We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location...clean and no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Although I could not go back and place my actual date of travel in here, we stayed in this hotel in January 2003 during the M.L, King holiday weekend for four nights and three days.

It is right in the heart of the action. We found the accomodations clean, but the outside street noise was at a high volume since you look down right on one of the main drags for partying and traffic on weekends. It would probably be slightly better during the week.

We traveled for a long weekend of drinking and dining and were not disappointed. The seafood is the best we've eaten in the world -- right out of the ocean. This hotel offered a very filling breakfast, but not like an American buffet. It was more of a contiental offering.

Since the banking system collapsed over a year ago in Iceland, I assume the prices have come down some since it's been nearly seven years when we went when Iceland was just hitting the trendy bubble.

We got this hotel through an Icelandair package so it was perfect for our purposes....not a Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons but fine for our purposes.

We liked going in January since there were not as many tourists and the weather was actually warmer than the snow we left here. Downside is there were only four hours of daylight...great for sleeping though.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libertyva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Great hotel. The location is fantastic, the breakfast was great and the staff were really helpful. The rooms are small, but clean and tidy. Yes, it's noisy on Fri/ Sat night, but you really should be in Vegamot with everyone else...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gushle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

we spent here the worst night in a hotel ever! disco music was played aloud from 1 to4 am!!! in the nearby. We simply couldn't sleep.
Absolutely not recommended if you wish to rest

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viguli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We loved the location of this hotel. It was right on the main street, close to restaurants, shopping, bars and more. The hotel itself was no frills but very clean and comfortable. A healthy breakfast was provided every morning. The staff was also very helpful in aiding us with booking our excursions. We would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Iceland.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Explaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Got a special price to stay for one night. Room is small accoding to N.American standard. Similar to other European or Japanese hotel room size. For us, it's good enough size. Location wise, it's the best that you'll find in Reykjavik. Lots of shops and eating place, close to most major tourist attractions. Bed is clean although we did find some crumps on the carpet. Shower only in the bathroom. A nice breakfast is included from 0800-1000 every morning on the third floor. Service is attentive. As with other comments, noise is an issue here, but what you pay for is the perfect location in town. Parking are on the streets and it's free from 1800-1000. Free internet is provided through a cable connection or a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed at the hotel in March 2009 for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday night). It is a small convenient hotel and the location is perfect, right in the center of town, close to the big Lutheran church (which unfortunately is being renovated and covered by scaffolding for most of 2009). The staff is amazing, they help with everything, including calling our rental car agency to pick us up in the cold snowy weather and bringing us free drinks even after the restaurant was closed. Although the room is small (as noted by many reviewers), especially according to American standards, it was fine for us, similar to rooms in central hotels in many European cities. It is more than ok for the price we paid.

We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews about noise, since we have a one-year old baby. However, we didn't hear any noise from our room, not even on Friday night, unless we walked out of the hotel and towards one of the bars at night. Of course it was still winter and therefore less people may be outside?

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This city centre hotel is ideally placed for on foot sight seeing. If you hire a car, although there is no on site parking, you can get by with 6pm to 10am on street parking and the nearby public parking.
Other reviewers have been concerned about small rooms, we had a corner room that was quite good so I guess it is luck of the draw. The hotel and room was kept quite clean, facilities were good with TV (only 3 channels) kettle, iron, hairdryer., internet acess. Breakfast buffet was predictable but plentiful. Complimentary coffee all day was quite nice.
The area was very quiet on weekdays but as others have said in their reviews Friday and Saturday the locals "let rip". This hotel does have good insulation and we did not need to use the ear defenders that we had brought with us. (we are 48 yrs old)
We are well travelled folk and what really made a difference for us was the reception staff. When we arrived (2.30 am!) the chap on duty speeded up the registration process and made us feel really welcome. The next day the lovely lady on duty organised us a pick up by Hertz who we had hired a car from, sorted out the deficient creamer sachets in the room etc. Nothing was too much trouble... I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to others, just remember you are looking at a city hotel when considering size of room etc.

Stayed: February 2009
2  Thank BarnsleyOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
892 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
953 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,252 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £102 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing