We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly (Icelandic style) and good!”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were delayed returning home by an airline strike, and decided to give the Hotel Cabin a try (we'd been staying at an airbnb property.) We got the economy room, and it was perfectly fine; neat as a pin and had everything we needed for a night's stay. I like the location, because it is quiet and near the swimming complex at Laugardalslaug (which should not be missed), while still near the city center. It's just a block to the harbor walk, too, which is quite pleasant.

The included breakfast buffet was very good; lots of choices and all fresh. It was a bit of a zoo, though, in terms of the number of people, and because, I think, Icelandic food prices being sky high, people staying at a "budget" hotel will want to make a full meal out of breakfast!

One downside, no free wifi in the cheaper rooms.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CamelCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear CamelCase

Thank you so much for your stay and your kind comments we really appreciate them.

So happy you liked our breakfast buffet and the surroundings to our hotel. :)

Unfortunately we don´t have WiFi included in the budget price, at least not at the moment.

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

948 - 954 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were booked into this hotel by a travel company at the start of our Icelandic holiday. Despite arriving at 4pm, the first room we were booked into had not been made up. We were then allocated another room on the same floor but when we entered that with the key card we found the room already occupied with the two occupants in the bed - most embarrasing for both parties!

The third room was OK but on a lower floor with not such a good view.

Fortunately, on our return from the tour, we were re-booked into a different hotel.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Chris

First of all I want to thank you for your comment and your stay here in Cabin.

Second of all I want to apologize for this unpleasant incident we will investigate this matter.

Sorry to hear this hope you had a great time in Iceland.

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the deluxe room which was reasonably spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik. The breakfast is a buffet which was OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Charlie_Jane00

Thank you for your stay and review on Cabin hotel. We are happy to hear you liked the deluxe rooms. Indeed it is a 15-20 minutes walk down town it can be beautiful though in good weather especially a long the coast-side. It is also easy and cheap to take the bus to and from town very convenient for tired legs after a long day. :)

We hope to see you again in Iceland! :)

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed in Hotel Cabin a total of three nights in three different rooms and what a mixed bag it was. The reason I stayed in a different room each night was due to one planned night, one night after a flight to Kulusuk was cancelled, and one planned night at the end of my trip to Greenland. Therefore, I was able to see the hotel from three different points of view.

There are two types of rooms - standard and deluxe. I stayed in a deluxe room on the first and last nights. They were basically the same except one had a bath/shower combination and the other had a shower only. They were comfortable and quiet (if a little Spartan) but there was no safe (a big downfall for me). The standard room was paid for by AirIceland after our flight was cancelled and it was so basic, it felt like a youth hostel. A single bed, very small and a tiny shower. Also no safe. I do not know the prices of the rooms but I would have felt ripped off if I paid anything more than £50 a night for the room.

The hotel location was not bad - you could walk to the main part of the city in 20 minutes or so and it was only minutes away from the seafront. It was right opposite a Nesti and a Subway for quick and convenient snacks if needed.

Service was so-so. Some staff were friendly and helpful, others just assisted as much as required and nothing more. No dramas, just nothing outstanding.

Sleep quality was good - not too noisy and the deluxe rooms had good black out curtains. The standard rooms did not but I was tired enough to fall asleep anyway.

Overall this is not a bad hotel but it is a "budget" hotel and you can tell. If you are looking for basic and clean accommodation in Iceland, this is it but if you are after something a little more luxurious - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krinkles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Krinkles28

Thank you for your stay and your comments about Cabin.
We are glad you got a good night sleep with us. :) Indeed our standard rooms are small but fully equipped + breakfast included in our budget prices. Like you said you saw the difference in between rooms, if you want to pay a little more for luxurious room we still have that available as well as the budget rooms so people can choose what is suitable for them. :)

Thank you again for everything and we hope you had a fantastic time here in Iceland! :)

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Depends what you are looking for. Do you want very cheap hotel 15 minutes far from the center by walk, with claustrophobic small rooms (but clean)? Or you want something more comfy and closer to the center even for the higher price? This hotel is having 2 sections. 2 stars and 3 stars one. I had spent 5 nights in 2 starts room and the room was too small. Glad I stayed there alone because twin room was not much bigger than single so I cannot imagine sharing already small space with someone else. People at the reception were kind and helpful but it depended who was in charge. Had different experiences and few of receptionists were not really welcoming. Wifi is available but not for free. You need to pay! (different price for different timming, but it was not cheap, from 500 ISK up to 1500 IS, from 30 mins up to 1 hr). Also breakfast (which are from 6 to 10 am) are very modest. 2 kinds of cheese, 3 kinds of ham/salami, many kinds of bread (this was the bright thing), boiled eggs, tomato and cucumber, orange, skyr (kind of white yogurt), milk with musli, 2 kinds of jam, butter and compotes (coming with skyr). Including hot beverages of course. It would be fine if it is not the same every single morning so after 3rd day I was already desperate what to choose. I recommend to stay in this hotel only if you are going for some school trips or if you are looking for some budget place. It is offering you clean place to sleep for reasonable price. But if you are more demanding, go for some other place (if possible closer to the city center). It is close to the shore, which is nice and not so far from the city famous swimming pool. Also there are many markets around and gas station right opposite so you can grab something from there anytime. For one night it´s ok to stay here, but for longer stay DEFINITELY NOT! I was not feeling good atmosphere there, really just a place to sleep. Sometimes not even that. Because rooms are so "squeezed" to each other that if someone is trying to get in the room next to yours you have feeling they are entering your own. And yes, you can hear EVERYTHING and during the light nights when there is no dark outside at all the curtains are not sufficient so you can have difficulties to fall asleep. OH, and one more thing. If you want to borrow a hairdryer you need to pay 2000 ISK deposit (1 euro = 155 ISK).

Room Tip: Go for 3 stars part. 2 stars rooms are VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majzitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here in February, hotel was nice and clean, staff were very helpful and restaurant was very good, the room we stayed in was the smallest twin room I've ever seen, only really sized for a single. Good thing is we were out nearly all day and night every day as so much to see.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night in Reyjavik during road trip around the country. Return visit and knew what to expect. Basic accomodation but their great value buffet dinner. That said, it seems we'd been booked in to a top qulaity room (booked as part of a package of pre-booked hotels paid by voucher), Once again we had a great view out across the bay. Was very pleasantly surprised by breakfast in an upstairs dining room because of our superior room - none of the usual breakfast scrum, rather a quiet sedate almost personal service breakfast with views across the bay - don;t know how much extra our room cost but it could have been worth it due to the breakfast arrangement and free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear KeithW725

Thank you for your stay and for your review. We are happy that you liked our hotel and our breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you in Cabin again! :)

Best regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
557 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
398 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
318 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £89 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing