We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was booked.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wantagh, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what was booked.”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We just got back and although Hotel Natura was clean and room was comfortable enough it was not what was booked and confirmed 6 months earlier as part of package from Iceland Air. We were confirmed at Hilton (in city) and 6 days before leaving we were sent a message to tell us that they were overbooked and now would be staying at the Natura. Room we received was in old part of this renovated hotel..bed was very small, smaller than the two twins we were to have at the Hilton - no place for clothes. Also room overlooked the airport and we smelled airplane fumes for most of the time in room when window was open. Staff at front desk were very helpful and friendly..not so much in Satt restaurant. The hostess and rest of staff for the most part acted like they were doing you a favor by serving you and food took very long to get to table - dinner was about 2hrs. if not more. One waiter very nice - Markus. Hotel shuttle bus service to town was very easy and convenient but only runs a few times a day. We loved our Iceland trip but I think we would have preferred another hotel in town.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not close to where the planes take off. Otherwise, you will be inhaling plane fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    1,037
    413
    55
    31
See reviews for
336
917
175
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McAlpin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The best thing about the hotel is that it's right at the airport. Most of it has recently been renovated and although one wing is still under construction you can't hear anything inside the building. A lot of tour groups stay here clogging up the lobby and filling the bar. But there is a patio off the bar that affords a great view of planes taking off and landing. The little restaurant off the lobby has terrible service and even worse food. We never did get our order the first night and ended up walking over to the Subway at the gas station, the only nearby place to eat. The room is small and plain but does provide the basics. Except for wifi which is $7./24hrs. You can rent bikes and Reykjavik has lots of paths although centre town is very much uphill. There is a very good mall not far away. My biggest complaint is with the front desk who tried to be helpful but couldn't. They couldn't give us directions, sent us to wrong places and couldn't figure out how to work the computer when it came to selecting a special room and paying the bill. The computer charged us twice for our stay and they couldn't fix it. The place is fine if you're just staying overnight but go into centre town if you want to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We went in February and the room we stayed in was spotlessly clean, comfortable and a good size with a decent bathroom. It even had tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is very rare in Iceland and much appreciated. We ate there on our first night in Reykjavik and the food was good and reasonable value in comparison with other eating places in the city. I had the lamb which was absolutely delicious. The hotel was busy when we were there and the Reception staff particularly so, as there seemed to be large numbers of new arrivals and departures throughout the day. The staff in all areas were very pleasant, helpful and service was good. There is an information area within the hotel so advice is at hand and all trips can be booked there. The only downside was the distance into the centre of the city which can be walked but the better option is the free bus which leaves several times a day from outside the hotel.
Overall this hotel is good value and recommended as long as you don't mind being a little distance from the centre, but at least there is free transport. Be careful when you book your accommodation as a lot of the hotels used by tour companies are even further out and you have to catch a public bus or a taxi to get to the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Like many other reviewers I stayed as part of a package deal through Icelandair. The room was clean, decent sized and much more attractive than I would've assumed from my first impression of the outside of the building. Breakfast was good.

The distance into town is walkable but after a few trips back and forth looking at the same scenery I did find myself wishing we were closer.

We arrived VERY early in the morning after taking an overnight flight and were luckily able to check in to the room because I was in desperate need of a nap... which eluded me because of the constant noise of planes taking off. This was the only significant downside of the hotel for me. If you are planning on trying to catch up on sleep when you arrive... you may want to opt for a hotel that isn't adjacent to the airport. Thankfully this noise was not a problem late at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We'd been warned of high prices in Iceland, but providing you are sensible we didn't spend more than we expected. The double room at the Natura has recently been refurbished and it was very modern looking with lots of space in the centre. The bed was marvellous and we slept very well in spite of dusk arriving at midnight! Fortunately the curtains are heavy duty and keep the daylight out of the room when closed..

The buffet breakfast had a wide continental/scandinavian range to choose from and it was very good indeed, but the four hot things on offer (sausages, scrambled egg, baked beans, tinned tomato) were not very appetising.

We were with friends and decided to have the evening meal in the hotel for the three night stay. We opted for the light meal range and each night we had something delicious and different (the fish casserole was stunning) at a sensible price.

The service at the hotel was as good as we've ever had, and we would definitely stay again for our next whale watching/Blue Lagoon trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a small carpark with a view of the Pearl on the hill (look it up to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kestrels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived early (8:30) from our flight from the United States, but that was not a problem. After breakfast we could go to our room. The room (Art) was okay with a nice shower and enough room (nothing specials). The breakfast has good products. The location is nearby the airport and therefore it is a little bit outside the city centre. If you should walk it will take you almost 40 minutes past the ring road.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The good: the lobby and some of the rooms have been recently renovated. However, not all of the rooms have been renovated, and those that have not have a definite 1980s feel to them (although also clean). We got upgraded (at no charge) because our original room had no hot water. We called to complain, and as the house plumber was busy, they moved us. The rooms are a decent size (for Europe), but the bathrooms are small. Both rooms have black-out shades (a MUST if you are visiting in summer). My friend made the reservation, so I'm not sure if there is a price difference in the renovated and unrenovated, but if you care, you should ask.

The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk from downtown (or 10 minutes from the coach/bus station), or a 1800 kroner ($14) taxicab ride. They do have a free shuttle, however, it only runs 4-5 times a day (I believe twice in the morning, and 2-3 times at night). We wished we had stayed closer to town, becaues the times ended up being inconvenient for our schedule.

There is a spa (and pool), restaurant, free internet access in the lobby (pay for in-rooms), and they are helpful with directions/tours.

The airport is also RIGHT next to the domestic airport, which is convenient (I suppose) if that's where you're flying. We did not have any problems with early morning or late night flights keeping us awake, but if you nap during the day, keep this in mind. We also had problems with temperature in the room - it got very stuffy at night, even with the air off.

Also, luckily my friend checked our bill closely upon checkout. A random stranger had charged food/wine to our room - signed a different name and everything. Luckily we caught it at check-out and the hotel removed it without problems, but we were glad that we checked the bill closely - wine is expensive in Iceland!

On the plus side, they let both rooms in our party check in when we arrived (9 am) from the US, and didn't charge us for an extra half day, which was very kind!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,478 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#27 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,550 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,027 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing