improved and appreciate the information we get directly and through TripAdvisor. We have made countless improvements through the years because of these recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    156
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
382
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The apartment was modern, clean and comfortable! It was extremely quiet and had black out curtains which helped us get a good night's sleep. The shower was like a spa treatment! The management was available remotely even though we arrived well after midnight. The location is in a quiet neighborhood and centrally located for lovely walks around downtown. I look forward to staying here again when I visit Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I got in late from my travels (9 pm) and the hotel was very accommodating; however, the people next to next to me woke at 4:30 am and left at 7 am. You can hear everything! Then, the cleaning people came at 8 am. I asked them to postpone and they said what do you want me to do? So, I paid $300 for 4 hours of sleep! I also downloaded a whitenoise app to drown out the noise but it wasn't enough. I would not recommend staying here until they get some sort of decor that can add sound barrier as they have in restaurants. I stayed in apt 20. Perhaps, it's different in other apartments.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I know it is irritating to be woken up at night. Many of the hotels in the centre suffer from noise from the street party that is Reykjavik at night but because of it‘s location just outside the bustle of the nightlife, guests at Castle House Luxury Apartments enjoy peace and quiet at night.

We do not have completely soundproof walls but very seldom get complaints about disturbance. Perhaps you are exceptionally sensitive to sound. Since you complained about your next door neighbour the simplest thing would have been to knock on their door and ask them to keep it down. Or contact us on the 24/7 number so we could have phoned them with this request, as I pointed out in our email exchange yesterday.

Our staff started cleaning (next door, not in your apartment as it might appear from your review) at 9 am, not at 8. Probably your watch/phone was still set on a different time zone. What you quote them saying is not accurate as in fact they did not get a word in while you shouted at them at the top of your voice and then slammed the door. Another number you do not quote correctly is the price you paid for the apartment. You paid £139 (approx. 230 US $)

We do want every guest to enjoy their stay with us and go out of our way to make it so. You can reach us any time day or night and we respond quickly to all requests. The other reviews on this site seem to confirm this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbeach,miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

my boyfriend & i stayed here for the last 3 nights of our wonderful icelandic journey. the apt. was clean, modern, and had a touch of class. the art work, bedding, leather sofa and fully stocked kitchen were top notch. although we never met the owner they were available asap through house phone & most accommodating.she even granted us a late check out for we were taking the night flight back home. the cleaning staff was wonderful & you couldn't beat the location!!!!! i would definitely recommend this place to all my friends !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights. The apartments are clean and comfortable, with bedroom, dining/sitting area, small kitchen. It is in walking distance to city centre, convention centre and restaurants. There are lovely walks close by, lake full of swans, ducks and more. We can absolutely recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norway1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed there with my wife for 5 days in July 2014. It's pretty close to a museum, a supermarket, a shopping district, a beautiful lake, couple of amazing churches and tons of restaurants. Parking is on the street, easy to find and pretty cheap ($4/day max + sunday free). Provided many one-way streets, we were a little lost but we found it eventually. The rooms were clean, staff were friendly and there was a kitchen too!

We would definitely go back if we visit Reykjavik again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibuachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had no problem finding the apartments, getting parked or checking in. The check-in instructions are very clear and easy to understand and can be followed easily without a problem to get access to the apartment.

Once inside we found the apartment warm and cosy (it was still cold and a bit snowy when we visited at Easter) and well appointed with everything we needed for a few nights stay. Reykjavik's hot water supply is of course almost unlimited and slightly sulphuric to smell, but to me that is one of the interesting points of visiting and I'm sure it did my skin some good! The city centre is compact and we could easily walk to whatever we wanted to see, and equally easily use the car to get out of town.

We found the apartments a pleasant change from a hotel with the extra space of a lounge to relax, and as eating out in Iceland is an expensive business, having the ability to self cater in the apartment kitchen offers significant value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#3 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing