We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“very good hotel for the price”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I just got back from spending 8 days at the Leifur Eiriksson. As people have said this is a very basic hotel but we didn't go to Iceland to spend time in the hotel. The hotel rooms were kept very clean and the people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. They arranged several tours for us and made dinner reservations. They have free wi-fi. It didnt work in our room but did in the breakfast area.
While there we went to the Blue Lagoon, the Jokulsarlon Lagoon(boat ride among the ice bergs), the Golden Circle and we snorkeled between the Northamerican plates and the Eurasian ones.
You can walk to anything in Reykjavik from the hotel and find your way back because you are across the street from the Hallgrimskirkja church which is the tallest building around.
One word of caution it is very expensive to eat in Iceland or to buy anything.

Room Tip: The hotel is in two buildings. You might want to ask for a room in the main one where the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    598
    240
    71
    37
See reviews for
166
683
147
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in Reykjavik over the years, but this is the one I always come back to! Situated right opposite the impressive Hallgrimskirkja which can be used as a good landmark if you get lost as it is visible from all over Reykjavik! Just down the road is the excellent Indian restaurant The India Mango. The staff here are amazingly friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in the bar area and free coffee/tea/juice is available all day. The rooms are fairly small, but very clean - some looking out towards Hallgrimskirkja and others with a small balcony. Parking is available in the car-park near the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewManston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel, centrally located, is situated in a quiet zone and and very easy to locate, because it is right in front of the cathedral, the tallest building in Reykjavik. The rooms are basic, yet comfortable, clean and functional. Heating works perfectelly.
Life at the hotel is simple, you feel like home. Free wi-fi internet access at the reception area, all-day free coffee, tea, chocolate and orange drink at a buffet basis. Breakfast fair, with all you need. Family-run type hotel with an unexcedible customer care. I need to print the boarding passes to the check-in of the return flight, so they made me entre to the reception desk work area, access directly from the hotel computer to Icelandair web site and print it at the hotel printer. Simple and easy, no problem! All the excursions, car hire and all the activities arranged by reception desk at very good prices!
When i'll be back, I'll undoubtly stay here again!
When

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel service was fantastic! There was free juice, tea and coffee. They had some of the most delicious waffles I have had in my life! They had a regular soup of the day - a tasty Icelandic meat soup, for which I would love to find the recipe! I would definitely recommend it for a taste of authentic Icelandic food! The rooms were very tidy and neat, they were well cleaned. The room was initially missing towels when we arrived but it did not take the staff long at all to sort that out. The breakfast was basic, consisting of bread, ham, cheese, fruit, and the previously mentioned waffles!

The location of the hotel is excellent, a mere two minutes walk from the main street and right in front of a beautiful church.

I would recommend this hotel for both couples and families travelling to Iceland. A very enjoyable holiday!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Timur_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed the Hotel for a week or so, and we are happy with our stay and will definetly stay at Hotel Leifur again because 1) Good value for the service we got- helpful and positive staff. Many thanks to the Hotel manager Thor. 2) nice reception area.. good area to have coffee or tea while waiting for pick ups or just having something at the Hotel bar. 3) Rooms were clean and came with a bathroom, and a quite sleep.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank torqu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Upon arrival the hotel staff were very helpful, carrying the bags to the room and answering a few questions about the Reykjavik area. It is a family hotel and it shows, the staff are very nice and are willing to help with anything that they can. There is free tea/coffee/juice in the reception area as well as free wi-fi which was nice.
The rooms quite clean and standard, including a bathroom.

Overall i enjoyed my stay at the Hotel, would recommend it to anybody for a comfortable stay and good location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymagma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We chose this hotel on the price as we stayed 6 nights. We were given a room on the top floor with a small extra sitting room which made al the difference to our comfort! We liked the hotel because it is small,family run and friendly. It is well located and everything in the old centre is within walking distance. Staff were very friendly and made good suggestions for restaurants and activites. They also were fun and displayed good sence of humor. There is no lift so be prepared to carry your suitcase up stairs. Alternatively ask for a ground floor room. Ask for view of church!

Room Tip: 4th floor with small sitting room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandy071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,204 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,653 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing