We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel near the center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Kangasala, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Nice and clean hotel at reasonable price (78 eur / double room in October 2012). Very nice and helpful receptionist lady. A short walking distance (10 minutes) from the city centre. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms. We had nice view to the church. Can recommend to anyone. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarikaR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    423
    173
    34
    7
See reviews for
116
464
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, NC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Let me say first that I understand that Iceland is expensive and Nordic hotels are spartan. But I did not enjoy my stay. This was bare bones college dorm level accommodations only without the desk. Barely any space for clothing, barely room to walk around the bed, and give up any thought of cuddling up with your partner on a chilly icelandic night because a double is simply two twin beds pushed together and they will just slide apart and you'll end up on the pergo floor. Decent price given how expensive everything is, good breakfast and a convenient if brisk walk to pretty much anywhere in Reykjavik. I hope to return to this wonderful country but I will spend the money to stay at one of the bigger hotels if I stay more than a night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LitPr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stay the first night there. I book all from germany. All was ok. As well the price from germany is ok. The breakfast was very good, get all what you want. The room it the only one I not like 100%, because about the size, is to small, special the bathroom. I had only 90kg, but the toilet are very small close toe the door. the TV not work, after I go to the reception he can switch on, but not remotecontroll ( room 102 ) ok small problems! Easy to walk outside! 100meter left! 500-1000meter strait on! you in the most important street for shopping/restaurants/bars all! real only walk 5-10 min! as well close to the hotel. Thai/Italian restaurants. Than I not sure what to do the next days? I ask on the reception about when I want come back? what price I get? and if they can reservation for me? But I not sure I come back or not!? The woman very friendly! she make reservation and give me the best price! real 100% good service. Than we only sleep outside on our travel one night! and coe back for more 3 nights! Room the same, small but remote control works....And one thing good as well! W-Lan! And one PC in Lobby for free to use!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel in September and just returned. We booked the room via Travelrepublic and upon arrival they gave us a very small twin bedded room on the ground floor next to the reception when our booking was for a double bed - quiet location! However, we complained at the reception and the next day they gave us a much better double room on the first floor (be aware they seem to have only 7 doubles!).

The first room was small and tired. The second was better but still a bit dated and worn out.

Overall the stay was OK, the hotel is well located (15 minutes walk to downtown) and there is a couple of good restaurants (one excellent thai) nearby. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Not too bad for an expensive town like reykjavik!!

Room Tip: Pretend you get a double - no ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolHolHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

i have to say the rooms here were far better than i expected(i booked through a discount site). They were modern, clean, comfortable beds, and the blackout curtains were key during the summer. the location was right by Laugavegur, and is also in walking distance to most of downtown (if you want to go by the shoreline, you might want to drive if its cold cause its about 20 minutes from Lind) Another great thing about this hotel is that they offer a free continental breakfast, and its good! stock up cause Reykjavik is damn expensive! 2 things that i could complain about it, 1. the parking lot was very small (bout 10 spots) and in order to get out of the lot you had to get the remote for the gate, drive out of the lot, then go back to the front desk to give them the remote again so someone else can use it. kinda got annoying. The next thing is that the water stunk and had a slippery quality to it. now, im relatively sure that most of the water in iceland is like this but having never stayed in a different hotel i cant be sure. But overall the hotel was nice, the staff spoke english and was extremely helpful. One front desk girl even went out of her way to go and pay a parking ticket for me on the day i was leaving cause i would have been gone by the time the bank opened! i would stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aRedLetterLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

A very reasonably priced hotel in a central location well positioned for exploring this wonderful city. Rooms are comfortable, the duvets being particularly appreciated after a day in the cold. Staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. The bar is warm and friendly, good home cooked local food. Althoug a short stroll from the hotel are many excellent resteraunts.
I shall return to this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187069Riyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing