We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - but avoid the standard rooms!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but avoid the standard rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

We had a great 3 days in Reykjavik and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However we moved from a standard to a deluxe room after one night and it really was like staying in two different hotels.

We had read the reviews and were prepared for a small room but this one was ridiculous! We arrived late and found the tiniest of rooms with 2'6" beds, no room for clothes (only 3 hangers for 2 of us), no drawers and two tiny shelves about 6 inches high so room for one jumper on each (we had 3 each so struggled!!). The bathroom was also small with just a shower. There was nowhere for suitcases so we piled them up against the room door and just unpacked a couple of thing.

Worse still the room had a grubby feel about it and I spent the whole night itching. It really was grim - like a cheap hostel.

After a sleepless night we asked to upgrade and were shown a deluxe room (around £15 a night extra) which was completely different - new carpets. lovely bathroom, spacious etc) We couldn't believe we were in the same hotel. We could have kissed the receptionist at that point!! I can't understand why a hotel which has nicely decorated public areas andsmart reception staff has such awful rooms on offer.

Anyway enough about the rooms! Some have mentioned the hotel is far out but the bus stops opposite the hotel and it's a 10 minute trip into town so no problem for us.

The common areas are modern and nicely decorated and the staff were wonderful. Very helpful - confirmimg pick up times for our trips, directing us to the bus stop, providing complementary tea whilst waiting for our new room etc.

Breakast was limited but if you can survive on tea, cereal and toast you'll be fine. No cooked breakfast here. All in all a fabulous trip with great sightseeing and a convenient hotel base. Just avoid the standard rooms or be prepared for very basic accommodation.

  • Liked — Helpul staff, upgraded room
  • Disliked — Standard rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    776
    635
    196
    106
See reviews for
227
859
185
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

As with all other reviewers, we got this hotel through the bargain Iceland Air package. Having read the reviews and considered the price we paid, we didn't expect much.

The Fly Bus from the airport to the hotel is very easy and convenient. Lots of us got off at this hotel (all on the same deal??) and we were lucky / clever enough to be at the front of the check-in queue so were in the room in minutes.

The communal areas of the hotel are very nicely maintained and modern but our standard room was horrible! We expected small but we didn't expect musty & dirty. It may be unfair to say 'dirty' but it certainly didn't feel clean, and there was chewing gum stuck to the carpet. We stayed the night as it was late, although we didn't get much sleep due to a) fear of falling out of the tiny narrow beds and b) all the smokers standing outside the hotel entrance chatting til 03.30am!

The next morning we went to reception to enquire about an upgrade. We went to see a 'deluxe' room which was like being in a different hotel! We made sure we were well away from the hotel entrance and willingly paid the 6400 ISK for 2 nights upgrade - BARGAIN! The new room was much bigger, all new fixtures & fittings and the main factor - CLEAN! It also had a bath as well as a shower and enough cupboard space, which the standard room was seriously lacking.

The lady on reception with the long brown hair was lovely, she couldn't do enough for us, in fact we found that everybody in Reykjavik was lovely, all very friendly and helpful with perfect English.

Breakfast was fine, continental style with hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, tomato & cucumber, which is odd when 90% of the clientele were British, but there were also cereals and a variety of breads and jams. It ends at 10am and got pretty busy around 09.30am.

We were too lazy to walk into town so we got the no. 12 bus from across the road which was very easy. Also, all trips pick you up & drop you off at the hotel so all very convenient.

As a cheap base for a weekend break this hotel was great - I just can't stress enough that it is so worth upgrading your room.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — The standard rooms - PAY FOR THE UPGRADE!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

This 3 star hotel was part of the Icelandair package, and it's a non-descript, functional, concrete bunker (albeit with views of Mt Esja on a clear day). Our twin room was tiny, about the width of 3 single beds put together, but it suited our purposes because we just needed a place to rest our weary heads about nights of gigging. All Icelandic buildings are heated by geothermal water which means great showers - instant hot water! Location-wise its a little out of the city centre action (which isn't saying much, because the city is tiny) so when the cold hits you can take a bus from the stop outside to avoid the 20 minute walk. Plus it's across the road from our favourite service station, Nesti, which served the best hot dogs I tried the whole weekend.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsettingjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

We booked this hotel through Icelandair as a budget package expecting a three star hotel perhaps the equivalent of a Travelodge or Premier Travel Inn in the UK.

We were late arriving due to a delayed flight and were booked into a room the size of a cupboard at 5am. The walls were paper thin and we could hear the snorers next door. The room was in the centre of the hotel and our bedroom window looked out into the corridor, whilst our door opened to the corridor the other side of the room. Thus movement all round, no natural light and no space. There was insufficient storage space for one case or two people's clothes. Beds were very narrow with ill fitting sheets and pillows which we would describe as cotton wool balls inside a bag. Two people could not move in the room at the same time - no passing space!

With a little over two hours to sleep before our excursion we were awoken before our alarm went off by a school teacher systematically knocking at all his students doors to awake them with his cheery 'Good Morning!' call.

Up for a quick shower (the shower room was clean if small) and suddenly the floor of the bathroom was awash and water seeped out onto the carpet outside as the drain was blocked.

Down for breakfast and a queue a mile long with three school parties all up before their day on the road. Food was very limited in choice and with no opportunity to get back for more because of the continuing queue we were restricted to what we could carry. Shared a nice conversation with three school students from Newcastle in what can only be described as the ambience of a school canteen.

Very glad to get out we did our day trip and when we got back checked out and booked ourself in a real hotel!

Hotel Cabin needs to make its mind up as to its clientele - they have a really bad mix of guests, a large turnover of school parties and it is not suited to a long weekend for a couple. Perhaps OK for single backpackers used to roughing it. This is more of a hostel than a hotel and Icelandair should not be using it for weekend breaks. Pay more and go somewhere else in Reykavik!

  • Liked — Shower room was clean
  • Disliked — Room size, lack of sound proofing and no external windows.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDKirklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Ulgham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

The standard room is very basic and very small. The room is tidy but carpets look unclean and standard rooms do need updated. The upper floors are very nice with baths and flat screen TVs. On a budget holiday this would be good however if you want a great experiance i would recommend elsewhere as the hotel is overown by school children who make a lot of noise.

  • Liked — Good communal areas
  • Disliked — small box rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aydenb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

Booked with IcelandAir.
have read the reviews about the rooms being very tiny. So we opted to stay at the penthouse superior room instead.
Lucky us as the rest of the hotel (nearly all 5 other floors) were taken over by over excited 13-17 teenies from the UK.
This would have been a disaster if we had stayed on any of the lower floors.
The hotel itself is well located between the Laugavur Spa / Park etc.. on the shore line and 20 min walk to Reykjavik Old Town and Kringlan Shopping Center

The Krona is cheap (ish) nowadays, but the prices are still on par or well above the usual - about £3.80 (700ISK) for a pint.
Breakfast (included) is well stocked and served early enough to have your day trips starting on time.

When requested extra pillows or towels to use when we are at the Blue Lagoon or Swimming Pools - it was no problem at all.

Clean hotel too! - every day a new set of towels and linen.

Well recommended for the budget traveler or someone who rather spends their money on something different than just accommodation.

  • Liked — Price & Clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jungleboy_rayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

I was a bit dubious about staying at the Hotel Cabin after reading some of the reviews on trip adviser! I thought the hotel was great, yes the rooms are small but they are comfortable & clean - housekeepers come daily. The receptionists are very helpful & able to advise on trips & local amenities. The breakfast was goodthere is a variety of fruit, ham, cheeses, toast. cereal & juices. There is a garage opposite the hotel which sells crisps, choc etc & has a Subway & Boost bar.
It is about a 10 minute walk to town which isn't too bad as the hotel is priced to accomodate this & taxis are cheap enough if you don't want to walk.
A great hotel for the money.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank clairehBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing