We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Iceland Experience!!! Ring Road Self Drive Tour”

Iceland Travel - Day Tours
Ranked #71 of 343 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Iceland Travel is the leading Travel Company, Tour operator and DMC in Iceland. We offer a wide range of high quality services for travelers and travel agents from all over the world. We organize various vacation packages, tours and activities, as well as planning conferences, events and incentive programs.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Iceland Experience!!! Ring Road Self Drive Tour”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just returned home from the most amazing trip we’ve ever experienced! We booked a customized seven days/six nights self-driving tour around Iceland along the Ring Road. We were so impressed by the helpful and professional expertise we received from Nadia at Iceland Travel who was more than instrumental in helping us make our trip extra special. She took care of everything from hotels, car rental, she provided us with a comprehensive printed travel guide highlighting various points of interest and set-up two amazing tours for us (a glacier walk on Vatnajökull and whale watching up in Húsavík). We saw pretty much the whole country staying in the towns of Vik, Höfn, Egilsstaðir, Lake Mývatn, Akureyri, and Stykkishólmur which allowed us to visit Þingvellir National Park, Geysir Geothermal Fields, Gullfoss, Dettifoss, Goðafoss, and Snæfellsjökull National Park. During our travels we also saw Icelandic horses, sheep, puffins, lava fields, Petra’s, the turf houses of Laufas, breathtaking coastlines, and got the opportunity to experience the warm hospitality of the Icelandic people. Nadia of Iceland Travel was also able to work around our schedule as we were staying in Reykjavík for the first couple of days so I could run in the Suzuki Midnight Sun Run. I highly recommend using Iceland Travel for booking your Icelandic adventure, I loved the fact that we were able to explore our own interests and thanks to Nadia the planning our self-driving tour was super easy and we were well taken care of during all of our stops along the way. Plus Iceland is just an amazing country – a must see! We’ll be back and we’ll book again with Iceland Travel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gudrun_Helgadottir, Project Manager - Your Perfect Day at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Reviews like this make or jobs so rewarding!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here in Iceland. It sure seems you were able to experience and see a lot here in Iceland.
We will be sure to tell Nadia how pleased you are.
Thank you for you lovely review and we'll be ready to assist you for your next trip to Iceland. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    36
    6
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Snaefellsness with cruise”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked a Snaefellsness day tour (with cruise) through Iceland Travel and ended up on a huge bus with Reykjavik Excursions. The cruise was amazing - viking sushi, spectacular coastal/rock formations and close up shots of birdlife and seals. Then we toured around the peninsula to see more of the rugged coastal lines that Snaefellsness had to offer. The driver/guide was very informative and chatty despite the relatively passive large bus group. All in all an enjoyable day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank suetying c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour! Snaefellsnes peninsula is a beautiful place and the Viking sushi cruise one of our favourite things to do in Iceland. On Snaefellsnes peninsula you can experience the diversity of Icelandic nature and wildlife.
Thank you again for the review and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing tour - minor logistical problem at start”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a 4 day self-drive tour "Volcanoes, Glaciers and Northern Lights".

The pre-tour logistics was fine - we received an e-mail with an itinerary for the trip and the information to get the hire car.

On arrival we were able to pick up the car without any problems. We were pleased that we chose a 4x4 Skoda Octavia as a couple with a smaller car were having difficulty with an icy car park. The satnav they provided took about 20 minutes to locate the satellites which wasn't helpful, but the signage was pretty clear to the capital. Overall the roads were really pretty good and out of the capital there is so little traffic that it is quite easy. I'd never driven abroad before and found it quite easy, especially on the major tourist routes. By the way, don't expect a warm welcome when you take the car back to the drop-off point - the customer friendly staff are there on arrival!

On arrival at our first hotel we were disappointed to find that the travel pack we were told to pick up wasn't at reception. We were hoping to go into Reyjkavik and had to delay this to go and pick up the pack from Iceland travel. In the end, the pack wasn't really that important - there was some additional detail above what was on the email - although there was some helpful stuff in the magazines. When we arrived, they had to print off a new version of the pack as it seems that the original had been sent, but hadn't arrived. It was a frustrating delay, but it wasn't a big problem in the end. It was also good that we had two copies as the boat tour took one of them when we went on the tour.

On the first evening, we went on the Northern Lights boat tour. This was run from quite a large boat - like a small ferry. The boat only went out into the bay which reduced the light, but it wasn't as dark as we'd expected. They provide warm overalls which were amazing - we weren't cold! Slightly oddly, one of the staff started singing to entertain the guests, but became a little negative when people didn't applaud him. As we didn't see the lights we were offered an additional night but in the end the weather wasn't good enough for us to go which was a shame.

Overall, the hotels were of a good standard - nicely presented and clean and served as good bases for our trip. The food at the hotels was good but it wasn't cheap - this appears to be in keeping with the rest of Iceland.

The trip was amazing. It was a really interesting itinerary that covered the major tourist locations. Having the car was a massive advantage which really enabled us to explore the sites and I'd definitely recommend it. Going down to the South Coast to see the rock formations and waterfalls was the highlight - they really are stunning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank gardner_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris_Johannesdottir, Sales and Reservations at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and we also appreciate you telling us about your travel document hick-up.
We welcome every chance to approve our work process and this point gives us a good reason to overview the work we're doing with the travel documents. I will pass this on to my supervisors and we'll examine if we can handle the travel documents in a way that would prevent this from happening.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your helpful review.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iceland - a must see!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I just got back last Tuesday from my tour of Iceland. It was wonderful! Even though we didn't see the Northern Lights :( and some days the weather didn't cooperate it was still a wonderful trip! Benedict was our tour guide - he was great! And Hermann was our driver - also did a great job!! I've been on many tours in Europe and this was by far the best food on any tour I had. Our accommodations were very clean and comfortable with decent amenities.
The tour was informative and well planned. We got to see alot and it was never too rushed. This tour hit all the major sites and then some.
Iceland Travel was a great company to work with - very organized, polite agents and the price was right!
I am recommending Iceland as a destination to all I know - beautiful scenery, clean country, friendliest people, the cleanest air and best water I've ever tasted!; great food; interesting tourist attractions and shopping, etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffanyc098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gudrun_Helgadottir, Information Systems - Finance at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review. We at Iceland Travel strive to offer our guests outstanding service and are very glad to hear from our satisfied costumers.
It's great to hear you like our food! Icelandic gastronomy has been developing fast the last couple of years, more and more outstanding restaurants are opening around the country. But we still love our traditional food - fermented shark meat, boiled sheep's head and rams' testicles!
Thank you again for this very nice review. We hope you have a nice day and that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rockaway, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iceland travel”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Iceland is such an amazing place to visit. This was a reasonably priced tour with very nice hotel amenities. The support from Iceland Travel was helpful and polite. My wife and I WILL be going back and will use Icelandtravel again for another self-drive tour!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are very happy to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed Iceland and the service of Iceland Travel staff. We look forward to hearing from you again and plan your next Iceland visit!

Thank you again and best regards from Iceland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iceland Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing