We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for school trips” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for school trips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here recently with a school group. One half of the hotel was more like a hostel. The rooms were very small and cramped, tiny shower. You would not want to be spending a lot of time in these rooms. The other half of the hotel had much larger rooms with a bath, tv, fridge. We stayed in these rooms for two nights. The beds were comfortable. With regard to food, the options both for breakfast and dinner were quite bland. Breakfast had a option of cold salad, cereal, toast. They had cut up oranges for breakfast but it would of been nice if they had an apple or banana or some other fruit options. Dinner was again a cold salad with one warm choice ( should have been hot). I get the feeling that hotel cut corners when it comes to food and it was all very hostel like. If I went with my family I would rather eat out every night. I have an issue with hotels charging for wifi, I feel in this day and age if you are paying for a room wifi should come with it as standard. Even if the wifi was only free in the lobby that would have done the job. Overall the hotel was fine. I would advise not to stay in this hotel during school holidays as it was full of school groups which did take over the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing onto the sea front. Also ask for a room in the newer quarter (these rooms sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilywhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Sales- and Marketing Department at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear lilywhite

Thank you so much for your review and the stay in Cabin Hótel. We are so glad to hear you liked it. Regarding the breakfast we always try to rotate and improve, so thank you for the friendly suggestion concerning bananas and apples. I will make sure that kitchen staff get it. Since Cabin is a fully equipped budget hotel it is popular for school-trips like yours that usually is in the spring time hope that did not bother you too much. Unfortunately WiFi is not included in Cabin prices at least not at the moment.

Thank you so much again! And hope to see you back in Iceland soon.
Best Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    776
    638
    197
    106
See reviews for
227
860
186
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Reasonable hotel based on value for money, was upgrade to higher standard of room at no extra cost ( hotel fully booked) - breakfeast to little choice and avoid russhours, option to eat at hotel for dinner at reasonable price but quit poor choice.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads39DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Sales and Marketing department at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mads39DK

Thank you for your stay and for your review. We are very happy to hear that you liked our hotel and great you liked the effort from our staff in upgrading you. Sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet did not meet up with your expectations we always try to rotate and to improve it each time.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Went with a school group. Clearly don't go here if you want quiet or luxury. It's a hostel really, but does what it does pretty well. Small rooms, out of town and ok food. Can be very noisy at night, with hundreds of school kids.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingofgeography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear King of geography

Thank you for your comment and your stay in Cabin hotel.
We do have school groups coming to us mostly from UK for about 10 -14 days twice a year. Most of those school-groups are very well behaved and the teachers do an excellent job to controlling them and should not be a problem concerning other guests. The reason is our budget price for all you need. :)

Hope to see you again in Iceland
Best Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I came to Iceland on a school trip last October. The trip itself was beyond amazing in every way - and this hotel hosted fun times. It has good food, comfortable beds, an awesome view and it's all very modern etc. If you're thinking of going on holiday to Iceland, DO, and stay here - it's affordable and very nice!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LifeonMars97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear LifeonMars97

Thank you so much for your stay and your wonderful review we really appreciate it!

We hope to welcome you again in hotel Cabin hopefully soon :)

Best Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here recently for 4 nights with my school, and as far as I can see, there is not a single upside. Firstly, the rooms were far too tiny for the number of people they are designed to accomodate, the beds were like bricks, the pillows were flat and lumpy (and there was only 1 per person), the bunk beds creaked, the window easily got condensed and smelt damp, the build quality of everything in the room was awful and the drainage from the shower leaked. The door handle nearly fell off and the smart card system was tempramental. There was only 1 hot meal choice per night, and each night, that tasted cheap and nasty. The cold food (which you shouldn't have to eat after a cold Icelandic day) was also far too bland. The restaurant is too small and far too noisy. The staff were slow to clean tables after people had left and were very rude (refused to refill an empty tray in the buffet when I asked for more bread at breakfast). When I asked for wifi, the man on reception didn't seem to understand what I was saying, and the wifi itself didn't work properly, resulting me in requesting a full refund. The wifi was far too expensive as well, especially considering it didn't work in all rooms as it promised. Hairdryers were not provided in the room any cost 2000 kr to hire. The lift kept stopping on floors I didn't want it to, and when there were staff in the lift, and you wanted to use it, they would simply close the door on you. There is literally no upside to this hotel as far as I can see, and my favourite part of my stay here was leaving. Iceland itself is an extraordinary and amazing country which I would love to return to, but this hotel simply does not belong here, and will definitely stay in another hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Director of Sales at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Matthew W

We are very sorry to hear about your experience here at Hotel Cabin. We will look into these matters and see what went wrong. Regarding the pillows we can offer extra pillows for those who ask. The charge for a hairdryer is a deposit only and is refunded when the hairdryer is returned. We had a few issues with the wifi recently and this has been fixed but of course like all other hotels we might experience some less connection speed when many are using it at the same time.

Again sorry that Hotel Cabin did not live up to your expectations but we are glad that Iceland in general was extraordinary.

Best Regards Geir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

nuneaton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

On 10/4/14, I travelled to Iceland with my school. I will say this now, DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A QUIET, LUXURIOUS HOTEL, as this hotel is very hostel-like.
But to be completely honest, i liked it. I would recommend this hotel for schools/large groups.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have windows opening up into the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear markhulme

Thank you for your stay and review for our Cabin hotel. Glad you will recommend us for groups and others. Indeed we are a budget hotel (two stars) but fully equipped with breakfast included in our prices and therefore a good choice for everyone who wants to travel on budget. :)

We hope to see you again in hotel Cabin :)

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

80% of Icelandic people believe in the Hidden People; small elves, dwarves and trolls. In the Hotel Cabin they have built them the perfect hotel.
On the plus points: It is very clean, the staff are uber friendly an helpful. The showers are great and there is non-stop hot water. The hotel is also a 5 minute walk from the most brilliant naturally heated public swimming pool - a must visit! Great bread for the continental breakfast.
The negatives: rooms are small, beds although comfortable are small. This may put all but the 'Hidden People' off staying here??

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Steve

Thank you for your comments and your stay in Cabin hotel. Glad to hear you liked cleanliness, our comfy beds although rooms are small and the area around us such as the swimming pool in Laugardalur. :)
Glad you enjoyed the stories of the elves and the hidden people here in Iceland.
These stories are more and less very interesting on my behalf as well. :)
As an Icelandic kid growing up here we heard all sorts of stories concerning these mysterious things every time we were amazed. I am almost sure that this has something to do with the darkness here 9 months all year around. :)

We hope to see you again in the land of mystery, ice and fire :)

Kind Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#49 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing