We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just spent three nights there from the 10th December 2013. Excellent location, opposite a fabulous cathedral and just around the corner of the main shopping area. Double room was fairly basic but good. In the breakfast area was coffee, tea, cappuccino etc all free and on tap.
Breakfast was help yourself continental type but still good.
Staff very helpful, I just asked if they could print out my on-line check in and it was done.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We booked this hotel on the strength of other trip advisors . I agree with most comments but had an issue with the rooms . The First room we were shown to had a double bed but only a single quilt for us to share! The receptionist was not able to provide us with a double quilt but gave as another room . This one also had a double bed but only a single quilt . Third time lucky a double room with 2 single quilts . The room was lacking in drawers so you could not unpack . Nowhere to hang anything up . A very tiny wardrobe . Nowhere to put the suitcases and because they provide tea and coffee there are no facilities in the room . The bed was just about o.k but gave me extreme back pain which I am only just recovering from . One very tired pillow each and one cushion each . On the plus side it was clean although very small . The Hotel needs some money spending on the rooms otherwise people will vote with their feet. .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for a three nighter mid november.
Booked through Iceland air.

Had no idea how PERFECT the location of this hotel would be. (Especially compared to some of the other out of town budget hotels- on the drop off route some other hotels had NOTHING around them) It overlooks a square with the fabulous Hallgrimskirkja directly opposite and is in an elevated position so you can see the whole of Reykjavik if you are on the right sight of the building. A 10 minute walk down wonderful streets full of interesting/designer shops and eateries takes you right into the heart of the city.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, booked trips for you and give you info about the city.

The rooms were warm, clean and had a wonderful simple scandinavian style. Ask to stay in the main building. Preferably the top floor. (although there is no lift). Hot water comes from directly under the earth and is therefore quite sulphurous but you get used to this- it's the same all over the country. Bathrooms were 'wet room style'. Bed was ridiculously comfy. 'Continental' Breakfast was fun for me purely because I could make heart shaped waffles in a waffle iron...

Being a London based coffee snob I missed a decent coffee- however, the 24hr hot drinks machine sufficed until I could pop down the road and get a decent cup.

I will book to stay here again. I came to explore the country, not be pampered and never leave the hotel. This place is a perfect base, comfy, clean, warm, and you can always find it because it is opposite the dominant architectural landmark of the city. (Useful when drunk.)

Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterIvan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here with a friend for 3 nights at end of October. Ideally situated close to centre of city coffee /tea available 24 hours,rooms clean and warm, staff extremely helpful and friendly. When we return to Iceland this wiil be our first choice hotel. Thank you to all the staff at Liefur Eiriksson for making our holiday so memorable .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claychalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed in the annex part of this hotel which was booked as a package through Iceland Air. If I was to return, I would probably ask for a room in the main part rather than the annex, purely for convenience. If you want a quick drink, you need to get your coat on and walk across the road rather than just nipping down from the same building. The hotel is ideally located for looking around Reykjavik on foot. The hotel offers free hot drinks 24/7 and has Wi-Fi. The room was adequate for our needs, clean and warm, the bed was comfortable and you even have a great view of the Hallgrimskirkja, which is also good for finding your way back to the hotel, as you can see this landmark from most areas in Reykjavik. Continental breakfast was self service and included, cereal, fruit, yogurt, various breads, cheese, meat, eggs, fish and waffles. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and would definitely stay there again if we were to return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Hallgrimskirkja and in the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiggyschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was a 3 night Northern Lights break booked with IcelandAir. The hotel was ideally placed for 2 single women wanting an inexpensive stay to see the sights of Rejkjavik. We had ground floor rooms overlooking the wonderful Hallgrimskirkja. The hotel is as other reviewers have said basic, but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the hotel staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. The free hot drinks and biscuits available 24 hours a day are a lovely touch. We found there was always plenty for us at breakfast, and the choice was good. Not 5 star prices or facilities, but certainly 5 star value.

Room Tip: no lift so ask for a room on ground or 1st floor if you have difficulty with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is an ideal hotel if you are looking for an inexpensive stay in wonderful Reykjavik. As two single women it suited us perfectly. I would not recommend it for a romantic break, though. Also I couldn't get a decent coffee from the machine - everything tasted of chocolate. If you need a cup to get you started in the morning you should count on going elsewhere. BTW, coffee at the Blue Lagoon café was exceptionally good. Would certainly stay here next time, assuming I am not on a romantic break.

Room Tip: Front rooms have magnificent views of the cathedral. No lift, so if you have problems climbing stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olwenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,020 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 55 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Hotel
#40 of 55 in Reykjavik
841 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,383 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#12 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoroustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £121 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing