We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean but overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Not really worth the price. Typical of the overall gouging in Iceland, it's shocking what you get for the price. When we checked in it was a very hot day. Upon reaching the room, we found the window to be broken. As no hotels in Iceland have AC, air flow is crucial especially on hot days. I had to argue to have our room changed. The thing was wanted to offer was a fan which would have done nothing in a room as hot as a sauna. At $485 CAD per night it seemed ridiculous to have to argue for a room with a functioning window. It's also quite far from the main part of the city.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RGlen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    1,040
    413
    55
    31
See reviews for
336
918
176
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I spent 3 nights at this hotel this past week. Decent location (if you use the free bus pass to get downtown), front desk staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The single room was basic but adequate in terms of space and amenities. It lacked a bit in terms of cleaning with quite a bit of dust, uncleaned coffee cups, lack of tea/coffee items, unswept floors and poorly made beds. The location is not too noisy considering it is right beside the landing strip of the domestic airport. The doors to the hallway are very thin and this noise was much louder than the airport nearby! Check out the elf stone on the pathway outside the hotel and leave a little something for the hidden people on the stone if you visit it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank peispud66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Sales&Marketing at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear traveler

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize for the lack of cleaning. Usually we are praised for the cleanliness of our hotel so something clearly went wrong with your room. We will make sure to forward your note on that to the general manager.

You are correct about the airport, we seldom get complaints about noise coming from the airport, on the contrary most of our guests enjoy seeing the little planes taking off and landing.

Great tip regarding the elf stone, other guests will hopefully follow your example and leave a little something for the hidden people.

We hope that you will consider visiting us again sometime and if you do we advise you to upgrade to one of our bigger deluxe rooms, which are much bigger in size and include an access to our tranquil spa and an access to our 4th floor lounge.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived in Reykjavik late at night after an evening flight and were flying to the east of Iceland the following day from the domestic airport so booked at this hotel because it was so convenient for this airport. Also added hotel drop off to our flybus booking from Keflavik which made things easier. The main reason for choosing the hotel was the location, but if you were staying in Reykjavik for a few days or longer you'd be better off trying somewhere nearer the city centre as it's a bit of a walk. Rooms were comfortable and room and bathroom clean. Extensive breakfast but very busy and not at all relaxing. Staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stix80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear traveler

We would like to thank you for your overall positive review. We are glad that the location of our hotel suited you. Yes we are located about 20 minute walk from the downtown area but we however do offer our guests bus tickets that they can make use of. The bus leaves every half an hour right outside the hotel and it only takes you five minutes to get to the downtown area from the hotel. So if you will ever stay with us again we advise you to make use of that since it is very simple and convenient.

If you will stay with us again there are a lot of things that our hotel and its environment have to offer. For example you can take a walk to the nearby geothermal heated beach or walk up to the Pearl for a scenic view over the city. You could also relax at our Sóley Natura Spa or see an Icelandic film at our in-house theater. Or just sit down at our in-house library and enjoy a good book.

At last we would like to thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we will make sure to pass your compliments on to them. We hope that you had a great time in Iceland and that you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

For every positive about this hotel there is a negative. We knew we were staying a distance from the centre of town and the free bus pass made it reasonably easy to go to the city centre. As part of a tour we had the bardic rooms and they were small with not many features. With no room safe which we consider a necessity, and cupboards with broken doors, no luggage storage space and a remote location we felt the four star rating was high. We kept our broken cupboard door closed with the kettle full of water so we didn't knock ourselves in the night, but it was still there after the room had been cleaned the next day.
However, we thought the food and the friendliness (although not promptness) in the restaurant was impressive and we chose to eat there twice.
Breakfast was very good, a great selection but we were annoyingly removed from the room on our last of 6 mornings because the nature of our booking had changed and we were not entitled to breakfast on our last day. Common decency would suggest we could have been informed of this at check in or at least when we went to breakfast on that morning. We left with a negative impression and wondered why committed and friendly staff couldn't quite get it right.
We thank Ally at reception who went out of her way to ensure our tours went ahead as planned, her efforts were exceptional.
Management needs to address some issues because there are better alternatives at the moment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had this hotel as our base on a short visit to Iceland in august. Public areas and restaurant are nice, but the rooms will give any seasoned traveller a mild claustrophobia. Beautiful pictures on the wall can´t hide the fact that this hotel has more than a few years on its back, and that it will remain a place for short stays in transit despite any attempt to camouflage it with fancy and funny details. If you plan for long days in- and outside Reykjavik, it will do as an OK base camp, but nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have stayed here several times over the years, never for more than 3 nights in a row, but i love this hotel despite it being a good 15min walk from the city centre. Formally known as the Hotel Loftledir, it has had a revamp which in opinion makes it even better!

The rooms are plenty big enough for most needs, the bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean, with great showers, possibly giving visitors their first taste of geothermal hot water, just let the sulphurous hit you!

Be aware that this hotel is right next to the Reykjavik domestic airport (the control tower is on the roof), so those who don't like aircraft noise may not like a room on the runway side! On my last stay my room was on this side, and i loved watching the planes coming and going, they won't keep you awake as they tend to stop flying by 10pm at the latest

Another great feature that seems to be new to the hotel is the free bus pass available from reception to use the straeto buses in the city.You will be asked for a 10000kr deposit, but this is refunded when the pass is returned. The bus into the city runs every 30mins so its an easy way to explore the area without having to walk too far, as the stop is right outside!

Overall this is my favourite hotel in Reykjavik, quiet (apart from the airport!), clean and modern. Definately will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Those who don't like aircraft may want to ask for a room on the opposite side to the runway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monteeymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#27 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing