We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claustrophobic rooms but cheap price”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Kremnica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic rooms but cheap price”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Depends what you are looking for. Do you want very cheap hotel 15 minutes far from the center by walk, with claustrophobic small rooms (but clean)? Or you want something more comfy and closer to the center even for the higher price? This hotel is having 2 sections. 2 stars and 3 stars one. I had spent 5 nights in 2 starts room and the room was too small. Glad I stayed there alone because twin room was not much bigger than single so I cannot imagine sharing already small space with someone else. People at the reception were kind and helpful but it depended who was in charge. Had different experiences and few of receptionists were not really welcoming. Wifi is available but not for free. You need to pay! (different price for different timming, but it was not cheap, from 500 ISK up to 1500 IS, from 30 mins up to 1 hr). Also breakfast (which are from 6 to 10 am) are very modest. 2 kinds of cheese, 3 kinds of ham/salami, many kinds of bread (this was the bright thing), boiled eggs, tomato and cucumber, orange, skyr (kind of white yogurt), milk with musli, 2 kinds of jam, butter and compotes (coming with skyr). Including hot beverages of course. It would be fine if it is not the same every single morning so after 3rd day I was already desperate what to choose. I recommend to stay in this hotel only if you are going for some school trips or if you are looking for some budget place. It is offering you clean place to sleep for reasonable price. But if you are more demanding, go for some other place (if possible closer to the city center). It is close to the shore, which is nice and not so far from the city famous swimming pool. Also there are many markets around and gas station right opposite so you can grab something from there anytime. For one night it´s ok to stay here, but for longer stay DEFINITELY NOT! I was not feeling good atmosphere there, really just a place to sleep. Sometimes not even that. Because rooms are so "squeezed" to each other that if someone is trying to get in the room next to yours you have feeling they are entering your own. And yes, you can hear EVERYTHING and during the light nights when there is no dark outside at all the curtains are not sufficient so you can have difficulties to fall asleep. OH, and one more thing. If you want to borrow a hairdryer you need to pay 2000 ISK deposit (1 euro = 155 ISK).

Room Tip: Go for 3 stars part. 2 stars rooms are VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majzitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    790
    653
    200
    109
See reviews for
231
872
188
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here in February, hotel was nice and clean, staff were very helpful and restaurant was very good, the room we stayed in was the smallest twin room I've ever seen, only really sized for a single. Good thing is we were out nearly all day and night every day as so much to see.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night in Reyjavik during road trip around the country. Return visit and knew what to expect. Basic accomodation but their great value buffet dinner. That said, it seems we'd been booked in to a top qulaity room (booked as part of a package of pre-booked hotels paid by voucher), Once again we had a great view out across the bay. Was very pleasantly surprised by breakfast in an upstairs dining room because of our superior room - none of the usual breakfast scrum, rather a quiet sedate almost personal service breakfast with views across the bay - don;t know how much extra our room cost but it could have been worth it due to the breakfast arrangement and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear KeithW725

Thank you for your stay and for your review. We are happy that you liked our hotel and our breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you in Cabin again! :)

Best regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had one night prior to a tour. The lady receptionist was not what I would call welcoming. There was no smile or words of welcome. The room which was a superior room, the middle of 3 classes of room, was ok but not as spacious as you might expect. However there were black out curtains, very necessary in Iceland, and a view. There was a TV and a lovely shower with plenty of hot water. The double room aspect is in fact 2 single beds pushed together with separate donnas. This may be the Icelandic standard as tonight's hotel has the same. Although there was a fridge there were no tea and coffee-making facilities. Ditto tonight's hotel, maybe this is an Icelandic thing. There was no room safe. Dinner is a basic buffet with hot food consisting of soup and pasta and a selection of salads without meat and fresh fruit. It includes soft drinks and tea and coffee. However at about ISK18,500 I think it is very good value for money, especially for Iceland. It was about the same cost as a single bowl of soup in a cardboard bowl at a tourist place we went to today for lunch. Breakfast was included and was a selection of cereals and breads, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, boiled eggs, fresh tomato and cucumber and other things
This hotel is not centrally located, being maybe 2 km out.

Room Tip: Apparently the standard rooms are tiny so if there are 2 of you, go for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We were initially given a room that looked towards the back of the building, however upon asking the front desk for a new room we were given a sea facing location. Fantastic view from our window.

I didn't notice our room being small, in fact we had an extra bed. Perhaps rooms on the higher levels are a little bigger.
It was clean and well serviced.

The breakfast was fine, had an average selection but you could eat as much as you wanted.

The staff were very helpful and the location was good for us as we had hired a car and there was free parking.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bumbleandthemog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Bumblebleandthemog

Thank you for your kind review and your stay in Cabin.

We are happy to hear you liked the view from your room and that you did not even noticed that the rooms were small. :) also glad to hear you liked the breakfast buffet and our great staff.

We hope to see you again in Cabin :)
Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on the Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had read the reviews before we went so luckily we were prepared for the rooms being very small. It wasn't too much of a problem as cases can be stored under the bed. However, it's easier if one person stays in bed whilst the other gets ready! Rooms were very clean. You can smell the sulphur when you lift the toilet lid but if you keep the lid down, you can't smell it.

Apart from the very small rooms, the hotel itself was ok. There is a restaurant where you can get a salad with tuna etc, which works out at about £10 and you can eat as much as you like. However, salad is all they do so don't expect to go in and order steak! Plenty of restaurants elsewhere in Reykjavik though.

Hotel staff were very pleasant and friendly and were only too happy to deal with our many queries - they must have the patience of saints!

If you want luxury then this isn't the hotel for you. If however, you want a nice, clean, albeit small, hotel room at a really good price, then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

On the edge of town, a good twenty minute walk to the shopping/ bars area. Room good size and clean. There's no free wi-fi, you have to pay approx 3euros for half an hour. Didn't try the food in the evening as we arrived late and there's loads of choice in Reykjavik anyway. Petrol station over the road and a mini market up the road. The hotel served it's purpose as a one night stopover, slept well and breakfast OK. Would stay there again, but would consider something closer to town with a bit more character if on a longer stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing