We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic but does the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very basic but does the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed there for a week. Great location, really close to city centre. Reception staff is really nice and helpful. Breakfast is very basic but tasty. Room was clean. Small bathroom with weird shower and no ventilaton but wasn't a huge issue. Generally hotel does the job if you are there to visit Iceland. Will stay there again if come back one day. Just one issue: constantly banging main door. Difficult to sleep in the morning because of noise.......

Room Tip: Ask for room from the court yard side as it's the other way from main entrance to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolPawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    88
    107
    57
    54
See reviews for
31
116
76
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but the beds are comfortable enough and it is clean. Siggi, who is downstairs most nights, is excellent and particularly helpful.

The only problem I have with the hotel is this: breakfast is generally included, however, it runs from 8-10, and only cereal is available before that. Most tour companies will pick you up at 8 or even 7:30, particularly for the longer tours. Luckily, there is a corner shop if you turn right out of the hotel, and turn left at the first junction. There,you can get fruit, basic cold meats and bread if you prefer that sort of start to your day.

Location-wise, you will have no complaints. The Metropolitan is just about 5 minutes' walk away from the famous Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur hotdog stand, and a couple more minutes' walk from the new Harpa building. (When you are on your way from the airport to the hotel, ask whoever is driving you to point out the hot dog stand, so you can find your way back to it from the hotel.) The Sun voyager statue is about 10 minutes' walk away from the Harpa Building, so a few of the photo op spots are nearby. Hallgrímskirkja Church is also not very far away.

One of the major pluses of this hotel is that because it is quite central, many of the tour buses begin picking up passengers here, which means you get your choice of seats on the bus. We went just before the start of the high season, so I'm not sure how this will work out when the tourist traffic increases.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanneDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDAHO FALLS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spartan, but very clean. Easy parking right in front of hotel. Location is within walking distance of all downtown sights. Simple, but good breakfast included. Check on the church, but don't feel obligated to buy elevator ticket (No one checks you!) Dine at Cafe Loki for Icelandic dishes at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rent a car at airport, way cheaper that shuttles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Nice good value budget hotel. Clean and well decorated, warm, comfy beds and friendly staff. Good position close to centre and harbour and parking. Breakfast is coffee/tea, juice, cereal, toast, cheese, cold meats, cucumber/tomato in a light pleasant civilised dining room. A bit like having breakfast athome. Good bathroom/enthusiastic shower. Party was 66 year old dad and 28 year old son.

Iceland has a reputation for being expensive - but the Icelanders seem fair and pleasant in their outlook and dealings and do not seem to be wanting to nickel and dime travellers.

Just be happy to have any room and make the best of it. It will not be raining in. If you want a balcony - try Mallorca.

Room Tip: Probably all good rooms. Plenty of exercise during the day and beer and wine in the evening with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed in March. Hotel adequate,warm and friendly. More like a hostel but we got used to it and found staff helpful especially Jesus and Sirund who helped us 2 pensioners immensely..Breakfast plentiful cold buffet style. Would use this hotel again because of location and price.always felt safe even though the area looked run down. When using the lift stand on toes to cushion the stop!!! My Sister and I found it hilarious. We called it Fawlty Towers but in the nicest way. Rose

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingrose377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

After reading the reviews I can only say I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, warm and provided all that we needed for the short times we were in it. The staff could not have been more helpful, booking our trips, return bus home. Breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for a days exploring. The excellent value more than makes up for any defects its not posh but its definitely fit for purpose in a brilliant location just a very short walk and you are in the city center.
The restaurants are expensive but we found some lovely places to eat. The Icelantic people are very laid back, friendly and helpful. The only tip I would give is if you are going to book a trip to see the Northern lights do it the first night you are there as they are not always visible and if you should be unlucky your ticket is valid the whole time you are there. (we had to go 3 times before they made an appearance.)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breesy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

After reading through several reviews of this hotel my sister and I (both senior citizens) were wondering what we would find. The hotel really is no more than a hostel but on saying that , the location was excellent, the bed comfortable and the breakfast good as far as we were concerned.
Don't expect a hot breakfast but there was plenty to eat. After some intitial small problems we liked it.
The staff were helpful especially Jesus and Sirund? the young lady who was usually there at breakfast,
I would use the Metropolitan again mainly because of value and location but if you are expecting a `posh' place go somewhere else!
The outside and street are a bit tatty but it was quiet and we felt safe.

Room Tip: we paid extra for a triple, it gave us a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#41 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Ranargata 4A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel City)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel lies on a quiet street, just a 2-minute walk from Ingolfstorg Square (city center). It offers free in-room Wi-Fi and functional rooms close to Reykjavik’s shopping, restaurants and cultural attractions.A TV, work desk and radio can be found in each guest room. All have a private bathroom with either a shower or bath.Every morning Metropolitan serves a continental breakfast. Staff will gladly recommend area restaurants for other meals.The popular Kolaportid Flea Market is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The harbour, where whale safaris depart regularly, is located 400 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing