We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Enough and Reasonable Price”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Red Lodge, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient Enough and Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights, and had a very good experience. We upgraded to a Superior room, and it was plenty big for the two of us. Our friends stayed in a standard room, and, while small, was sufficient and economical. Our bathroom and other facilities were quite nice, and the hotel staff was great. They were very helpful, and accommodating. The breakfast was fine (sliced meat, cheese, bread, and muesli with a bunch of toppings). While there are no restaurants close by, They have a nothing fancy lunch and dinner at the hotel. It's only a quick cab ride downtown. Most of the affordable hotels lie outside of the downtown area. Several tour companies pick you up at the hotel for all their tours, as well as the airport shuttle. It was very clean and the price is right, but I'd recommend an upgrade if you need a little room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    794
    655
    207
    109
See reviews for
234
874
189
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were on a short break 4-7th February to see the Northern Lights. Unbeknown to us we were in the budget rooms which were very small and made even smaller by an added single bed in our double room. In retrospect I should have asked them to remove it as we shuffled round it all the time. No tea making facilities, hair dryer, extra pillows, toiletries or any niceties - on a par with a low budget travel lodge. However it was clean, functional and the breakfast was good. It came down to expectations on our part - we thought we were going to a 'proper' hotel!

Room Tip: Maybe check it out first before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hotel Cabin is 30 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik, but it is a clean, functional hotel with reasonable faciliies.
Book the delux room if you want to see outside( standard rooms have internal windows!!) , and ask for floor 6 front- for nice view over sea.
Breakfast was chaotic and ordinary- but gives a liitle energy for walk to town!
Reception staff very helpful and friendly.
Worth the money but if walking is problem try Radisson in old town.

BEWARE - taxi driver at airport quoted us 50,000 Icelandin krona for a ride to hotel - that is 250 pounds!!!!!! Bus is about 10 and drops at hotels - so avoid this scam.

Room Tip: 6th floor front Delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Cabin from February 3-9 and had a great stay. The front desk staff is so incredibly helpful and friendly. We were originally supposed to leave on the 8th but our flight was cancelled due to a storm in NYC and the staff were very accommodating with our luggage and helping us get a new room. They also answered all of our questions throughout our stay and were also very friendly and smiling. Breakfast buffet is included and good, though it does get a little boring having the same thing every day for 7 days. We had a deluxe room and it was very spacious - I'd recommend upgrading from the Standard room if you can manage it. The only drawback is having to pay for wifi. I'd rather pay a little more for the hotel and have it included than have to worry about trying to sign out to keep my paid time from depleting when I wasn't using the internet (it sometimes used up my time when I wasn't actually online). The location was great - a 15 minute walk to the city center or a short bus ride (buses come regularly and ontime). It's right across the street from the ocean so the views were great, too. And they're close to the Ring Road, so it made day trips easy to access. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Would recommend this hotel. Beds made every morning and clean towels every day. Room small but o.k for two people. We spent three nights there, but any longer and I think a larger room would be appreciated. Staff very friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English.
Plenty of hot water at all times but if you need a hairdryer you need to take your own.
Breakfast was good and dinner was not bad for the money (1,850 Icelandic Krona or about £9.00 per person). Location is good. Had sea view from our room and town centre is only a ten to fifteen minute walk away along the sea front.

Room Tip: The loation is quiet but try to get a room on the sixth floor to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelatikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Cabin Hotel is a great place if you want clean and not expensive. Hotel front desk staff are very helpful and knowledgeable.

The rooms are small and had 2 single beds. For one person it was fine two people may be really crowed cause there not enough room to store your luggage and things. The rooms are noisy as you can hear your neighbors if they are not quiet. The tour desk is fantastic. Hulda Bjork was wonderful in figuring out what tours worked for us. One day, she suggested we spend the morning at the City Thermal pools and it was perfect! She also had just started her job with the hotel and she's perfect for it. She's actually an opera singer and between seasons she takes temporary jobs to earn extra money.

Breakfast is basic buffet in the morning with meat, cheese, hard boiled eggs, muesli with yogurt, assortments of breads and tea and coffee. The hotel also offers a buffet lunch with is served all day for dinner too. Very basic food, salad bar, some kind of pasta dish, light soups. It seems a bit expensive for the price however, there really isn't any place nearby to eat dinner and the cost would so much more.

Room Tip: Rooms are hire floors avoid the street noise also if you have room facing the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMEZZ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

A friend and I stayed 5 nights and found this hotel to be a great way to save money for things like tours and souvenirs - none of which are cheap in Iceland! We each got our own room, and did wonder how two people managed in the tiny space. I was comfortable and though you can hear the neighbors through the walls, everyone around me was there for sightseeing, so weren't up late at night or noisy.

The breakfast food is the same every day - boiled eggs, sliced pressed ham and cheese, sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. A bowl of thin yogurt to spoon over cereal, lots of fresh breads with jam and butter. Coffee, tea, milk and a fruit drink for beverages. While monotonous, it is filling and again, this is a budget hotel!

The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Lots of smiles and quick response when we needed something. Helga, (I hope I remembered her name correctly!) who is in the gift shop and helps arrange tours, was a shining star! We were ill and exhausted our first day there and she directed us to the local swimming pool which has multiple outdoor hot pools, a sea salt pool, steam room and even a water slide. It was wonderfully relaxing and set us up for the rest of the week. She was patient and polite, and helped arrange our tours to the South Shore, Golden Circle and Blue Lagoon.

The hotel is located steps from the waterfront, so we walked to downtown that way. It's about a 20 minute brisk walk, then you can wander along the 'shopping' street, catch the flea market, stop at a coffee shop, etc. In the winter be prepared for wind and cold. We experienced rain, sleet, snow, sun, hail.... sometimes in the same day! Be dressed warmly in layers with waterproof footwear, and you'll be fine.

If you plan to be out of your room having adventures, I recommend the Hotel Cabin as a good place to sleep and use as home base while in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window. If you plan to be in your room a lot, you might want a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulJourney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
526 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
371 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
817 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,614 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing