We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iceland Travel - Day Tours

Iceland Travel - Day Tours
Ranked #70 of 329 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Iceland Travel is the leading Travel Company, Tour operator and DMC in Iceland. We offer a wide range of high quality services for travelers and travel agents from all over the world. We organize various vacation packages, tours and activities, as well as planning conferences, events and incentive programs.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

First visit to Iceland to catch the northern lights. Booked through the Iceland travel website. . Super easy and efficient. The tour was simply amazing with moonscapes volcanoes and icebergs on a beach! The tour guide benedikt was great! Wonderful insights into icelandic culture, politics and geography! Kudos to our coach driver hermann who negotiated snowy roads, rolling fog with skill.
Comfortable accommodation, went with the prepaid meal option which was really excellent value for money as the food was gourmet level.
We didn't manage to catch the lights though as the weather conditions were unfavorable.
Special mention to the hekla hotel, place was beautiful and the host was gracious and accommodating!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Balibeachbum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gudrun_Helgadottir, Information Systems - Finance at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. It's true that driving in Iceland can be quite tricky and drivers skills are most admirable!
We are happy to hear how satisfied you are and that you enjoyed your visit to Iceland.
Have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    33
    6
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't wait to do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just got back from an amazing week in Iceland organized by Iceland Travel. The experience was everything I wanted and more. We didn't get to see the Aurora but obviously this has nothing to do with the tour, just didn't have the "perfect storm" required. Our guide Yrsa and driver Ragnar made an absolutely wonderful experience for all of us on the tour (close to 40 of us, together for 4 days). From the Golden Circle, to Glacier Lagoon and all of the different countryside accommodations as well as the accommodations in Reykjavik, I have no complaints. If I was forced to say one negative thing, it would be that the menu for the pre-paid meals is set and there are no choices, however having said that, all of the food was delicious and if there was someone with a special dietary need or request, it was accommodated. I will certainly return to Iceland, and will certainly book another tour with this company.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DLaz416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris_Johannesdottir, at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We're so happy to read your reviews and to hear how pleased you were with your stay in Iceland and the tour you experienced with us.
It's so true, the Northern Lights come out and play whenever THEY want to, not when we ask them, ..No matter how nicely we ask :)
We strive to offer our guests outstanding service from our entire team - bookings, helpdesk, guides and drivers, as we believe this service is what sets us apart.

Thank you again for your lovely reviews!

Best Regards from sunny Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“They apparently forgot us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We signed up for a Northern Lights tour through Iceland Travel. They contract out to a large local tour operator - Iceland Excursions. Despite having called to confirm our pick up, they never came to pick us up. Luckily our hotel figured out who to call and had them come and get us and we managed to make the tour - just barely. We had visions of going around in a small bus but they took us to a central locations where four HUGE buses were taking a HUGE number of folks to Thingvellir National Park to see the lights. That wasn't a big issue except for the fact that it was really cold and there was limited space inside with tons of people trying to squeeze in. They have a snack bar - avoid the hot chocolate! But at least there was a place to go inside and get out of the cold wind. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and provided some very good tips on taking photos of the lights. We certainly didn't know before she told us that photos of the lights are more vibrant than what you see with the naked eye. Take long exposures for more brilliant photos. We were lucky - the lights were spectacular. It was worth it to take a tour with someone who knew what they were doing. We just had a frustrating start. The price for the tour was reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank srjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write the review. We are very sorry to hear how your tour got off to a bad start and will investigate what went wrong. We will also look into your comments regarding the tour. Great to hear how much you enjoyed the guide, and that the northern lights put on a good show for you, leaving you with great photos and hopefully even better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Northern Lights Luxury Self Drive tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We're so glad we chose this company for our trip! We were trying to piece together a trip on our own and were a bit overwhelmed by where to stay, how to get around, what to see,...but Iceland Travel worked out all the details for us and continued helping us out during our trip.

The tour we chose is normally a three-night tour, but we had already booked one night for ourselves. No problem. Iceland Travel was able to customize our tour for a good price--less than we would have paid by booking everything separately on our own. They sent us a detailed itinerary.

Normally Iceland Travel provides a folder full of information at the first hotel it books for you. It was no problem that our first night was at a hotel we booked ourselves; Iceland Travel made sure the info was waiting there for us.

We were concerned about renting a car in Iceland, but our Iceland Travel rep, Snjolaug, assured me we'd have a four-wheel drive vehicle, available when our flight got in around midnight, with GPS and insurance included. When we actually got to the rental counter, the lone Avis worker put us in a tiny 2WD Renault and charged us around $50 in taxes, even though we'd already paid for everything. The car sounded horrible all the way to Reykjavik. I emailed Snjolaug about it, and the next morning, she called us at our Reykjavik hotel to say we could take the car to the Reykjavik Avis location and swap the car for an AWD Skoda and get the tax reimbursed. It was a piece of cake, thanks to Snjolaug's help, and we felt much better in the sure-footed Skoda.

One of the hotels (Grimsborgir) Iceland Travel book for us was wonderful. The other one, CenterHotel Plaza, wasn't great, but the hotel we were supposed to get (CenterHotel Thingholt, which appears to be a nicer property) was full the night we needed it. Our Northern Lights Tour was canceled due to cloud cover, and we were supposed to do that tour our last night so weren't able to reschedule. Disappointing, but certainly not Iceland Travel's fault.

Snjolaug gave us a lot of helpful suggestions about where to eat and what to see while in Iceland, and she was very responsive. If you're American like I am, just remember that Iceland is in a very different time zone, so you won't get email responses immediately unless you're emailing early in the morning.

Bottom line: Glad I chose Iceland Travel for my first trip, and I can't wait to go back and use them again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank knitcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gudrun_Helgadottir, Information Systems - Finance at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for this very positive review. We are glad that you chose us as well!
It's sad you didn't get the change to see the magical northern lights, that may though just give you the excuse to visit us again!
We at Iceland Travel want to provide an excellent and personal service to all our costumers and we will be sure to tell Snjólaug about your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Services of Iceland Travel - Ms. Nadia Rannveig Ásgeirsdóttir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I made a serious error on my online booking and payment of our family tour (5 seniors about Euro 8, 000) for the tour Volcanoes and Glaciers which might invalidate my trip in iceland this summer. But with the courteous services of Ms. Nadia Rannveig Ásgeirsdóttir of Iceland Travel, I have the problem solved within two days.

Iceland Servicing is very much appreciated and I do not hesitate any one, particualrly a senior like me, who needs the same services as I do.

Regards,
Man Wai Li




Ms. Nadia Rannveig Ásgeirsdóttir

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flotsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris_Johannesdottir, Sales and Reservations at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank your for taking the time to write this nice review about our good colleague Nadia.

The team at Iceland Travel consists of very experienced, multi-lingual and well educated people within the industry, and we take pride in the outstanding service you will get from our team.

We hope you'll have an amazing vacation in Iceland this summer and will bring home memories for life

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iceland Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing