We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$443
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveller rating
485
658
261
71
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
658
261
71
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree hot drinksno liftgreat locationmain buildingopposite the churchnorthern lightscoffee and hot chocolatewaffle makerbeautiful churchtop floorblue lagoonshort breakbreadwet roommake your own wafflesbreakfast roombig church
Filter
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights on a break with Icelandair.
Things we liked:
Great location, just a short walk from the main streets.
Decent continental breakfast.
Coffee/tea/water facilities in the lounge area.
Helpful staff.
Seemed very good value- we got this as part of a break also including flights.
Things we didn't like:
Internet connection was intermittent.
Room fairly basic, but it was clean and had a little balcony with a nice view.
No lift.
Overall, we thought this was a good basic hotel perfect for a short break. Would definitely stay again if we were to return Iceland.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on an Iceland Air whale watching package short break. Check in was quick. We stayed in room 407, on the top floor - no lift, but we travel light, so had no problem with our bags The room was quite small and basic, but clean and the bed was comfortable. I think it was two twins zipped together, and we had 2 separate duvets, but that worked out fine (no duvet snatching by hubby, for once!). The ceiling sloped quite steeply, and hubby had to stoop to get round the bed, but it wasn't too much of an issue, although somone taller may have had problems sitting up in bed. The bathroom was small, but clean. It's like a wet room, make sure that the shower head remains over the drain hole, or it can get a bit flooded.

The breakfast was included, and consisted of cereals, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, crispbreads, fish, bread/toast, and batter to make your own fresh waffles. There is a hot drinks machine, orange squash machine and water (still and sparkling) available 24/7. The breakfast room doubles as a lounge, and it was nice to come in after a day out, chill out with a coffee and a chat with fellow travellers about our excursions. This made for a very friendly family feeling. There was no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, but there was no problem taking a mug up from downstairs. Other reviewers have mentioned about dirty crockery being left out. Yes, there is a sign up asking you to put the used crockery on a tray, but that is really not hard to do, and no different from cafes that ask you to return a tray to a rack. This hotel is not pretending to be anything other than what it is : a budget hotel, offering a clean and reasonably priced base for your holiday. The staff are all friendly and helpful, I think they are all one family. Wifi was free, was poor connection in our room, but no problem connecting in the lounge/breakfast room

The day before we were due to leave, we had an e-mail from Iceland Air that their pilots were going on strike, so they had booked us on an earlier flight with another airline. there were about 8 travellers at the hotel affected by this. The staff were able to arrange the pick up by the airbus, and even provided us with a breakfast at 0330! Great service I feel.

The location is great, opposite the famous Hallgrimskirja cathedral, which is visible from most points in the city, so you can't really get lost. It is a short stroll from the main city centre. I would certainly stay here again on my next trip to this fantastic country

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theatrephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a great place to stay with a fantastic bedroom view of the Church,staff were very nice,bedrooms were very comfortable.
the dining area was clean & tidy & the breakfast was ample with as much hot drinks as you could drink that was available 24/7.
Yes, you have to clear your own plates,no big deal,there were a few guests who thought they were excluded from this task but the receptionist soon sorted any left by lazy guests.
The location could not be better with just a short walk into town.
If we ever return to this beautiful country we will certainly be using this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 306 was great,fantastic view of the Church.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejones_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights 25/28th April 2014. The hotel is perfect for getting around the city. As others have said the staff are very friendly and will do your flight check in and print your boarding cards for you. The rooms are average size, clean but the only extra was a small TV. The twin narrow beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side. We found the best way to shower, and keep the floor dry, was to get wet, turn off the shower, wash, and the turn on shower again to rinse off the soap. As we felt unable to use our travel kettle because of the sulphur smell in the water, the free tee, coffee and orange squash was very welcome and a definitive plus for the hotel. Breakfast was ok but not what we would be used to, but then it was our first trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredBirmingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was a great base for our trip to Iceland. By Icelandic standards it wasn't expensive, it have fantastic friendly staff, included breakfast, free convenient parking and free coffee and tea 24/7.
The room itself was all we needed, yes it could have had a better shower but for the money we aren't complaining.
We don't go on holiday for the hotel itself, we go to see the place so if you are someone who wants a really upmarket hotel our reviews wouldn't be for you. If ,on the other hand ,you want good value for money so do we.
We would definitely go back

Room Tip: I often book a hotel through a booking website and then email the hotel direct to ask for a specific room / view etc. In this case we wanted a view of the Hallgrimskirkja and thats exactly what we got. Delightted.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shonaf186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews