We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talented staff make this an excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Talented staff make this an excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

In Reykavik on business with hotel room booked for me at the Radisson Blu Saga. I couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and quiet and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful! The staff, though, is what is most impressive. Calm, competent, friendly! The fitness room hours were not particularly convenient (opens at 7 which is a bit late if one is going to meetings at 8), but the spa is very nice and I had a wonderful (and much-needed) massage there. The location is a bit out of the main downtown area, which justified brisk walks to and from the stores and restaurants in town, because it is definitely close enough that cabs are unnecessary. But it is a great city and worth walking around! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CutiePie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our services and your review is a great compliment to our staff, Of course I will forward your feedback to them. We are really happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and appreciate your recommendation.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    763
    538
    174
    75
See reviews for
341
865
98
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A group of nine of us stayed here for four nights. The room was fine and clean. However, most of us had to request either toiletries or glasses each day as they had not been replenished. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was busy and staff kept busy clearing tables which meant some items were not being replenished on the buffet as often as they should.
Our biggest disappointment was when we had to leave a 6 a.m. For our return flight and had been told there was a "grab and go" breakfast. This consisted of coffee, fruit and cereal bars! When I complained I was told that no chef was in at that time - breakfast service started at 6!. They need to get their act together and offer something better than this.
Hotel was a good 15 minutes walk from the centre. Nice bakery nearby for sandwiches if going on a day trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor with your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received and the assistance was given.
The breakfast is open from 6am-10:30am, we do offer grab and run between 04am-06am that does included: Coffee/tea, water, health bar , and a fruit.

We always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards.
So we sincerely hope to welcome you back to in the near future

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city centre- if it's not raining the ride up to the downtown is easy and pleasant, but it takes about 10 to 15 minutes. The hotel is under renovation and some rooms have already been modernised. We stayed at the 5th floor in a spacious room, with wooden floors, renovated and overlooking the sea. But a friend got a room on the top floor, not yet renovated, where the rooms are not so pleasant. The breakfast is varied and free coffee espresso is available. The wireless internet is free. The hotel restaurant is too expensive, so we had to walk every night to city Center to eat, because around the hotel there is nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared about your stay in Radisson Blu Saga hotel. We both value and respect your kind comments.
we do have 2 restaurants at the hotel, Skrudur on ground floor where we serve lunch and dinner buffet and then our fine dining roof top restaurant Grillid. I am happy to hear you liked the room and our breakfast.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to in the near future
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I went to Reykjavik with a group of 12 people on 25th April this year. We got a warm welcome and were placed in business rooms. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The bathroom was also comfortable. I missed a warm floor in the bathroom. Otherwise very good in every aspect. The breakfast had almost everything. I especially enjoyed the healthy juices/smoothies. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant on top of the hotel on Saturday. The atmosphere with the sunset was magic. The service was excellent in the restaurant as well as in the hotel. We would very much like to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this great review, I am really happy to hear that you liked our roof top restaurant Grillið and we appreciate your recommendation.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed her for three night for a conference.
The hotel looks ok, nice bar area and good restaurant.
Rooms look ok at first glance but then one notices that it is a bit dated and is starting to fade.
The small television with very limited channel selection switches off automatically after about an hour and switches on back to the hotel commercial channel. The remote was really dirty.
The matrasses are super soft and the pillows too thin. The bathroom is ok but the towels are old, small and thin. There was hardly any cold water pressure but on the other hand there was boiling hot water from the tab. The vents above the bath were really dirty inside..
Good point: the free wifi was 6Mb up and down.. I haven't seen that too often in a hotel :-)

All in all.. an average experience..

Room Tip: I heard from a local that there is a good wing and a bad wing.. unfortunately I do not know if I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cees65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for taking the time to write and share your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations. Thank you for a great review.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were given great suggestions of places to visit off the normal tourist routes by some of the staff. These ideas made it an even better experience for seeing Iceland. The location of the hotel is excellent, as it only takes 15 - 20 minutes to walk into the City Centre. Our room was always nice and clean. The staff were great always friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wendy Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This property is clearly in need of an update. Likely a decent hotel in its day but there are far better hotels and experiences in Reykjavik, as I have stayed in them. Breakfast buffet is mediocre and supplemental services (laundry) are excessive given my experience with other business hotels (over 100 nights/year, seriously).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstuyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write
your valuable feedback.

Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing