We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UTTERLY SHOCKING STAY WE HAD HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UTTERLY SHOCKING STAY WE HAD HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we arrived at this hotel our room was absolutely vile there was urine all over the bathroom floor and up the wall, a loose electrical cable wire and a strong smell of gas also there was chunks out the bathroom tiles. (Pictures Included)
We have taking it up with the hotel who then moved us to what they call an upgraded room which was slightly bigger but once again the hygiene just wasn't great at all plus the WiFi didn't work in the room and we where forced to have our bedroom door open in order to get a connection which obviously is just disgraceful for what the try and call a 4 star hotel .

The staff at the hotel feel they did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable without all these constant problems by saying to us anything charged to the room was on them but upon check out they decided to withdraw this and charge us for what was suppose to be a complementary massage this was eventually corrected after a lot of arguing via email after we had left, me and my partner very strongly disagree that they did everything in there power and feel they have merely just bumped us off as guests and shown us total disregard when asking and quite rightfully so for a full refund .

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone i would strongly advice to stay away from it at all costs the place is just a nightmare .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused, this is certainly not our standard of operating. I sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the compensation we gave you after our e-mails in the past weeks.
Please rest assured that we will work diligently at improving the our product and guest experience. Hopefully at some point in the future, you'll give us another opportunity to try us again. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    756
    533
    169
    74
See reviews for
337
854
97
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Radisson chain of hotels is probably our third choice & we struggle to see the four star rating, however we found our stay enjoyable & managed to see most things on the list, the hotel is close to city centre, walking distance to most of the places, conveniently located to restaurants, night life, pubs, lounges etc. "No complains there"
Breakfast was fulfulling & the hotel staff very pleasant - friendly - service was good.
Radisson Blu Saga sort of met our expectations with the room reasonably well maintained.
The hotel was clean enough but! in dire need of renovation, hotel restaurant was nice enough but it was unbelievably expensive as you would expect from our Icelandic cousins.
Please note.....it is no cheaper eating out unless you are fast food person.
If we head back to Reykjavik again (not on the radar at this juncture) we would probably stay elsewhere. Sorry to say.
Best Regards GCD & JMC x

Room Tip: No comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback and taking the time to write.
I am happy to hear that we did meet your expectations and really hope you stay with us on your next visit

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stayed in the Radisson Blu hotel a few times now, and it's become my go-to hotel in Reykjavik for business travel. There are more scenic places in Reykjavik, and there are places much more central to town. But the Radisson provides consistent, reliable service in a clean, well serviced environment. The rooms are clean and large by European standards; not overly fancy but perfectly adequate. The free breakfast buffet is quite large by European standards, and provides both hot and cold dishes. The people that work there are consistently friendly and helpful. And although it would be a 30 minute walk into town, it's only a 5 minute drive. Equally important, the prices are very reasonable by Icelandic standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this great review, and being so loyal guest to Radisson Blu Hotel Saga. We really do appreciate your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of December 2013 for 4 nights.

A nice hotel with friendly staff. Although a little far from the centre of Reykjavik it was nice to be able to stroll in to town and see the "real" Reykjavik.

Also, worth taking a walk in the opposite direction through a housing area which leads you down to a beach with plenty of black lava rock on it.

I would recommend this hotel as room was comfortable and staff were friendly however if you do not enjoy walking and don't want to pay for travel into town then maybe worth staying more central.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennOB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest

I appreciate the time you took to share your beautiful comments about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel. It is an honor for us to hear such nice words from you about our hotel and to know you enjoyed your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my parents in a triple room on the 4th floor. The hotel staff were very friendly but the rooms and hotel decor itself was very dated. Shame as the building has so much potential.

Unfortunately despite turning off the heating and opening the window the rooms were incredibly hot making it near impossible for us to sleep. The windows were also rusty and bedroom/bathroom decor needed some updating. Not what I usually expect from the radisson brand or a 4 star rated hotel.

Despite this the hotel had 2 restaurants, 2 shops, a bank and a gym and spa of which was unable to visit as they closed around 20:00 at night. So the facilities provided were varied and good.



Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write. I am terribly disappointed that your visit was less than acceptable and that you have left with a poor impression of us. Clearly, this is not what you or we had envisioned for this trip. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of our team.
Please rest assured that we will work diligently at improving the our product and guest experience. Hopefully at some point in the future, you'll give us another opportunity to try us again. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

In Reykavik on business with hotel room booked for me at the Radisson Blu Saga. I couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and quiet and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful! The staff, though, is what is most impressive. Calm, competent, friendly! The fitness room hours were not particularly convenient (opens at 7 which is a bit late if one is going to meetings at 8), but the spa is very nice and I had a wonderful (and much-needed) massage there. The location is a bit out of the main downtown area, which justified brisk walks to and from the stores and restaurants in town, because it is definitely close enough that cabs are unnecessary. But it is a great city and worth walking around! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CutiePie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our services and your review is a great compliment to our staff, Of course I will forward your feedback to them. We are really happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and appreciate your recommendation.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A group of nine of us stayed here for four nights. The room was fine and clean. However, most of us had to request either toiletries or glasses each day as they had not been replenished. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was busy and staff kept busy clearing tables which meant some items were not being replenished on the buffet as often as they should.
Our biggest disappointment was when we had to leave a 6 a.m. For our return flight and had been told there was a "grab and go" breakfast. This consisted of coffee, fruit and cereal bars! When I complained I was told that no chef was in at that time - breakfast service started at 6!. They need to get their act together and offer something better than this.
Hotel was a good 15 minutes walk from the centre. Nice bakery nearby for sandwiches if going on a day trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor with your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received and the assistance was given.
The breakfast is open from 6am-10:30am, we do offer grab and run between 04am-06am that does included: Coffee/tea, water, health bar , and a fruit.

We always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards.
So we sincerely hope to welcome you back to in the near future

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing