We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good facilities- lacking in service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here from 11th of Feb 2014, this was a very special trip to us here were a few faults, I had emailed prior - twice to ask for champagne to be put in the room prior as a surprise for my husband. Neither email was responded to. We took the fly bus from KEF and arrived with 5 other couples, we were left waiting over a hour for our room to be ready, yet everybody else was given there key. This was our honey moon and we felt simply dumped in the lounge! The room its self was clean and had good facilities. strangely we were given two single duvets and only one very droopy pillow each. I went down to reception and requested a double duvet and an extra pillow this was around 4pm- around 11pm I went back down to follow up the request and was told there arn't any double quilts in Iceland, and that the pillows would be brought in the morning with the cleaners- these never came. Breakfast is plentiful and of a good quality(samon ,cheese ,pastries, eggs, freshfuit etc),The following evening our television didn't work, pressed the one touch button for reception- doesn't work. I went down to reception AGAIN only to be t;ld they've recently lost all there channels and it maybe fixed tomorrow. Not the relaxing luxurious honey moon we had planned, and quite disappointed about the service especially from a Radisson ! I would ideally like to complain but no doubt that email would only be ignored again, like all of the requests we had made

Room Tip: We were in room 527 clean and bright .but view of carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGardiners_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear guest,
First of all congratulations on your wedding. I am terribly disappointed that your visit was less than acceptable and that you have left with a poor impression of us. Clearly, this is not what you or we had envisioned for this trip. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of our team here at Saga Hotel.. We will have a focal discussions regarding your visit with each of the team that you had encountered in a sincere effort to learn about how we can be better in the future. I looked up your reservations and unfortunately we did not know that your where on your honeymoon, and we do have double duvets. Our efforts are usually extremely well received by our guests from product to service experiences. Obviously in your case we fell far from our mark. I would highly appreciate if you may contact me directly on the e-mail isey.thorgrimsdottir@radissonblu.com to let me know your experience thoroughly in our hotel.
Please rest assured that we will work diligently at improving the our product and guest experience.

Hopefully at some point in the future, you'll give us another opportunity to try us again. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

A nice comfortable hotel within reasonable walking distance of the city centre. The walk in was part of the pleasure, walking beside the frozen lake amid the wild birds. Rooms are of a good quality and the views to the snow covered mountains were lovely once you looked over the car park and building site, although under snow and ice they looked OK. The evening meal in the roof top restaurant was excellent in terms of quality and choice - very flexible to allergies - with attentive and friendly service. Expensive but well worth it.

A good location to spend a day walking around the city and use a day pass for museum etc entry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npgsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear guest
I appreciate the time you took to share your beautiful comments about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel. It is an honor for us to hear such nice words from you about our hotel and to know you enjoyed your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at The Raddison Blu Saga.

Room: We were room 419 which is situated over the car park. Don't be put off with that though. Views include the Glaciers in the background. The Concrete Church can also be seen from there. The room itself does come with usual tea and coffee and a mini bar.

Food: We had food at the ground floor restaurant. The full buffet is about £60 for 2 but you can have the starter buffet for £30 approx. Great food, fish, naturally and salad. Meat on the main part of the buffet. Quality food and friendly staff. There is a posh restaurant on the top floor.
Breakfast is on the ground floor in a different area. Plenty of choice. Probably one of the best food choices in a hotel that I have experienced.

Reception: Friendly and helpful staff. Next to reception is a small shop who will organise excursions. They are no expensive there than if you go direct to the tourist excursion shops downtown.

Transport: It's a 15 minute walk downhill into town. Or a No11 bus from outside the front of the hotel. Runs every half hour and costs about 2.20 each way.
The hotel can sort you out a coach to the airport. This is Flybus and it is a mini bus that goes around the hotels and then drops you at the main bus station. I found it easier to use Grayline which located downtown. They will pick you up in the same way, but the beauty is that it's that small ride in to town to their own coach stop rather than trying to get your cases on with everybody else at the main bus station. £15.00

The is also a Radisson 1919 downtown. Although can't comment as not stayed there. It is bang in the middle of everything though.

Room Tip: Odd numbers over the car park. Even over the front. That's certainly true for the '400's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interlaken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice comfortable hotel as you'd come to expect from a Radisson. The location was a little bit awkward - neither that close to the airport nor that close to the city. It's a good 30 minute walk to the centre of town (and that's quite a feat in Icelandic weather) !

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank ynperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments. It normally takes about 15-20 minutes to walk downtown but these days it´s so icy so it takes little longer. Beautiful walk though.

We are looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The towels are quite small and very thin, the bathroom may have seen better days but the beds are comfortable and the staff very friendly and happy to go out of their way to be helpful.
Breakfast has everything you would want and I must say we had a marvellous meal in the restaurant on the 8th floor- real gourmet standard - it helped us forget any shortcomings in the hotel itself.
The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the Centre - if it is your first trip go to the church that dominates the landscape in the middle of Reykjavik - take the lift to the top and you will see the town spread out before you on all sides - including your hotel - so easy to get your bearings and work out where everything is.
The worse memory of the hotel is not its fault - the hot water stinks of sulphur so when you come our of your shower you smell of (clean) rotten eggs.. I gather it is the same everywhere and I am told you soon get used to it...
All in all - not the best hotel but a comfortable bed and good food makes it a reasonably good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments. We both value and respect your kind comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful but this must be the drabbest, dreariest hotel we have ever stayed at. We spent the last two nights of our Icelandic holiday here and opted to spend as much time as possible away from the hotel. To add to our woes, it was noisy too. I would not recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliceCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write, I assure that your comments and experiences during your stay are very valuable to us and will be taken very seriously without any delay. We always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards. For this reason, I would highly appreciate if you may contact me directly on the e-mail isey.thorgirmsdottir@radissonblu.com to let me know your experience thoroughly in our hotel.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

An enjoyable stay in a nice hotel. My wife and I prepaid our booking without any problems in early December and found the staff overall to be helpful and had any requests taken care care of quickly though the service felt a little forced in a few cases. While the hotel isnt in the centre of Reykjavik, it isn't a far walk to get to the main shopping area. A few grumbles are that we weren't told at checkin that the hotels TV service was down (and sadly stayed out of action for our entire stay) and that there was an additional charge for the higher room that we were allocated when we checked in. The rooms are comfortable but they are in need of refurbishment as the decor is very dated. With all of that said, the food is delicious (we tried breakfast and dinner there) and is recommended if you don't feel like making the walk into town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your very nice comments and valuable feedback. I am very sorry to read of your disappointing experience with the TV, we are working on it to get it better to meet our guest expectations. You should of course been informed at check in.

On a positive note, I am glad you shared your honest feedback with us. We make guest satisfaction top priority and are always eager to improve.

Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,836 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,534 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel

Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#21 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £119 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing