We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but starting to fade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad but starting to fade”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed her for three night for a conference.
The hotel looks ok, nice bar area and good restaurant.
Rooms look ok at first glance but then one notices that it is a bit dated and is starting to fade.
The small television with very limited channel selection switches off automatically after about an hour and switches on back to the hotel commercial channel. The remote was really dirty.
The matrasses are super soft and the pillows too thin. The bathroom is ok but the towels are old, small and thin. There was hardly any cold water pressure but on the other hand there was boiling hot water from the tab. The vents above the bath were really dirty inside..
Good point: the free wifi was 6Mb up and down.. I haven't seen that too often in a hotel :-)

All in all.. an average experience..

Room Tip: I heard from a local that there is a good wing and a bad wing.. unfortunately I do not know if I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cees65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for taking the time to write and share your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations. Thank you for a great review.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    779
    563
    190
    85
See reviews for
357
893
105
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were given great suggestions of places to visit off the normal tourist routes by some of the staff. These ideas made it an even better experience for seeing Iceland. The location of the hotel is excellent, as it only takes 15 - 20 minutes to walk into the City Centre. Our room was always nice and clean. The staff were great always friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wendy Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This property is clearly in need of an update. Likely a decent hotel in its day but there are far better hotels and experiences in Reykjavik, as I have stayed in them. Breakfast buffet is mediocre and supplemental services (laundry) are excessive given my experience with other business hotels (over 100 nights/year, seriously).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstuyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write
your valuable feedback.

Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Delighted we stayed here for 4 nights in April and used location as a base for our day trips. We were located on the fifth floor with great views over to the snow clad mountains. The room was very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and the toiletries were good quality. We had a quiet room and slept very well. There was a lovely lobby area just beside lifts where it was nice to sit with a glass of wine in the evening and watch the wonderful sunsets. Breakfast was included in our package and this was very good each morning. There was plenty of choice and supply, and it really set us up for the day! It is a easy scenic 15 min walk to city centre. Our car rental company delivered and collected our car from hotel at no extra charge. Parking at the hotel was free and plentiful and there was a petrol station very close by. Many tour companies pick up at the hotel for day excursions.There is a good tourist information desk located within the hotel reception area. Another handy thing about this hotel is the ATM machine located at the side entrance. Overall this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank grasshopperx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is in a very good location for walking in to the city centre or walking to BSI bus terminal. Tour companies will also collect and drop to the hotel and there is a bus stop nearby which we used to get to Laugardalslaug public bath.
The breakfast was good, even for a vegetarian like myself. There is also a nice bar and a spa, hairdressers and barbers.
The room itself was where I would fault the hotel - it had a very basic design and the beds (singles even though I put in a request for a double) had only one thin pillow each. Both my boyfriend and I woke up with sore necks once or twice!
However in saying that all the staff were very friendly and I would recommend it if you are going mainly to tour around the city and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emalice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations. I am sorry about your neck, we do keep extra pillows in the closet or you could ask the reception for extra pillow and they would be happy to assist.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in Feb. Had phoned ahead before arrival to ensure were getting 2 rooms connecting as had children with us. When arrived late in evening, were given 2 rooms which were not connecting! We were told hotel was full to capacity and we were put up on 6th floor which is clearly in major need of modernisation. The rooms were REALLY bad, tatty and dirty. We were given 2 rooms both with very small double beds, so I slept in one with my daughter, whilst my husband and son slept in the other down other end of corridor. Not a good start, spent night trawling internet for another hotel!
The next morning however, they did come good and gave us a huge suite with a connecting room with 2 single beds which was a lot better. However the hotel in general is very dated, it reminded me a municipal 70s building. The windows in the room were metal and drafty and the radiators looked like the ones at school. The room was clean though and the beds comfy and the room was always warm.
It has good bar area with bar food which was fair, we also ate in the restaurant one night as weather was too bad to go out and this was excellent, especially the lamb, highly recommend it,but it is a little pricey.
The location of the hotel is good, about 10 minutes walk into the old town, (when the lake frozen over you can cut across it, though that's a little scary at first).
This hotel by far has the better location as during the week when touring around the city, saw many other hotels that we had considered and they are nowhere near the old part of town which is the best area with all restaurants etc. A lot of other hotels eg, Hilton are miles out in the industrial/business area. So overall would recommend this hotel over others.

Room Tip: Dont settle for rooms on 6th floor, they need modernisation. The other floor s are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKKHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments. I am sorry about the first night but happy to hear you got connecting the next day.

We are looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Paid extra on our package to bump up a star. Our travel agent also requested an upgrade as we were celebrating our anniversary so we ended up in business class rooms. I have to admit I am a hotel snob, I do believe that a hotel room should be at least as nice as my own bedroom at home. The rooms and hotel decor we very disappointing as I was lead to believe Iceland was at the forefront of design and style. The barman actually got into a huff with us when we left 20 mins after waiting to be served? On the plus sides the cleaners were very good at their job, the hotel sent us a bottle of wine on arrival and the lobby staff were good also. The breakfast buffet was a nightmare, long long queues to be seated as if all the people waiting to have their food came as an unexpected shock to staff! I would not stay here again and would only recommend this hotel to someone I didn't like very much!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanjipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor with your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received and the assistance was given.

I can assure you that I have started an investigation as soon as I saw your comments and have taken precautions that similar issues do not happen again in the future.

Once again, I apologize that this unfortunate experience has given you a wrong impression about the Hotel’s services and standards and I sincerely hope that the experience will not deter you from returning to one of our properties in the future.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,655 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Rezidor, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing