We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, very friendly staff, recently renovated rooms, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here during our trip to Iceland on two occasions, the first for 2 nights and the second for a single night. The hotel was clean, the rooms were very good (apparently they must have been upgraded very recently), though our second room was VERY small for 2 people and didn't have much storage space. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. No internet in the rooms, but free wifi in the bar for hotel guests. Our room rate included the buffet breakfast, which was quite adequate, even good. The restaurant gets very busy since it has so many tour groups, so you might not get a table if you arrive at the wrong time. The hotel location is a very pleasant 10-15 minute walk from the city center and only about 5 minutes from the National Museum.
If coming on your own, take the Flybus at the airport (about $20), which will take you to a central bus depot near the hotel and then a van to the hotel. (This far cheaper than a taxi, and far less exasperating than a competitor's bus that stops at several hotels before arriving at your hotel.)
Our room was quiet, and the hotel is in very quiet area which might be a big advantage especially on weekends when people are out drinking until 5am in the town center. The blackout curtains were not great, which is necessary in the summer since it is still quite light outside at midnight.
Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellygoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place looks terrible on the outside, but the inside is quite nice. The rooms are large and have views. The property is quiet. The walk to the main area of the city is only about 10 minutes and goes past a charming old grave yard. If you want to be near downtown without all the noise, this place is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phoenix1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson BLU Saga Hotel and we thank you for your time to write the review.

We are continuously putting in great effort in order to maintain the building and improve our hotel.

We are very proud of the view we offer our guests, all of our rooms are located on the 4th – 7th floor which guarantees a great view either over down town Reykjavik and mountain view or sea view over the Atlantic Ocean.

With best regards
Kristján Daníelsson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights here, one night on arrival and one night prior to departure.

1. at 7am the breakfast was extremely slow when there are big groups. line out of door 20+people strong, we waited for more than 30 minutes just to get in. late for tour bus, our friends had to get luggage down for us. they are short handed to clean up table after people finish. eventually they let people sit outside of the restaurant by bar area, should have done that in the beginning, would have elimited the big que outside the restaurant. the chef making eggs are teeagers, can only do one order at a time instead of 3 orders on the big cook top like all other places. so if you like sunny side up, thats 10+minutes wait.

2. showe curtain was only half, so it flooded the bathroom. other people on tour bus told us we should have built a "towel dam". will try to do that next time.

3. our bus arrived 3 pm the day prior to departure. they front desk "forgot" to get our keys ready. so we all had to wait with luggages for them to make keys for t he whole group 40 people. thats inefficient management.

4. other than the above, hotel is very good, has free wifi

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Radisson Hotel Blu Saga-Reykjavik Dates of Stay 17-20 June 2011 Room 451
We arrived around 1 pm and were told that our room was not yet ready even if we upgraded. I decided not to upgrade since we already had breakfast included in our rate. I recommend booking a room without breakfast and then upgrading which includes breakfast and a larger room with a few more extras-I think it was 25 euro more. Our room was ready in about a half hour, and I used that time to talk with the nice blonde lady in the ITA office to get some information and book a tour. She was very patient and was attentive to all. She provided maps and recommendations. We booked the Golden Circle tour with GTI (Gateway to Iceland) because their brochure showed smaller vans than the other ones. The other ones may have had smaller vans but not sure. Book with GTI and try to get Gummi. He was great! He showed us so many extras and even stopped to let us feed and pet some Icelandic horses. On Sunday, we spent about 2 hours at the neighborhood pool, Vesturbaejarlaug. The same lady provided hours and directions. It is mostly locals, is not too large, cost 450 krona, and was worth a few hours. I got sunburned! If you’re modest, don’t go because you have to shower nude with soap before entering the pool area. They watch to make sure you clean private areas since they don’t use chemicals in the water-just the natural geothermal Icelandic water. We also booked with the same nice lady and did the 1 hour puffin tour that same day-that is seasonal from May to August when the puffins are there. Restaurants vary-we found one good one the first night-Fru Berglaug. The have very reasonable prices and serve monkfish, lamb, lobster soup, and much more plus some good draught beers-Viking, in particular. It’s about 500m from the downtown square by the lake. The one that advertises the Seafood buffet with the big sign off the square was awful. Mostly cold fish-they had two casseroles with fish but a total waste of time and money at 4900 krona. There’s also a famous hot dog stand where President Clinton ate. They put lamb in their hot dogs along with the pork, and they are much more tasty the ones I’m used to. We had dinner one night at the hotel. I had lamb which was very good, and my friend had a good steak. The soup and bread are included so don’t do the “Taste of Iceland” or you will pay more. I thought the prices were higher than they should have been, but they are always such at hotels. Breakfast was good each morning. They don’t make special egg dishes such as omelettes and fried eggs until 7 am, but I asked the last day about 20 minutes before 7, and the chef made me 3 eggs over medium. Others weren’t as polite as I was so they just stood there while he ignored them. I asked politely and explained my situation. The only issue with breakfast was the tour bus crowds-especially some who sampled everything at the buffet with their fingers. Getting a table when they’re there can be a challenge, but we never waited more than 5 minutes. All in all, I highly recommend a trip to Iceland. It’s a beautiful country with many friendly people. We also lucked out on weather as we had no rain, and it was in the upper 50’s-low 60’s (14-17 Celsius) each day for the high with ample sunshine. Nights weren’t too cold either.
As far as the hotel, I liked the location. It was a good 10-15 minute walk to the center of town but very quiet even though the largest hotel in Iceland. All of the staff were professional and answered questions as requested. Room was cleaned each day, and new amenities (except small hand towel) were replaced each day. It was that time of year when there was no darkness, but the blackout shades worked very well. TV had limited stations but satellite with German stations was not receiving signal very well. CNN did well. We had two comfortable beds with duvet; there were extra pillows in closet. Room had safe and plenty of room in closets to hang and place clothes. There was a refrigerator which we used although it was very crowded with minibar items, of which we didn’t partake. There was a chair and small table plus a desk. Bathroom had a deep tub, which was nice for a soaking bath. Tub didn’t drain quickly and could probably use a plunger. One morning we couldn’t get any cold water. Isn’t that ironic? Usually, it’s the other was around, but not in Iceland where there’s an abundance of hot water. Plenty of good amenities were provided, We were near the elevator but never heard any noise. Guests were also quiet since the hotel was supposedly full two of the nights. I am not sure if there was a bathroom in the lobby, but there should be signs if there is one. I couldn’t find it and didn’t have to go bad enough to ask. Tour busses stopped outside of hotel, and everything in Iceland seems to run late. They are very calm people, but it can be disturbing when you are returning to the airport-we arrived in plenty of time as it turned out.
When I return to Iceland, I probably will stay somewhere less expensive-we paid 185 euro per night-yes they quote in euro and then charge in krona based on the going conversion rate. Everyone in Iceland refers to the financial collapse a few years ago so I guess that’s why the hotels quote their rates in euro. I have nothing really bad to say about this hotel, but now that I’ve been to Reykjavik and know my way around, I don’t need to pay for the extras that this hotel offered. A bed and breakfast would be more fitting next time, but thanks Hotel Saga for a great introduction to Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson BLU Saga Hotel.

Thank you for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Iceland and that you enjoyed your stay at Radisson BLU Saga hotel. Many of our regular guests come here not only because they like the hotel but also because of the proximity to Vesturbæjarlaug. Vesturbæjarlaug has been considered one of the best public pools in Iceland for decades.

Next time you visit Iceland I strongly recommend a visit during the winter time, there are plenty of activities available during the winter i.e. driving Snowmobile, see the glaciers and watch the northern lights, etc. Winter season is low season in Icelandic tourism and therefore it is possible to book accommodation on a substantially lower rate than during the summer.

I hope you will have the time to visit Iceland again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again at Radisson BLU Hotel Saga.

With Best Regards
Kristján Daníelsson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We choose this hotel because it was close to town, about 15 minute easy walk, and this was really the only redeeming quality. The room we were given the first three nights was tiny. I could practically sit onthe bed and touch both walls. We complained and then were given a bigger room for our last three nights. We booked months in advance and should have had the bigger room to begin with. The bathroom in our new room was old, tired and had mildew. The modern room photos they show on their website are NOT the rooms we were given either time. The pillows were not clean and appeared they had not been replaced since the 1980's. the service was indifferent. If you stay here do not pre purchase breakfast, as it is 2700 kr (about $23) for poor quality. Instead, go to the bakery on the corner. All nd all, it is ok place to stay if you come in with very low expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest

We thank you for staying at Radisson BLU Saga hotel, we take all feedback very seriously and we thank you for your time to write the review.

All our rooms have been renovated since 2001. We have made two major renovations, one in 2001 were all our lobby area and majority of rooms were renovated, in 2007 we renovated our conference area entirely and installed a state of the art facilities. Along with those two major renovations we are always making smaller renovations which is an ongoing process.

We hope you will have the time to visit Iceland again in the future and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance.

With best regards.
Kristján Daníelsson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

our tour bus leaves at 8, we waited in que for 35 minutes just to get in the restaurant for included breakfast. cuz they dont have enough tables, and they are so slow in cleaning them after people left. people either had to skip breakfast or late to bus. i never see such long line just for breakfast in hotel, totally ridiculous and waste of time. our friends had to get our luggage for us cuz we were in line waiting and waiting. they finally let people sat outside of the restaurant at bar area. they should have done that in the beginning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Guest

We thank you for staying at Radisson BLU Saga hotel, we take all feedback very seriously and we thank you for taking your time to write the review.

I would like to apologize for how long time it took you to get into the breakfast room. Unfortunately it does happen occasionally that there are long lines for breakfast at around 8pm. This happens when more guests than usual are going for breakfast before they are picked up for their day tours which normally begins at 8:00-8:30pm.

We hope you will have the time to visit Iceland again in the future and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance.

With best regards.
Kristján Daníelsson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Blu Raddison Saga is outside of the city center by a 10 minute walk. The rooms are small with 2 twin beds. The restaurant has slow service. The rooms are old, but clean. There are lots of tour groups that stay here, so the hotel stays busy. Overall, if I stayed in Reykjavik again, I'd pick a hotel more centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest

We thank you for staying at Radisson BLU Saga hotel, we take all feedback very seriously and we thank you for taking your time to write the review.

We hope you will have the time to visit Iceland again in the future and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance.

With best regards.
Kristján Daníelsson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,740 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,452 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,668 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £128 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing