We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable place while enjoying Iceland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Cheap and affordable place to stay while in Iceland. Rooms are pretty basic. Has a small tv and a decent toilet. Enjoyed my time in Iceland. Due to the fact there is more daylight then night,was spending most of my time outdoors therefore the rooms are just nice to go back after a long day to shower and sleep. Also comes with a decent buffet breakfast. Only downfall is that the hotel is next to an airport. So be ready to be awaken on and off if you are a light sleeper. The noise from the small aircrafts is unavoidable...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69nakamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is great. I stop here everytime i fly my plane across the Atlantic. Rooms are small and ultra clean, Scandinavian system. Dinner was awesome, and winelist was good. I didnt use the pool, or much else, but outside on the patio, for drinks in a summer day, it was awesome.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

For what we paid it was fantastic. Lovely spa, great brekkie , nice views, quiet interesting airport view. On the downside it is prett ugly and not in centre on town, although shuttle good and we also walked few times. Rooms boring and not huge.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with the Natura and in many ways it is quite quaint (the scary life like woden statues that greet you as you leave the lifts for example) but that said it overlooks the local airport (not the international airport which is some 40 minutes away by taxi) and it looks like it was built during the Icelandic financial crisis. The rooms would make pigmi's feel claustrophobic, the curtains are incapable of keeping out the 24 hour daylight, and if you want to wake at 06:50 then there is no need to set an alarm because a medium sized turbo prop aircraft will gladly taxi into your room (at least it feels that way) on cue.
On the plus side it has a nice bar, very friendly staff and if you dare sit outside to smoke they bring you blankets so you can watch the plains land.
There is a free bus service to the city centre (10 minutes away) but I never managd to find the service back so bank on getting a taxi home.
I have never stayed anywhere else in Iceland so it is difficut to benchmark but if you bring the right equipment, and limited expectations, then this is an OK layover location (2 days max).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Me & my wife stayed for six nights.

Nice, clean rooms with a small fridge and water heater for making your own tea/coffee. Extra points for the two big pillows, very comfy to sleep. Being located next to the domestic airport didn't matter at all: not much traffic and only small planes so no audible noise in the room at all.

Service was good with the staff readily speaking good english. It was also very convenient to book trips at the downstairs desk. One night our waiter forgot the drinks we ordered but upon reminding he instantly knocked 20% off the dinner bill so all was well.

Restaurant itself was average. Breakfast is a typical hotel breakfast, one would hope for more fresh vegetables instead of just cucumber but this is Iceland after all. A'la Carte selection is a bit limited but the food was good and reasonably priced. Biggest "problem" is downtown Reykjavik has many GREAT, affordable restaurants so we tended to avoid eating at the hotel whenever we had the energy. Especially the dinner buffet priced at 5800Kr is just bad compared to what you can get for the same money in city restaurants.

Location is no problem, short 20min walk or if it's raining just grab the bus. Hotel buses only ran in the morning and evening, would like to see one or two added for afternoon as well.

Spa is a nice, free place to relax in after exploring Reykjavik for the whole day. I'd have preferred the sauna to have a bit more oomph but the hot water bath certainly did a nice job at warming me up.

Overall an enjoyable week's stay, will certainly consider staying again if we're headed that way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erkki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel is next to the runway of the city airport in Reykjavik (not Keflavik!) which serves small props. The hotel looks from the outside like a standard apartment building and has ample free parking space. Rooms are small with all standard necessities, including fridge and coffee maker, desk. Bathroom is really small but okay. Rooms are very clean, beds are excellent. Staff is very courteous. The one restaurant and bar in the hotel is average. Downtown Reykjavik is about 2.5 miles walking distance, so not really close. Hotel would be only 3 stars but the very courteous staff made a 4.

Room Tip: One hotel wing was under construction, so it might have some noise connected with it. I stayed durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We booked a trip to Iceland after an amazing deal through Travelzoo and we are so thrilled that we did! We upgraded the room to the next category of Poet rooms and are glad that we did. The upgrade gave us free wifi and access to a lovely lounge on the 4th floor that we gathered in after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the city centre and there is an infrequent shuttle to the city as well. It is about 10 minutes to the Pearl where we had a quick bite in the cafe. It isn't in the middle of anything but I would still recommend the hotel highly. The rates were so great, the staff was friendly and professional and helped us with all of our requests. The food at the restaurant Satt was excellent. The decor is very Iceland; great design, colour and attention to detail with quirkiness and wit. We also had included a Jeep Tour as part of Essential Iceland tour and was one of the highlights of our trip! Other things to consider is horseback riding! Amazing - through Islenski Hesturinn, and a trip to the Blue Lagoon; we had wonderful in-water massages (so surreal). lunch at the restaurant there and we were so thrilled we did. Many people went there on the way to the airport but we made a day of it and it made it more relaxing.
All in all, an incredible experience. We were in a group of 7 and we all would go back to Iceland in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherylToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,888 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel
#44 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,141 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £100 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing