We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book deluxe room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Book deluxe room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed here in August and were very pleased with the hotel. We booked three deluxe rooms, and all of them were large enough, clean, and had a good view of the water and mountains. Even though we arrived early (about 9 am), our rooms were ready. They also told us to go ahead and eat breakfast. We stayed three nights and enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was adequate. The morning we took the early FlyBus they had breakfast set up at 5 am for us before we left for the airport. We took the regular bus from the stop across the street into town, but we probably could have walked. I estimate it is less than a mile. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    776
    637
    196
    106
See reviews for
227
860
185
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
or
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Many people would compare this to a Super 8 in the US, though I think it has an even higher standard. The standard rooms are supposed to be pretty bad, even the staff mentioned this to me. I stayed in a deluxe room which only costs 5 bucks more a night and was well worth it. The rooms and public areas are all modern wood-paneled, in perhaps an IKEA style.

I never had the dinner at the restaurant because it was closed for several days over new years. The breakfast was barely adequate and is exactly the same everyday- I ended up getting bored and going elsewhere by the last few days.

There is actually quite a bit right in the neighborhood for food etc, contrary to what some reviews say. There are two convenience stores and a liquor store, also a bank, less than five minutes walk. Also the subway restaurant. Five minutes away there is a high end burger place along with some shops and a little bit further is Domino's pizza and icelandic fast food chain called Aktu Taktu. Icelandic hot dogs are pretty unique and delicious- if you don't make it to the famous hot dog stand downtown, you can get a decent version at aktu taktu.

The hotel is sort of far from the downtown center and port area, but the shopping street runs from the there more or less in the hotel's direction, so just get used to a little bit of walking and enjoy the sights along the way. A taxi from the far side of downtown to the hotel will cost about 1500 kr or a little more.

Don't believe people who say icelanders are curt or unfriendly. I had many genuine and interesting conversations with people all over the country. Certainly they're not about to invite you home to meet the family, but were you really expecting that. The hotel staff was always effective and friendly as well, although the housekeeping was never leaving the same number of towels etc. Was not charged for early check in even though I offered to pay for it.

The rooms have flat screen tvs, fridge and good bathrooms with consistent strong water of all temps, including very cold which is uncommon in a hotel. Smoking rooms available which also seemed uncommon for Icleand.

Avoid winter whale watch, they wait until the boat leaves to announce that it isn't whale season and you will be lucky to see dolphins. If you don't even see the dolphins they give you a new ticket good for 2 years, but I didn't think it was worth it.

New Years in Reykjavik is spectacular like everyone says. Just get your shopping done during the day because everything does close. There are a couple restaurants open but thats it. Buy your booze inbound at the airport arrival area which is pretty unique. Go to the cathedral where lots of fireworks are set off and there is a good view.

Also you get tax refunds for souvenirs and clothes you buy in the EU and export- and if you buy more than a couple hundred bucks worth AT ONE STORE the airport customs needs to inspect the items and give you a stamp. You MUST do this before you check bags. Though several people tried to explain this to me correctly I still screwed it up- so be forewarned! For purchases with small refund amounts less than 40 bucks or so, you can get the refund without a stamp.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Stayed here as park of a package with icelandair. First impressions ok, front desk, dining room and bar area looked ok - but rooms are rubbish. The rooms were absolutely tiny, 2 single beds separated by a tiny desk. staff were not very friendly (not rude either though) they just didn't really make much effort - not even a smile or a 'good morning'. Breakfast was adequate, nothing fancy but did the job. No controller for the TVs in the room (im being pickey now...) but not important you dont visit iceland to watch the telly. Hotel is a good 20 min walk from city centre.

The only thing I liked about the hotel was the lift - super fast!

Last time I was in Reykjavik I stayed in the centerhotel plaza - wish I had gone back there...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

Our last stay at the Cabin, yes, we came back so that must stay something, was at New Year 2009. Don't expect luxury, whatever that might mean, but you can expect good service, clean, if quite compact, rooms, and fellow residents that will probably share your interest in the natural beauty of Iceland. Well, that's why you are here, is'nt it? The hotel is a brisk 20-minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik, but is on a handy bus route if you want to save time. The view across Reykjavik Bay to Esja isonly across the road, and the Kringlan shopping mall, for hardend shoppers, is also within walking distance. Would we come again? We are already booked for this year!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank kingsgraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

I'll get a rollocking from my other half for writing this review but we stayed at The Cabin on our last night in Iceland and I was disappointed.

I think it's a hotel on a budget. Clean enough but basic. Polite enough but impersonal. Uptown but just too far from downtown to walk. It seemed to be a busy hotel but I wouldn't return because of the lack of character. Compared with budget hotels in the US i.e. Holiday Inns, Hamptons etc it didn't hit the mark.

Plus points: Clean, hassle free and with free on-site parking. Negatives for me (and I appreciate they're just my opinions) Small room, traffic noise, gauntlet of smokers clustered around the front doors, bright orange orange "juice", luminous marmalade and coffee that needed a strong coffee to wake it up.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at the Cabin. Had booked a De-luxe room for additional $10 pr night, since the standard rooms are extremely small. Small buffet breakfeast with cereals, bread, ham, cold eggs, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber and fruits. Additional coffee, tea and juice, all included in the room rate. The hotel is a bit away from the city centre, there is about 20 min walk to the central Reykjavik. The hotel are close to the Laugardalslaug swimming pool, hot pots which are open until 22.30 on weekdays, very nice evening activity.
Beware that internet are not included in the room rate!! You will have to buy a ticket at the reception. Wireless connection was bad in my room, which were located in the new section of the hotel.
Remember to aks for a room on the oceanside the view is so much nicer!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIBDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

A clean, no-frills hotel not far away from Reykjavik city centre. Excellent bus connections (bus-stop right outside the hotel). Breakfast is very good, so is the salad bar in the hotel restaurant. Comfortable bed, everything in good working order. Slept like a baby although my room faced the street. Excellent value for money. Friendly staff (no excessive smiling, but polite and helpful).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing