We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Rooms are Small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,430 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
“Great Location, Rooms are Small”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

First off if you are person who's number one criteria for a hotel is location, this is your baby! It's got a great location in the heart of Reykajavik and everything is walkable from the front door.
The hotel is small (most hotels in Iceland are). My first problem was a large suitcase and navigating the stairs. There are stairs coming in and stairs getting to the elevator. When I got up to the check-in I found a very helpful desk clerk. She was friendly and gave me all kinds of helpful information for my short 24 hour stay in Reykjavik. She even booked a day trip to the Blue Lagoon as I was standing there. Very helpful and great service.
My room was very small, about the size of a budget room on a cruise ship or a college dorm room. It was sparse. The bathroom only had a shower and it too was very tight. However it was clean. I had a nice view of the street below.
The problem was that you think of Reykjavik as a quiet town, but this is the center of town and late into the night people walking under my window screaming (mostly American teenagers) kept me awake. Plus the bed was not so comfortable and a very narrow single bed.
The next morning I found the breakfast to be delicious and a fun view of the roof tops of Reykjavik. Overall the hotel had both hits and misses. It was fine for one night, but I might look else where for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Try not to get a lower floor over the street - there was a lot of street noise late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    245
    105
    32
    17
See reviews for
67
273
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Service by the front desk staff was excellent- on arrival we were unable to open the room door and a friendly staff member came to assist us. Our room was facing the bookstore in the corner of Laugavegur, and there was a noisy bar nearby, so sleep was always interrupted by noisy drunken people, however the location and friendliness of staff made it up.
Breakfast is included in the price, I'd recommend trying the rye bread, plenty of butter and cheese on top. There is kettle in the room for tea and coffee in addition to breakfast.
There are few steps to negotiate when you enter the hotel, so might be a problem for someone using wheelchair or having bad knees. Few more steps inside the hotel and then there is an elevator (four floors in total).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard, if you prefer quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatAtmaKaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is located perfectly for a visit to Reykjavik! Some of the other positives include: great WiFi in the rooms, an included breakfast buffet, comfortable beds and duvets. This is not a luxury hotel, it is a solid basic hotel, for example: modular furniture, very small lobby and not much noise insulation from the street. But, who needs fancy furniture and savvy travelers always have at least one pair of foam earplugs in their kit. The truly outstanding feature is the lobby staff. Tony, Mark and Asta where friendly, competent and patient whilst being peppered with questions on a daily basis. They are also very good about making reservations for tours, restaurants and I am sure anything else. You can be sure that they will steer you well, and believe their suggestion that the attached Vegamont restaurant is worthy of your patronage.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a superior room for two, it was a good size. If on the street side, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahsington, DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel has everything you'll need as a base for sightseeing: very central location, clean rooms, free breakfast, and very friendly and attentive staff members.
Upon our arrival at 7:30am, front desk staff moved things around so that we could be assigned to two rooms with early check-in available. For 30 euro, we were able to check in by 8:30, and eat breakfast while we waited for our rooms.
One room tip: hotel is on the main street for bars/restaurants in Reyjkjavik. Our room faced the street so it was a little noisy, but no big deal. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. Also, the door is locked past a certain hour, so if you stay out past midnight, ring the bell and the front desk staff will come down to get you.
The accommodations were very basic and the room small, but the central location, cleanliness of the rooms made this a great pick. Can't say enough great things about all of the front desk staff we encountered - between making reservations, and following up on our requests to change tour times in the middle of the night, the staff was FIVE STARS.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My college aged son and I visited in August. The CenterHotel Skjaldbreid was perfect for our five day visit. Everything we needed was in walking distance. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, friendly staff, breakfast buffet was basic but good, free WiFi. The room was a bit small but clean. Overall everything was made easy for us. The hotel staff and tour company were all very organised and we had a really pleasant stay. Not sure about the cost as it came as a package along with the flight. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Fab hotel, very clean and tidy. Extremely helpful staff, who made a real effort to ensure you got the best out of your stay. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby, particularly Glo which served great vegetarian food.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldeneThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
814 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
438 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,333 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,153 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Property: CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing