We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Staff,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff,”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel, the location is great next to the cathedral which is always easy to find.
After a long day a lift would have been welcome and the rooms were very compact. That aside the staff were friendly and very helpful. We used the meeting room with free hot and soft drinks quite a lot as our group gathered and dispersed
The tours picked us up and dropped off at the front door, but this maybe true of all hotels in Reykjavik
Great for a short stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    582
    234
    70
    37
See reviews for
159
670
141
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here earlier this week for three nights. The staff were extremely helpful, the hotel was spotless. Our room was a corner room in the eaves of the roof, which made an already small room even smaller, however, that said, it was neat, clean and well looked after during our stay, room 402. We had lovely views over the church and out to the snow covered mountains. Just round the corner was the main street, so easy access to all restaurants and bars, and of course shops.
All in all, a good base from which to visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on an Icelandair deal. Hotel is basic but clean, warm, with great staff.
We had room 202, on the corner. Tiny bathroom but really good shower....we've stayed in 5 star hotels whose showers couldn't compare. We had an issue with it flooding on our first day but it was sorted as soon as we reported it, so top marks there. I've read the earlier reviews and the breakfast restaurant is a delightful, bright area with free tea and coffee, 24hrs a day. It is certainly not dark and dingy as one reviewer stated!! The hot chocolate on tap 24hrs is better than some top coffee shops serve up. There's 2 waffle making machines in use at breakfast..yummy.
Cornflakes, muesli and granola. Yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese , boiled eggs, hams. Different breads for toasting, jams, marmalade, peanut butter....I mean what more do you need from a complimentary breakfast.....brilliant.
The girls behind the desk were knowledgeable and always helpful.
It's location is it's prize....opposite the Lutheran Church which is stunning outside and in. Try to visit when the organist is practising as an extra treat.
All in all a good wee hotel.....it is what it is.....3 star but you get your money's worth

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flutterbyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

just returned from Reykjavik, we stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Leifur Eiriksson. We stayed in room 212 and was pleasantly surprised to find it was larger than we thought after reading previous revierws. There was nice white clean towels and bedding. The bathroom was small but we did not have any problems with it.The hotel was basic but clean and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was adequate. Hot and cold drink available free 24hrs a day, which was very welcoming when coming in from the cold. The hotel faces a church which is a fantastic land mark, you will never lose your bearings. We only had one problem whilst we were there and that was our transfer back to the airport. ? wether it was communication problems but we asked the receptionist to book it, they said they had but it did not turn up. Bit stressful at the end of a lovely break, but we did get to the airport in time and arrived safely home in England. Even with this I would still give the hotel a "good service" rating, the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: 212 faces the church, quite a large room for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilmaandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A Great Hotel in a wonderful location opposite the Hallgrimskirja Cathedral, so its impossible to loose your hotel and its within a very short walk from downtown Reykjavik.

Basic but very clean and comfortable rooms with everything you need for a short break in Iceland, all the rooms have showers only and the first time you use it you get a shock the first time you use it as the water smells of sulphur then you remember that your in Iceland and this is the norm.

The hotel offers a very good continental breakfast including make your own waffles, great fun and they taste delicious to, While they hot drinks and juice available all day to residents is a wonderful additional service.

Reception staff a friendly and very efficient, and cannot do enough for guests.

We stayed in room 411 in the annex which has a T fall roof so you have to be careful when moving around, but the view through the skylights more than made up for any inconvenience.
Note this room is on the 4th Floor and the hotel has no lift so be prepared to walk up 8 flights of stairs, but if we come back to Reykjavik we would stay at the same hotel and ask for the same room if possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are small and quiet, but as there is no lift if you have mobility problems ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingman2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel although overbooked and we had to go to a nearby hotel on our first night but they had a room ready for us the next morning , the room was small but spotless and cleaned every day , as most others say the breakfast is great and really sets you up for the day the 24 hour tea and coffee is very much appreciated , handy too for nearby shops and restaurants would definately use again for a short break and would avoid the big name hotels as they tend to be a bit out of town

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Functional Mini Hotel B&B. Clean rooms and all fixtures worked. Breakfast is of a continental style, would say if you are looking for a cooked breakfast go into town. Staff are very welcoming and are on hand to help with your needs if it be extra bedding or a help with your luggage. The winning point of this Mini Hotel B&B is location and you are a 10 minute walk from the town all the bars and restaurants. Don't expect the Ritz but for a clean place to hang your hat after doing your Northern Lights / Blue Lagoon trips it's well worth it. The only thing I would have hopped for was a safety deposit box option either in the room or at the front desk. Other than that it's a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERDORMOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing