We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The location is pretty great, only 20 minutes from city center. Staff was friendly.
This is excellent value for money, small but comfortable and clean rooms. Breakfast area is big. Breakfast is pretty simple.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-PLaitio-Ramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cabin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Excelent location...a few minutes walking from Rykjavik center.
I stayed at this Hotel several times in the last 10/12 years.
Small Rooms. The breakfast it's to much basis for me...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruiguimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here because it was a much cheaper option than most other hotels in the city - and basically you get what you pay for. On arrival we were dealt with pleasantly and efficiently by the reception staff, and they proved very helpful throughout our stay. As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are very small and not easy to relax in, although the beds themselves were comfortable. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the evening meal very good value (although we didn't find the cost of eating in town as high as we'd expected). It was lovely to sit in the restaurant and be able to enjoy the view across the bay.
The walk in to town along the bay was about 15/20 minutes and very pleasant.
We organised two trips with Reykjavik Excursions and they picked us up from the hotel. We also hired a car from the hotel, which made things very easy and had no problems with it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here as part of the Icelandic air northern lights package. Not sure of the rate of the hotel for my trip.

Hotel room was tiny, walls paper thin, no free wifi, bathroom could be cleaner. Bed was uncomfortable.

Breakfast was fresh.

20 minute walk from centre but a God walk. We enjoyed the scenic walk along the coast.

Wouldn't stay here again though unfortunately. I would have happily upgraded, but not given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a night here before touring Iceland. We had booked a superior room but were lucky and got upgraded to de-luxe with a lovely view across the bay towards the mountains . The room was small but clean, warm, water hot and bed comfortable enough, so adequate enough for a few days as long as you are not expecting anything more than what would be considered a very basic standard in other hotels. Like most hotels in Iceland, there were no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms. 20 minute walk into main tourist areas but buses do stop outside. Breakfast OK but when we went down we had to wait for a table as they were all occupied. Best part of the stay were the Reception staff who couldn't be faulted - friendly, helpful and responsive to any requests for information. Basic hotel and reasonable value.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel if you can. Some rooms at the back overlook a coach park.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I guess this place is cheap by Icelandic standards. It shows. Run-down furniture, low-quality food for self-service breakfast (lunch buffet is good value though), paper-thin walls, crazy Internet rates, at least a 20-minute walk away from the centre ... And, the worst of it all, some strange tour groups inhabiting it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Magnapurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in June. It is slightly outside of town, but you can walk by the water for about 15 minutes to get into town. There is a nice big path and the views are beautiful. I liked that since it was slightly outside of town, it was very quiet...we even slept with our window open and didn't hear a sound. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was fine for 2 adults. The room is more European style, so minimal and small. The Deluxe room also had a nice Bathtub to soak in after walking around all day. Check-in was very quick. Our room was clean. Breakfast is also typical European, meats, cheeses, cereal, bread. But, it was good and there was plenty of it. Big dining room to sit in as well. The hotel also had a small bar. Right across the street is a convenient store that has a Subway attached. So, we stopped on our way back in and picked up some snacks and beers from the store for a more reasonable price. The convenient store even had some pretty good hotdogs! The other nice thing about this hotel is it was the first stop the Flybus made on our way into town from the Blue Lagoon. All in all, I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
536 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
527 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,607 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,681 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £83 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing