We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location is wonderful”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Perfect location in the main part of Reykjavik, opposite Hallgrimskirkja church so you will never get lost as this is visible wherever you are in Reykjavik. The room was clean, small but cosy and warm. It's a family run hotel so nothing big and fancy but just what we needed as a base whilst we explored Iceland. Breakfast was plentiful with basic food, coffee and orange juice wasn't the best but chocolate and tea were available. The staff are helpful and will book any excursions for you.

Room Tip: our room was in main part of hotel, they have an annexe building across the road but don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 161Kaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    598
    240
    71
    37
See reviews for
166
683
147
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hemingby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights here. It was perfect for our needs-- the rooms were warm, the beds spotless, and nothing too much trouble for the staff. True, some aspects were a little threadbare, but it was a great place to pop in and out of when exploring Iceland. Plenty of choice for breakfast, including make-your-own-waffles! The constant free coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine was a bonus.

Room Tip: Staff were flexible as to rooms-- we had been allotted 3 singles but asked on arrival if we could ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittlefistit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Forget the negative reviews as others have said, if you are here for a sight seeing city break and are going to treat this place as a base to do this from its location is perfect an facilities are perfectly adequate also, it's clean, friendly and comfortable with staff only to happy to help with excursion bookings etc.....we would happily stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was my second stay here and still perfect for us. Great location close to everything but quiet at night. Rooms are a fine size although I'm still amazed at how they fit so much into such a tiny bathroom.

It is a basic hotel but with breakfast included the price is better than almost anywhere else in the city, including some of the hostels.

Front desk staff are generally great and happy to book trips, restaurant reservations and general help, but some can be a bit scatty - he'd forgotten to arrange our pickup for the airport transfer but one phonecall at 5am later and the bus was on its way. However, five minutes later and we'd have had a very expensive taxi ride as we were the last on and a special detour was made...

Would stay again with friends who are happy with the hostel type vibe, but those used to slightly more upmarket accommodation might want to try elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is ideally located, easy to find, comfortable, close to the town centre and friendly. What more could you ask for?!
there is no getting away from the fact that this isnt a luxury hotel, but it is a friendly family run place, and quite frankly I would rather give my money to a smaller traditional hotel, than a faceless and bland, expensive chain.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. En suite bathroom was also immaculate.
At risk of repeating what has been said below, breakfast was great and the choice was fine.

Basically, this hotel is super cute and a perfect base for exploring out and about. A ten minute walk from the centre, near to some great food places, and near a super market. My room over looked the front and the big church and I wasn't bothered by any noise or traffic. (it isn't a main road at the front anyway)
Let's face it, if you go to Reykjavik, you go to explore and see the amazing things it has to offer. You don't go there to spend all day in your hotel room.
I would 100% stay in this hotel again and I'm a picky bugger!

Room Tip: I booked this through an Icelandair package with transfers and a Northern Lights tour. Next time I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent three nights there recently . Excellent location right opposite the Hallgrimskirkja, which looked wonderful especially at night when lit up, very easy to spot the location, very central for the town though a little hike back up to the hotel.
I went with a friend to see the northern lights, on arrival we were informed we were in the 'new building' opposite' which did look a bit like a hostel inside 4 floors and no lift, my friends room looked out onto a brick wall and my carpet was very worn. Asked about changing rooms, the staff were very helpful but only had a twin available, although a nice room was quite noisy due to being on the ground floor and near the road with people walking by at night and also a street light shinning in most of the night.
On a positive level, the rooms were very clean and the beds comfy. The breakfasts were excellent continental style, plenty of choice including fruit and waffles, also drinks were available all day.
The owner and staff couldn't have been more helpful and offered to pay for a meal one evening , plus putting us up in an apartment for one night.
Overall I think the hotel is good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Leifur Eiriksson in Reykjavik.

The location is wonderful and we were able to walk to all the city attractions. The Reception staff were all extremely helpful with the tours we carried out and when we left a mobile phone in the room, were brilliant in returning it to us. The hotel was comfortable and very clean. The continental breakfast provided all that we wanted and drinks were available at all times with no charge.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,204 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,654 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing