We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but oh so friendley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“small but oh so friendley”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms are very small & dated.
They are hot all the time due to natural heating systems from the ground which is free to the Icelandic people. This causes the hot water to smell like eggs..
The staff could not do more to help, from booking trips to your booking in for your flight home.
The manager even let us use his computer to sort out a trip that we booked in England.
A good base for the town & the trips.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    589
    238
    70
    37
See reviews for
162
676
144
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent couple of nights in this hotel at the end of June '14. Arriving on quite a late flight, it was very nice to get a lovely warm welcome from the staff even at 1am. Being very tired, i was quickly given my key and off to my room within minutes.

My room was in the annexe across the street from the main hotel, and my heart sank when arriving at the room, i looked out of the windows to find it was located at pavement level, right next to a bench. This proved to be possibly the worst place to get some sleep, as throughout the night, revellers walking past returning from their nights out seemed to focus towards this bench, and of course their volume levels were clearly not a concern, so most of the night was spend listening to various languages shouting their heads off in various states of drunkeness.

The room itself was basic, but clean, the bathroom is a very small wet room, where the shower curtain did not draw back so you have to use the tiny sink virtually with the curtain on your head! Overall no real complaints about the room, as i say its basic, and maybe a bit outdated, but was clean and comfortable, also a great central location for exploring Reyjavik

If you do have a book, make sure you ask for a room on the first floor or above, definately not at pavement level, unless you can sleep through constant noise at all hours of the night!

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe, or at least the pavement level if you do get a room in theannexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monteeymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

No matter where you are in the city, the church can be your guide. Free parking at church which is close to the main street area. easy access to go up in the elevator (quite slow one) to see the city from the highest view point in the area. The tickets are 700Kr pp.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank hv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is situated opposite the cathedral and walking distance from all the sites in the city. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate for a long weekend and nice and clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. There is a nice cafe where you can relax after a day walking around the city and coffee was free. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. To top it all we saw the northern lights from our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabadell, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel twice (it was already booked).
The first room was extremely small (no place for the lugagge) and the mattress was very uncomfortable. The second room was in a building a part from the hotel ans it was good. The only problem was that the bathroom became a swimming pool when taking a shower and that the sink was extremely small.
The breakfast place was not big enough for all the clients. You had to ask other guests if they accepteded to share a table. The man at the reception was not helpful at all when we had this problem (it happened twice).
The breakfast tables were always dirty.
The hotel is very well located.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soniapuigdollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had an overnight stay here. the staff is friebdly and the location ok, but th rooms are outdated, and we thought the bathroom was the worst...a little dirty....
After then days in iceland on various locations, average is what we want to call this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a very enjoyable experience at this hotel which, as other reviewers have noted, delivers as advertised. It is a simple, clean, easy place to stay. The location is terrific, I'd even say dramatic, being right across from the square with the large statue of Erikson and the beautiful cathedral. Great memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REAL-EAC-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,178 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
503 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing