We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iceland travel”

Iceland Travel - Day Tours
Ranked #69 of 339 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Iceland Travel is the leading Travel Company, Tour operator and DMC in Iceland. We offer a wide range of high quality services for travelers and travel agents from all over the world. We organize various vacation packages, tours and activities, as well as planning conferences, events and incentive programs.
East Rockaway, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iceland travel”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Iceland is such an amazing place to visit. This was a reasonably priced tour with very nice hotel amenities. The support from Iceland Travel was helpful and polite. My wife and I WILL be going back and will use Icelandtravel again for another self-drive tour!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are very happy to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed Iceland and the service of Iceland Travel staff. We look forward to hearing from you again and plan your next Iceland visit!

Thank you again and best regards from Iceland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    36
    6
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deva
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Iceland's Golden Circle and Northen Lights hunt”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Me and my wife have been in this tour between20 and 26 Mars 2014.
It was a fascinating experience combined with the privilege of dicovering new places and people.
The wery well organised tour took us into unknokn and strange places; we missed the Northen Lights due to cloudy skyes but the trip was awesome.
A tip: when someone calls the weather "windy" don't belive :) What we experienced is not wind and one should invend another term for it. It really pushes you to the ground so don't mess with the clothing you take in your luggage. You don't need fancy dresses and/or suits, high heel shoes, etc. but rough, impermeable, windproof multilayer clothes :))
It's an experience I would definiteley repeat and recommend to others.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dcristut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris_Johannesdottir, Sales and Reservations at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! ... We're really happy to hear how content you were with your trip despite the fact that the Northern Lights didn't show.
Windy huh? Yeah, we've experienced a few "windy" moments :) As we cannot let the weather decide what we do it's just best to call it all windy. A little windy, quite windy and very windy... :)

Thanks again for the nice words and we hope to see you again in Iceland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First visit to Iceland to catch the northern lights. Booked through the Iceland travel website. . Super easy and efficient. The tour was simply amazing with moonscapes volcanoes and icebergs on a beach! The tour guide benedikt was great! Wonderful insights into icelandic culture, politics and geography! Kudos to our coach driver hermann who negotiated snowy roads, rolling fog with skill.
Comfortable accommodation, went with the prepaid meal option which was really excellent value for money as the food was gourmet level.
We didn't manage to catch the lights though as the weather conditions were unfavorable.
Special mention to the hekla hotel, place was beautiful and the host was gracious and accommodating!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Balibeachbum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gudrun_Helgadottir, Information Systems - Finance at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. It's true that driving in Iceland can be quite tricky and drivers skills are most admirable!
We are happy to hear how satisfied you are and that you enjoyed your visit to Iceland.
Have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't wait to do it again”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just got back from an amazing week in Iceland organized by Iceland Travel. The experience was everything I wanted and more. We didn't get to see the Aurora but obviously this has nothing to do with the tour, just didn't have the "perfect storm" required. Our guide Yrsa and driver Ragnar made an absolutely wonderful experience for all of us on the tour (close to 40 of us, together for 4 days). From the Golden Circle, to Glacier Lagoon and all of the different countryside accommodations as well as the accommodations in Reykjavik, I have no complaints. If I was forced to say one negative thing, it would be that the menu for the pre-paid meals is set and there are no choices, however having said that, all of the food was delicious and if there was someone with a special dietary need or request, it was accommodated. I will certainly return to Iceland, and will certainly book another tour with this company.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DLaz416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris_Johannesdottir, at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We're so happy to read your reviews and to hear how pleased you were with your stay in Iceland and the tour you experienced with us.
It's so true, the Northern Lights come out and play whenever THEY want to, not when we ask them, ..No matter how nicely we ask :)
We strive to offer our guests outstanding service from our entire team - bookings, helpdesk, guides and drivers, as we believe this service is what sets us apart.

Thank you again for your lovely reviews!

Best Regards from sunny Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“They apparently forgot us”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We signed up for a Northern Lights tour through Iceland Travel. They contract out to a large local tour operator - Iceland Excursions. Despite having called to confirm our pick up, they never came to pick us up. Luckily our hotel figured out who to call and had them come and get us and we managed to make the tour - just barely. We had visions of going around in a small bus but they took us to a central locations where four HUGE buses were taking a HUGE number of folks to Thingvellir National Park to see the lights. That wasn't a big issue except for the fact that it was really cold and there was limited space inside with tons of people trying to squeeze in. They have a snack bar - avoid the hot chocolate! But at least there was a place to go inside and get out of the cold wind. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and provided some very good tips on taking photos of the lights. We certainly didn't know before she told us that photos of the lights are more vibrant than what you see with the naked eye. Take long exposures for more brilliant photos. We were lucky - the lights were spectacular. It was worth it to take a tour with someone who knew what they were doing. We just had a frustrating start. The price for the tour was reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank srjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write the review. We are very sorry to hear how your tour got off to a bad start and will investigate what went wrong. We will also look into your comments regarding the tour. Great to hear how much you enjoyed the guide, and that the northern lights put on a good show for you, leaving you with great photos and hopefully even better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iceland Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing