We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base to explore Iceland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is ideally located, easy to find, comfortable, close to the town centre and friendly. What more could you ask for?!
there is no getting away from the fact that this isnt a luxury hotel, but it is a friendly family run place, and quite frankly I would rather give my money to a smaller traditional hotel, than a faceless and bland, expensive chain.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. En suite bathroom was also immaculate.
At risk of repeating what has been said below, breakfast was great and the choice was fine.

Basically, this hotel is super cute and a perfect base for exploring out and about. A ten minute walk from the centre, near to some great food places, and near a super market. My room over looked the front and the big church and I wasn't bothered by any noise or traffic. (it isn't a main road at the front anyway)
Let's face it, if you go to Reykjavik, you go to explore and see the amazing things it has to offer. You don't go there to spend all day in your hotel room.
I would 100% stay in this hotel again and I'm a picky bugger!

Room Tip: I booked this through an Icelandair package with transfers and a Northern Lights tour. Next time I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent three nights there recently . Excellent location right opposite the Hallgrimskirkja, which looked wonderful especially at night when lit up, very easy to spot the location, very central for the town though a little hike back up to the hotel.
I went with a friend to see the northern lights, on arrival we were informed we were in the 'new building' opposite' which did look a bit like a hostel inside 4 floors and no lift, my friends room looked out onto a brick wall and my carpet was very worn. Asked about changing rooms, the staff were very helpful but only had a twin available, although a nice room was quite noisy due to being on the ground floor and near the road with people walking by at night and also a street light shinning in most of the night.
On a positive level, the rooms were very clean and the beds comfy. The breakfasts were excellent continental style, plenty of choice including fruit and waffles, also drinks were available all day.
The owner and staff couldn't have been more helpful and offered to pay for a meal one evening , plus putting us up in an apartment for one night.
Overall I think the hotel is good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Leifur Eiriksson in Reykjavik.

The location is wonderful and we were able to walk to all the city attractions. The Reception staff were all extremely helpful with the tours we carried out and when we left a mobile phone in the room, were brilliant in returning it to us. The hotel was comfortable and very clean. The continental breakfast provided all that we wanted and drinks were available at all times with no charge.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have read the negative reviews but I have to say you get what you pay for. I presume most people find this hotel via a package site. I found it through Icelandair. If you think about the amount I paid, just over £430 each, which included flights, transfers and two trips ( worth over £150 if separately paid for) I don't know why people are moaning!. The staff are lovely and will do anything to help you. Breakfast has lovely muesli and yogurt ( and the usual continental style). Our rooms were very basic, but my single was perfect for what I needed and was a base and somewhere to sleep. It is literally a walk down the street to the shops and restaurants. And its not a drain problem as another reviewer wrote.... you are in Iceland.... it is full of sulphur!! When I come back I will stay here again. It's cheap and cheerful and if you are using it as a base then its perfect. Don't expect luxury if you're not paying luxury prices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulReseigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Our booking as two friends on a Northern Lights trip had been confirmed for some months as a twin room but when we arrived we were told we were given two singles - worse, they were in the annexe. First impressions were not good as the front door needed painting and the door alongside had graffiti daubed on it. The rooms were tiny - like in a care home or student halls of residence. The smell of drains suggested more problems than just the sulphur in the atmosphere. There was a plug hanging off the wall in the corridor and after a while the overhead lights in one of the rooms did not work. To be fair we were given a kettle, tea and coffee and some crackers to appease us but it was a very disappointing start to a holiday we had been looking forward to. We were moved the next day to a room in the main building. It was under street level and noisy but a definite improvement on the earlier rooms where we had been awoken by the knocking radiators.
The staff were excellent and went out of their way to help us. The breakfast was fine although only one toaster worked and that was for only two of the four slots. Tea and coffee always available was a nice touch.
Location was spot on - near the famous church and walkable into Reykjavik itself.
We had an excellent weekend and were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights and to visit the Blue Lagoon but,come on owners, spend some money - not much needed to create a better impression - or to get toasters in working order.
Would stay elsewhere on a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doilikeholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The minute I set my foot in the lobby, I has second thoughts about the hotel. There was no elevator, the rooms were too small, and the shower was inadequate.
The breakfast was OK, but the room was too crowded.
The only good thing about the hotel was it location right across the Hallgrimskirkja.
I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annikki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Cons: No tea/coffee making facilities in room
Nowhere to put suitcase,though room big enough to have a stand
No room safe
Watered-down 'orange juice'. Just orange-coloured water really.
Noisy late night
In an attic room,no view
Pros: Free coffee/tea machine,but in a separate building to us!
Decent breakfast,excluding orange-coloured water!
Good size room,clean and warm with comfortable beds.
Friendly helpful staff
Excellent location.

We took a weekend package with Icelandair,so hotel was included.It says it's 3-star,but we would rate it as 2-star on the room,5-star on location! The whole deal only cost us £650,with a Northern Lights Tour thrown in (yes,we did see the Dancing Ladies!)so we have no complaints !! First time to Iceland-won't be the last,but will probably pay more for central better hotel next time.

Room Tip: Higher room in main building,not annexe,facing fantastic Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
894 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,704 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,786 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,255 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £107 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing