We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Cabin hotel is clean and comfortable but very small. We paid £140 for 4 nights, about £18 per person per head. In this price you got a breakfast included. Again this wasn't an earth shattering breakfast but perfectly adequate. This hotels is good if you aren't going to be there a lot and you just want to get your head down at night. For us we were out all day and most of the evening so we just used it as a base. The location is about a 20-25 minute walk to the city centre, depending what side of town you want to go to. Across the road there is a petrol station with a shop and a subway so if you need to grab some food there is something there most of the night (I think the garage was 24 hours). If you head out of town, on the same road, there is a public pool, which was mostly outside and used by locals and tourists a like. It is marked on the free city guide you can pick up in reception. If you are on a budget and can't afford the frankly quite expensive blue lagoon the city pools are a good way of experiencing the thermal water. In fact in my opinion the £2.50 ish is costs is realy good and I preferred the public pool because they had a different temperture pools.

All of the excursion companies picked up from the hotel and it was quite good as you got dropped off first normally.

All in all this hotel is very good for the money and I don't think it is too far from town plus there are city buses if you need mobility assistance or are too lazy to walk into town. I would avoid cabs they are notoriously expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    801
    669
    212
    117
See reviews for
244
888
192
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked this hotel on a groupon holiday so didn't know what to expect.
Pleasantly surprised - we did upgrade our room. We ended up having two single beds pushed together plus an extra single bed in our room which wasn't a problem. We were facing the main road but it was extremely quiet. The room was clean and tidy and had everything that you could need. The breakfast was cereal, breads, yoghurt, fruit, meats, cheese, salads and was very tasty. The hotel is about 1/2 walk in to town which is actually quite nice but all the tours collect from the hotel so if you don't hire a care, don't worry, no problems. We had a nice view of the sea and the mountains and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to return to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked the budget rooms as we were on a budget !when we compared the room to a cabin we had on a canal cruise it was bigger than expected with everything we needed.The beds were very comfortable,the room was clean and very warm.The breakfast was good and the salad bar was appetizing and very fresh and saved a walk into town if you had been out all day.The reception staff were great and happily changed the times of our excursions with the tour company.I would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for sea view on the 6th floor but away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timharding999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a very good budget hotel but do not expect much from your room. The basic rooms are very small, two single beds with a walking gap down the center and and en suite. This was fine for what i required, I was out most of the time sight seeing. Ours was and outside room but there were some rooms which were in the center of the hotel which had windows that looked out on the corridor, I found this a bit peculiar. The hotel does offer an upgrade from yours standard room but to be honest I was fine with what we had.

The room doesn't come with a hairdryer but you can hire one from reception for 2500IK. This money is fully returnable. The room does have shower gel in there which saves you squeezing it in your suitcase.

The reception staff are very helpful and were happy to ring up restaurants to book tables and help you book tours. There are lots of leaflets etc available. It says breakfast is 6am - 10am but we had an early flight (as did a lot of guests) so the hotel made breakfast available from 4am which was very helpful.

Hotel is about a slow 30 min walk to the harbor with lovely views of the mountains on the way. Across the road is a Subway and a garage in case you need to grab some quick room. I think for the cost of the hotel this is a very good option and would recommend as long as you don't expect lots of bells and whistles.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is located 15mins walk from the city centre with a few coffee shops along the way, or walk along the sea wall to view art installations until you get to the Harper concert hall. There is a convenience store and Subway across the road from the hotel which is handy for trip snacks.

The reception is open 24 hours and staff friendly. We stayed in a Superior room on the top floor with a view over the bay. The room was warm, clean and modern. Bed comfortable, large mini fridge, kettle, small flat screen tv, dressing table and mirror - everything we needed. There is also a large wardrobe and luggage area near the door and the bathroom looked newly redecorated with black tile floor and large walk-in shower. Toiletry products were also provided which was unexpected for a budget hotel, as was the fact that we had clean towels every day which was most appreciated after long days of adventure activity in the rain!

There is also a radiator that ran the whole length of the room under the panoramic window which was a great bonus when it came to drying off damp clothes. There is also a large balcony area/fire escape at the end of the corridor, ideal for smokers and a nice night view of the downtown area, on the other hand the door was a bit stiff and has to be slammed shut thus waking everyone up on that floor.

The breakfast buffet was basic but OK for a quick bite before heading out early for trips. Mainly nice breads and cereals. Decent coffee. Also ham, cheese, cucumber and tomatoes. Strangely there was a variety of fruit available for the evening salad buffet but only orange slices at breakfast. We had the evening buffet on one night in our 6 night stay and it was OK for the price with pasta, soups, bread, salad and fruit available.

The only points I would recommend to the management would be, firstly have more fruit at breakfast, secondly please replenish the tea/coffee/sugar in the rooms every day (we gave up and bought it from the shop along with some decent milk), and finally please provide one extra towel in the bathrooms as there always seemed to be one short as a towel had to be laid on the floor to stop a puddle forming when getting out of the shower, and ladies like a towel for their hair too, plus a separate hand towel!

Overall I would stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends, as I thought it was brilliant value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few quid for the superior rooms on the top floor as you will not regret it. The standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller85Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Would recommend anyone over 5' to upgrade from standard room which is tiny - two single beds against each wall with small gap inbetween. We upgraded to Deluxe room which was only about £16 extra per night and the size you would expect from a 'normal' hotel room - very comfy.

Breakfast could be a bit of a zoo but plentiful and tasty.

Its about 25-30 min walk into the centre of town or short taxi ride costing approx £12.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Defo upgrade unless you are a teenager or travelling alone - two people wouldn't be able to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I think there are three types of rooms, very small, superior and delux. We had the superior room and in size it was similar to the usual Premier Inn, Travelodge etc size. We didn't book a standard room as we had read here that they were tiny. They are so don't book a small room and then be surprised it is small! We had a fair sized bathroom and both room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast is included in the price and it is a good continental buffet, could be considered repetitive but I think complaints are unfair.
It's 20 minutes walk to the centre or you can get the bus which is right in front of the hotel.
Eating out in Reykjavik is very very expensive. The buffett offered in the hotel can be considered good value for money but it is really repetitive. The salad bar is fine but always the same, two choices of soup which taste a bit like made out of a packet but OK and then one hot dish which changed every night (we were there five nights) but was unedible rubbish every night. We didn't have the energy to go somewhere else in the evening but if you do, I strongly advise you to do so.
Our experience with Islandic people was that they don't smile when they speak so could give the impression they are unfriendly. I don't know if they are unfriendly but they certainly don't go out of their way to give information or be helpful.
All in all, unless I found something better value for money, I would be happy to stay in the Cabin Hotel again if I returned to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Don't choose the standard rooms, they are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
536 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
514 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 52 in Reykjavik
376 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,582 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing