We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at Fosshotel Lind on first night of tour. Room adequate and clean. Only problem was the shower which was small, plastic shower curtain which kept wrapping itself around the body
and the water went all over the floor and soaked clothes as nowhere to hang them out of the way. Beds not particularly comfortable.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice.
Not a bad stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam050950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    438
    177
    35
    8
See reviews for
121
478
74
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

No bar or restaurant open during our first three days stay . Breakfast well presented and a great selection, All hotel staff were very polite and obliging.
If you are taking any coach trips from the hotel do present your paper work to reception before jumping on the first coach that arrives.
Rooms a tad cool , small and very clean.
Yes I would use it again as it is only minutes away from the centre

Room Tip: We stayed on the front and never heard any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having just returned from the Fosshotel Lind we cannot fault it. Check in and out was quick and easy and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed.the only bad thing was the plastic stirrers which started to melt. There was a great choice for breakfast. The restaurant was good when open,the barman was great,he ran the bar and cooked your meal at the same time but he was still very polite and helpful even when really busy. When coming back to Iceland we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our stay in Iceland got off to a bad start, however from the moment we arrived at Foss Lind, we were treated as what I can only describe as service over and above what I would describe as exemplary. If I were still in the business of providing customer service the staff at the Lind would be my role models. Attention to detail, helpfulness and concern was displayed in every action they took. The room was basic but clean, the bed was comfortable. The staff were fantastic. Thank you Lind and thanks for getting my glasses to me. Again an example is service beyond the norm. We will be back and guess where we will be staying by choice this time thanks again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

You must go to Iceland - what an amazing country and the people so friendly and helpful.
We went on 2nd Dec and arrive in 8 degrees very disappointed as we had our thermals on ready for colder weather!. The bus journey from the airport into Reykkjavik was a very easy taking us through black volcanic landscape for mile and after mile, finally reaching the outskirts of christmas lite Reykajavik. After several drop offs at places which you thought 'glad I'm not staying here' we finally arrived a the Foss Lind and knew we'd struck lucky. The location was perfect just a 2 min stroll to the main shopping street and 10 mins to the sea. We were greeted by Elin, a lovely lady who welcomed us and chatted to us and advised us throughout our stay. In fact all the reception staff were lovely an friendly and Estamis welcomed us back one night with hot choc and cake (very welcome after a cold night looking for the norhern lights (more about that later). The hotel was extremely quite and we only met 6 different people the whole of our stay there. We got to our room and noticed the room opposite was bigger and therefore asked if we could swop which we did without any problem. We immedately went out to explore the shopping street, the shops all decorated for Christmas which was a real bonus. As we proceeded down the street we followed the noise of a brass band only to find it was the Christmas lights switch on. What an amazing atmosphere, if seemed the whole of the town had come out - all we needed was the snow!! We went into the oldest church on the island to be greeted by another friendly lady who invited us to their Christmas carol service that night. So off we went back to the hotel, after calling into a supermarket for bread and milk and went back to the hotel to make a cup-a-soup. Knowing it was expensive to eat out we went prepared with various packets and tinned meat, biscuits and sachets. Off to the carol concert all in Icelandic but the tunes all recognisable. Came out and snow was falling - amazing good job we'd kept our thermals on - it was cold ....at last! Woke up after a warm cosy nights sleep to 6" of snow on the ground. Breakfast was excellent (make your own waffles) and only us and another couple in the large dining room. Booked 3 trips prior to going Golden Circle, Blue Lagoon and Northern Lights - all a must. Would have loved to have also done the volcano, but didn;t have the time. Trips are amazing - especially in the snow and whiteout at times. Guides so informative and learnt such alot about Iceland. going in the winter is a must, but I definately want to go back in the summer.

Room Tip: Rooms basic but clean and functional. Water is from the geothermal springs which is hot and smells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

On the whole, we were very pleased with the Fosshotel Lind, and we had a lovely time in Reykjavik.

Good things about Fosshotel Lind:

All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
The room was warm and well equipped.
Just like everywhere in Iceland - the hot water was really hot! Don't worry about the smell - you get used to it very quickly!
We were blessed with a great view of Hallgrímskirkja from our window.
Excursions to the Golden Circle and Blue Lagoon picked up and dropped off at the hotel (these provided by Reykjavik Excursions - excellent!)
Reception staff were happy to help book a Northern Lights tour - Thor was particularly helpful in this respect.
Lots of information provided in reception about excursions. A map of Reykjavik was provided. Also, some little cards advertising restaurants etc in the city - some of these provide a discount when presented.
Very good breakfast, with plenty of choice.
We were given a packed lunch when our flight transfer picked us up before breakfast started.
You really couldn't ask for a better location. Very close to the centre of Reykjavik, but in a quiet area.

Things that could have been better:
Only one bedside table - I tried using a chair, but my glass of water fell off!
Some bacon at breakfast would have been good. There were plenty of alternatives in terms of cold meats. But we like bacon!
The bathroom was a proper wet room, which is great, but the water didn't drain away quickly after using the shower, so using the sink would involve standing in a puddle. Not a massive issue, as long as you remember to take your socks off first.

All in all, a brilliant hotel. We'd definitely stay again if we return to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie_Polecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is located less than 10 minutes walking from the Domkirke Church, but is even closer to shops and restaurants.

Good service, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They spent several minutes helping me with reservations and directions

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, new, modern, etc. The breakfast is very good and you will find options for all tastes. If you need to bring something to eat later on during your tour, they offer you to prepare some sandwiches to go for a small fee. Even better, on my last day as my return flight was very early in the morning and I would miss the breakfast, they offered me to prepare some sandwiches to go for free.

If back to Reykjavik, I will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,611 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,090 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
606 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing