We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a small Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a small Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Excelent location...a few minutes walking from Rykjavik center.
I stayed at this Hotel several times in the last 10/12 years.
Small Rooms. The breakfast it's to much basis for me...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruiguimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    786
    647
    200
    109
See reviews for
229
867
188
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here because it was a much cheaper option than most other hotels in the city - and basically you get what you pay for. On arrival we were dealt with pleasantly and efficiently by the reception staff, and they proved very helpful throughout our stay. As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are very small and not easy to relax in, although the beds themselves were comfortable. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the evening meal very good value (although we didn't find the cost of eating in town as high as we'd expected). It was lovely to sit in the restaurant and be able to enjoy the view across the bay.
The walk in to town along the bay was about 15/20 minutes and very pleasant.
We organised two trips with Reykjavik Excursions and they picked us up from the hotel. We also hired a car from the hotel, which made things very easy and had no problems with it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here as part of the Icelandic air northern lights package. Not sure of the rate of the hotel for my trip.

Hotel room was tiny, walls paper thin, no free wifi, bathroom could be cleaner. Bed was uncomfortable.

Breakfast was fresh.

20 minute walk from centre but a God walk. We enjoyed the scenic walk along the coast.

Wouldn't stay here again though unfortunately. I would have happily upgraded, but not given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a night here before touring Iceland. We had booked a superior room but were lucky and got upgraded to de-luxe with a lovely view across the bay towards the mountains . The room was small but clean, warm, water hot and bed comfortable enough, so adequate enough for a few days as long as you are not expecting anything more than what would be considered a very basic standard in other hotels. Like most hotels in Iceland, there were no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms. 20 minute walk into main tourist areas but buses do stop outside. Breakfast OK but when we went down we had to wait for a table as they were all occupied. Best part of the stay were the Reception staff who couldn't be faulted - friendly, helpful and responsive to any requests for information. Basic hotel and reasonable value.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel if you can. Some rooms at the back overlook a coach park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I guess this place is cheap by Icelandic standards. It shows. Run-down furniture, low-quality food for self-service breakfast (lunch buffet is good value though), paper-thin walls, crazy Internet rates, at least a 20-minute walk away from the centre ... And, the worst of it all, some strange tour groups inhabiting it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Magnapurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in June. It is slightly outside of town, but you can walk by the water for about 15 minutes to get into town. There is a nice big path and the views are beautiful. I liked that since it was slightly outside of town, it was very quiet...we even slept with our window open and didn't hear a sound. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was fine for 2 adults. The room is more European style, so minimal and small. The Deluxe room also had a nice Bathtub to soak in after walking around all day. Check-in was very quick. Our room was clean. Breakfast is also typical European, meats, cheeses, cereal, bread. But, it was good and there was plenty of it. Big dining room to sit in as well. The hotel also had a small bar. Right across the street is a convenient store that has a Subway attached. So, we stopped on our way back in and picked up some snacks and beers from the store for a more reasonable price. The convenient store even had some pretty good hotdogs! The other nice thing about this hotel is it was the first stop the Flybus made on our way into town from the Blue Lagoon. All in all, I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Though our room was terriblely small it was all we needed and also had a great view of the mountains and harbor. The staff was very helpful and the free breakfast was FANTASTIC and full of fresh fruit. Only a 15 minute walk into the center of town and all tours pick up at the hotel. Internet access available for a fee on their computers (that work well - not slow) or wi-fi. A great value for what you get and I recommend this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#41 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing