We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel near the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel near the city centre”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here and were very pleased with the accommodation, facilities and location. The rooms were quite spacious with all the facilities you would expect from the Radisson chain. We ate in the bar a couple of nights and also in the buffet restaurant and thought they were both very good. The buffet is not cheap but no meal in Iceland is, and the quality and quantity was pretty good. There is a Reykjavik Excursions tour desk in the lobby which is ideal for booking or confirming trips. There is also a bank in the same building which makes it easy to change money. The hotel is near the University and it takes about 10 minutes to walk to the city centre or maybe a little more when it's icy underfoot. When we took trips we were always dropped off back at the hotel anyway so the shirt distance from the centre was not a problem. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and we really found nothing to criticise at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and there wasn't much to chose between the views from the front or back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    779
    563
    190
    85
See reviews for
357
893
105
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for New Year and was pretty disappointed with the quality of the hotel. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful (Edda in the tours was very helpful) but others were miserable and didn't smile. Breakfast was cold most days - one day we went down at 7am expecting as we were early to get hot food - it must be pre cooked and warmed as it was cold. When I told staff they just looked at me! The rooms are small - fabulous view over the city. Also its a shared balcony for the whole row which is fine but our curtains had to be propped up with the suitcase to close. The bathroom is small and dated the shower is a dribble that smells of eggs (I believe that's all Iceland though) Toiletries are provided but you struggle with the position of the hair dryer in the bathroom to dry your hair. Its about a 10 minute walk to the centre which isn't far but be prepared if there is snow as the roads around the hotel are icy. The entrance to the hotel is clean and presentable its the rooms that require modernisation and more space for the cost. The restaurant had a very expensive Christmas buffet on at most days. One day I went to the bar at 11.15am and they had shut early (a bit disappointing as we had come back to get a wine!) I wouldn't highly recommend this hotel but it is clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest
I am very sorry to read of your disappointing experience here at the hotel, and thank you for taking the time to write.

On a positive note, I am glad you shared your honest feedback with us. We make guest satisfaction top priority and are always eager to improve.

Hope to see you again soon

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you visit Reykjavik go to Radisson 1919. There is no comparison. We have booked an executive room and we were given a classic one without any information. They probably hoped that we will not understand the difference When we found that the room we were given was not the one we booked they did not have availability to offer us what we booked and just corrected the charges I am sure that if we did not ask for what we booked they would have charged us for an executive room all though we stayed in a classic one.
Even without the booking problem rooms and hotel are not compatible with the rooms of the other Radisson 1919
The hotel is far from centre (you need a taxi) and top floor restaurant is very !! expensive.

Room Tip: If you have to stay ask for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Npasxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest,

I am sure there has been a mistake on your reservation.
Please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here over New Years. Overall our experience was fine, and i would happily recommend the hotel. The staff were excellent in all aspects, and were happy to share a joke and have a general chat. The problems are the hotel building itself. The rooms are big and ours had a fantastic view over the city, however they clearly need some moderisation. The TV had poor reception and half the channels didn't work, 2 of the lights needed new bulbs, and the towel rack in the bathroom didn't work. The biggest frustration was the shower head, which had snapped in its bracket so you had carefully balance it or hold it while having a shower. Nothing serious just all little annoying things that i wouldn't expect from a Radisson Hotel . Because we were there on New Years, the opening times of some parts of the hotel were very random. Spa pool was shut both occasions we tried to go in, the restaurants closed early (semi understandable) and they kept locking the entrance from the main car park which meant you had a icy walk round to the front door to get in. None of these things had been communicated in advance, which was again a bit annoying. Like i said before, all in all not a bad hotel at all, but we were left feeling pretty flat about it.

Room Tip: The views are amazing if you get a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared about your stay in Radisson Blu Saga hotel. We both value and respect your kind comments. I assure that your comments and experiences during your stay are very valuable to us and will be taken very seriously without any delay. We always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to in the near future

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the saga for our honeymoon. The room was very modern and clean, the views are amazing and the restaurant on the top floor has some of the best food we have ever tasted. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, they had no problems ringing for transfers and booking table reservations for us.
A lot of people complain about the distance from the hotel to Reykjavik centre, it is literally a 10 min walk through the park and next to the city pond, we walked it everyday! If walking is not for you there are taxis waiting all the time.
We would definitely return to this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared about your stay in Radisson Blu Saga hotel. We both value and respect your kind comments. I assure that your comments and experiences during your stay are very valuable to us and will be taken very seriously without any delay. We always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to in the near future

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is probably very good standard for Iceland, but not the best in the Radisson chain we've stayed in.

Room was a good size with nice views, beds were fairly small with 2 single duvets...interesting.

Bar/restaurant stops serving food at 22:00, which may be OK in the middle of a city but not so much in this location, as there are no other food options around - especially if you're arriving at funny hours from the airport.

One huge plus was the lady at the excursions desk. Very helpful, booked everything we required very quickly and easily!

Spa open very strange hours also - so wouldn't count on this in your stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor with your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received and the assistance was given.

Just to inform tripadvisor readers we do offer double duvets for guest up on request.
We do offer 24 hours rooms service and that is open sandwiches and also do sell some sandwiches at the front desk and skyr.

I sincerely hope that the experience will not deter you from returning to one of our properties in the future.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel was very nice when you entered the reception. We were given standard rooms which were very poor I asked for a double and a triple room the triple room was very poor it was like a two star grade hotel it was for our three adult daughters the decor in the hotel rooms needs refurnished. When we complained we were upgraded to a junior suite and a deluxe double but still had a camp type bed in junior suite but it was better and bigger for our three daughters . Decor again needed updated The breakfast was very good variety but could have been warmer . The Christmas Eve buffet was an extortionate price for what we got it was cold too but in iceland they celebrate Christmas Eve and only hotels are open so we had no choice to go anywhere else. The staff were all very helpful at least

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations. Notes such as yours allow us to frame up constructive feedback and enable us to better serve our guests.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,655 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing