We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but just too basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff but just too basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The location, opposite the stunning church and near shops and restaurants, was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Bus pick-ups from outside were really convenient and arranged by the staff very efficiently and helpfully. But the beds in the twin room were too small and the shower room was tiny. We like basic hotels for city breaks as we spend so little time in them and don't want to pay for facilities we just won't use but the room was just too small and too Spartan for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    564
    229
    70
    37
See reviews for
156
648
138
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent three nights here over a weekend. We arrived around 8am from the airport and were invited to have some breakfast (included in the hotel cost) while our room was prepared. Accodomations in this hotel are not palatial but they are more than adequate for travellers looking for a clean, comfortable (but small) room to sleep in between trips around the city and further. The location is excellent and you will always be able to find your way back thanks to proximity to Hallgrimskirkja. The smell of sulphur is strong after showering and lingers, so be aware of this. It's just the way the water is in Iceland. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and would book here again. For coffee lovers, the excellent Reykjavik Roasters is about a block or so away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham by Sea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of Jan 2014 on an Icelandair holiday which included trips to the Blue Lagoon and The Northern Lights - which seemed to be switched off on our trip! We also booked the Golden Circle with Iceland Guided Tours which was much better then the others as we were in a smaller coach (14 people) and the tour guide (Dooley) was very informative both about the attractions and the history of the Icelandic countryside.
As other reviewers have said, this hotel is a bit small, but is ideally placed for a short stay. The staff were all very helpful and it was great to have access to tea/coffee/chocolate at any time of the day or night. We were in the annexe just across the road but our room had a wonderful view of the cathedral.Twin beds seem to be normal on the continent and our room was warm and comfortable. Breakfast again was what we have come to expect on the continent but with the possibility of making your own pancakes of you were a bit adventurous!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabbit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is located right across from the Hallgrimskirkja, or modernist church, which sits high on a hill in downtown Reykjavik. The location guarantees you need only look up to find your way back to the hotel, although it also guarantees you will be waken in the late morning by the church bells which ring every 15 minutes after 10 am or so. This should not be a problem unless you arrived on a late flight or stayed out late searching for the northern lights or spent all night drinking at one of the many pubs.

The staff are very helpful arranging tours and keeping track of pickup times, and the breakfast is quite substantial, including pickled fish and various spreads for your bread and crackers. There is a coffee/chocolate machine and an orange juice machine available all day for free, but you get what you pay for as the quality is poor. There is wifi available in the room but for better reception (which tends to fade in and out) head to the reception area or better yet at one of the many coffeehouses outside.

My room was located in another building, which was inconvenient given the freezing cold temperatures in January. My room was small, with a smallish bathroom which had a curtain to cordon off the shower spray from going on the toilet or the sink, hence the shower water covered the entire floor but this was soon drained and evaporated given how dry it was in the room. So dry I had to open the window, which allowed the noises from the outside sidewalk to enter. From my room 111 I could see beyond people's feet on the sidewalk and towards the church (I was below street-level). The shower water was sufficiently hot and the radiator had enough heat, and the maid brought a fresh towel on the third day although I did not request one. The bed disappointed, as it was two narrow single beds put together using single sheets and a single duvet - I might as well have been sleeping on one single as the gap in the middle was too disconcerting.

All in all, a fairly pleasant 3-night stay and good value if you booked a package deal to include flights, hotel, transfers and tour. I would not pay anywhere near rack rates, but this hotel makes a decent addition to a package tour.

Room Tip: 111-114 are below street-level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Unless you plan to stay for longer than the 4 days we did,trouble yourself no more and find yourself a deal which includes this hotel.What i mean is if you are staying anywhere for say a week or more,then other criteria comes into play.This is the best place to stay for sure for location.Wherever you find yourself walking the streets of Reykjavik you only need to look up at the skyline and find the towering steeple of the Cathedral to guide you back.[Your right opposite].Believe me everything is adequate in this Hotel for a 3/4 day trip.Very obliging,very helpful reception desk whoever is on it.Everything you want or plan to do can go via reception.They network very well with all trip organizers so my advice would be wait till you get there to Iceland to organize trips {i imagine this would be the same in most hotels as once you have done "Northern Lights trip in the evening","Whale watching",,"Golden Circle nature highlights bus tour" and the Blue Lagoon,there is little else to do} That is unless you hire a car.I would not suggest you need to hire one unless your staying for a week or more.Investigate car hiring though as there are areas you cannot legally enter due to danger of driving on ice etc.[mainly in the interior areas].Going back to the "trips" i would recommend doing all 4 as quite an experience to do these.Iceland isnt cheap.You can pay £3 for coffee,£5 for pint of draftbeer,a basic pasta dish will be £10 plus.The trips will set you back as well.We took £500 plus in Sterling and spent the lot.Dont worry about taking Krona as everywhere including taxi will accept an Explorer card which you can get at the airport and top up at banks whilst there.[and you get a real exchange rate with this card].To work out roughly what you are spending the following may be useful ,it was for us.250 Krona is worth approx £1.32,500 is £2.65,1000 is £5.29,5000 is £26.47.10000 is £52.95.Last thing,is that in the Winter months there is very little daylight.We returned on 24th Jan and at 10-30 in the morning still dark with sunsetting at 4ish.Enjoy Iceland,its a very "different" place to visit and hope these comments help.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view of surrounding countryside as the location of the Hotel is higher in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

V good and respectable hotel. Stayed in a twin room on the fourth floor at the top of the hotel. Room was big enough for 2 people, it wasn't too big nor too small. Bathroom was adequate and served the purpose well enough. The room was nice and warm, we were there in January and had no issues at all with the room being too cold. WIFI worked well too. Nice touch having free coffee, tea etc... in the breakfast area. the location of the hotel was great- having great access to the harbour area, restaurants galore big plus! Only slight downside was the breakfast area was big enough on all but one day, when it got very busy and had to wait to find a table/ seating area. breakfast was decent but no hot offering like eggs for example. overall good hotel for a few nights!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cianbh1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel ticks most of the boxes. Our room was quite small but OK for us. It was warm, clean and comfortable. Sky channels on the TV and wifi available. Coffee, tea making was in the cafe area, free of charge for 24 hours. Hot chocolate was very welcome on our December trip. Situated dead opposite the beautiful cathedral and at the end of the popular shopping area. Continental breakfasts proved adequate. All the staff we met proved to be very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor can suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotfeat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing