We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty low quality”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Stayed here as park of a package with icelandair. First impressions ok, front desk, dining room and bar area looked ok - but rooms are rubbish. The rooms were absolutely tiny, 2 single beds separated by a tiny desk. staff were not very friendly (not rude either though) they just didn't really make much effort - not even a smile or a 'good morning'. Breakfast was adequate, nothing fancy but did the job. No controller for the TVs in the room (im being pickey now...) but not important you dont visit iceland to watch the telly. Hotel is a good 20 min walk from city centre.

The only thing I liked about the hotel was the lift - super fast!

Last time I was in Reykjavik I stayed in the centerhotel plaza - wish I had gone back there...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,566 - 1,572 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

Our last stay at the Cabin, yes, we came back so that must stay something, was at New Year 2009. Don't expect luxury, whatever that might mean, but you can expect good service, clean, if quite compact, rooms, and fellow residents that will probably share your interest in the natural beauty of Iceland. Well, that's why you are here, is'nt it? The hotel is a brisk 20-minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik, but is on a handy bus route if you want to save time. The view across Reykjavik Bay to Esja isonly across the road, and the Kringlan shopping mall, for hardend shoppers, is also within walking distance. Would we come again? We are already booked for this year!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank kingsgraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I'll get a rollocking from my other half for writing this review but we stayed at The Cabin on our last night in Iceland and I was disappointed.

I think it's a hotel on a budget. Clean enough but basic. Polite enough but impersonal. Uptown but just too far from downtown to walk. It seemed to be a busy hotel but I wouldn't return because of the lack of character. Compared with budget hotels in the US i.e. Holiday Inns, Hamptons etc it didn't hit the mark.

Plus points: Clean, hassle free and with free on-site parking. Negatives for me (and I appreciate they're just my opinions) Small room, traffic noise, gauntlet of smokers clustered around the front doors, bright orange orange "juice", luminous marmalade and coffee that needed a strong coffee to wake it up.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at the Cabin. Had booked a De-luxe room for additional $10 pr night, since the standard rooms are extremely small. Small buffet breakfeast with cereals, bread, ham, cold eggs, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber and fruits. Additional coffee, tea and juice, all included in the room rate. The hotel is a bit away from the city centre, there is about 20 min walk to the central Reykjavik. The hotel are close to the Laugardalslaug swimming pool, hot pots which are open until 22.30 on weekdays, very nice evening activity.
Beware that internet are not included in the room rate!! You will have to buy a ticket at the reception. Wireless connection was bad in my room, which were located in the new section of the hotel.
Remember to aks for a room on the oceanside the view is so much nicer!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIBDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

A clean, no-frills hotel not far away from Reykjavik city centre. Excellent bus connections (bus-stop right outside the hotel). Breakfast is very good, so is the salad bar in the hotel restaurant. Comfortable bed, everything in good working order. Slept like a baby although my room faced the street. Excellent value for money. Friendly staff (no excessive smiling, but polite and helpful).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We only spent one night here before leaving Reykjavik for a tour of Iceland. We knew it was the budget option, and that was fine for what we wanted. Our expectations were low, and therefore exceeded! We had a deluxe room, which was certainly a reasonable size - and the bathroom had a bathtub, which was the only one we saw in Iceland.

The bed was comfortable and we slept well; service was friendly and efficient. The free breakfast provided for deluxe room occupants was better than we expected (although the fruit "juice" was squash).

It's an easy walk into R'vik, and this would be a good base for a stay in the city. Had to laugh though at the mention of ocean views - yes, we could see the lovely bay, but the petrol station and several tall buildings did impinge on the picturesqueness a bit!

All in all, excellent for what it is.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNaturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed in Jan/Feb '09 (the earliest date I could give was Oct 09) so this review is a bit late. I am not sure if it has changed much since then. But I was satisfied with the experience and thought it best to share it.

It's called Hotel Cabin for a reason I think - the room was very much like one you'd get in the cabin of a ship! It was very small and functional, but it was clean, it had a TV, cosy bed and things to store your stuff in. We wanted it as a base and nothing more - we really wanted to see what Iceland had to offer so didn't plan on spending much time there. So it was great for us, but if you want a luxurious hotel or a bit of a treat, you'll be disappointed. My colleague went just after us with his partner and they paid more for the deluxe rooms which he said was worth it, but we were on a budget so this suited us just fine (Iceland is expensive, as I am sure you know). There are no frills or pretensions - you get what you pay for and it was just right for us.

Some rooms don't have outside windows, I think, but ours did, overlooking the snow. In the summer, it's light for much of the time, so that may be a blessing in disguise. I guess you could request one with an outside window?

The breakfast was decent - an all-you-can eat buffet with bread, cereals, cheese, cold meats and cold fruit/salad-type stuff, all seemed fresh. Absolutely fine and we were filled up with food ready for a day ahead.

Reception were helpful. The hotel was a bit of a walk from the centre of Reykjavik - we didn't mind this, we enjoyed the walk in the snow, but if you find it less easy to get around or if the weather is horrible you may want to get a taxi (it was very flat but took us about 20 mins) which could be expensive.

As I said, we were in the small rooms which were tiny, so if you're looking for a luxurious break, then it may not be for you, ditto if you spend a lot of time in your room, but I don't think there's any point in going all the way to Iceland to sit in a hotel - go and explore the fantastic city and beautiful island.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
557 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
397 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
317 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £89 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing