We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My partner and I have just returned after staying 4 nights at this hotel having booked via Icelandair.
The hotel has a brilliant location, it was clean and the service was brilliant. It is basic but for what you pay its great value - if you want lots of luxury then of course you are going to pay more especially in the centre of a capital known for being expensive !! I'm not quite sure what some people expect but there was free tea/coffee available at all times, the breakfast was adequate. The rooms were conftable including the beds - lots of hot water and it was also very warm!
They assisted us on trips and were very pleasant and I wuld cetainly return here - in fact we are looking to go back next year and have also recommended to family.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reading_BerksMarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

We were recently due to stay at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson having booked through a package offered by IcelandAir. Upon arrival we were given some vague excuse about one of the rooms being 'broken' and bumped to another hotel elsewhere in the city on the basis that this would be a free-upgrade. Having read some of the reviews on this site, elsewhere and discussed this with the manager at the hotel we were sent to then it's apparent this is a relatively common occurrence when booking rooms at Leifur Eiriksson and not an isolated incident.

Our 'upgrade' turned out to be Hotel Cabin, Reykjavik, which was an uninspiring but functional hotel some way out of town (see Hotel Cabin Reviews for more details). If you do get to stay at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson then the location is pretty spot-on for the centre and sights of Reykjavik. I guess I can't really comment on the rest of the facilities at this hotel as we never got to stay there!

Definitely not one to book on the basis of the convenient location alone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed_Traveller_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed here twice on our 10 day round trip of Iceland. The first stay was fine. The photos on the hotel's official website are rather misleading. The whole place feels more like a youth hostel than a 3*hotel. The staff are ok but not friendly or that helpful.

We stayed in a twin and a 'triple' room. The triple room was two single beds and some bunk beds. Not very good for 3 adults sharing as the bunk beds were ridiculously small.
The bathrooms are all wetrooms which make it very unconfortable for quick showers and getting dressed when sharing. Absolutely everything gets wet. The beds were also not even and so you felt as though you were sleeping on a slope. They do not look capable of providing roomservice as their website suggests. Breakfast is ok but there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms at all.

Our second stay, just one night, was a joke. When we arrived, after a delayed internal flight on an incredibly wet and stormy night, the guy at reception gave the 5 of us two single rooms and was so drunk he could not work out the problem at all. We had to take charge and go look in other available rooms to see which ones had the right amount of beds in it. It took so long we missed any chance we had to have a nice final meal in Reykjavik. Completely unacceptable.

When we were checking out we asked if we could leave our bags for a few hours. The man on reception that time coud not even grant us eye contact and gestured to the place under the stairs.

All in all this is an ok, cheap place if you don't want service with a smile or a comfy bed.
They run excursions and buses to the airport which seemed to go well but we did not need those services.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cags444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This is an ok hotel well situated in the town centre. Check-in was quick and easy for us (others had to wait whilst their rooms were sorted out). The small room was theoretically a twin but really was two singles pushed together with two single duvets under a double bed spread. The ensuite was very small but workable. TV was a few channels including BBC1. Free tea and coffee were available all day downstairs and this was also the only place the free WIFI worked. Breakfast was continental in style and reasonable. In summary, an OK hotel for a few days, reasonably priced but not as good as some reviews make out.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Facilities in this hotel were what you expect from a basic hotel not a mid range 3 * hotel. No hairdrier and they struggled to find me one. Only 4 coat hangers in the wardrobe. No toiletries. Our room in the annexe was of a good size and larger than most but the toilet/shower was minute, about as big as a large size shower cubicle and shared a space with the tiniest hand basin ever. As they all shared the same floor space with no shower tray water flowed everywhere when used so you got wet feet when you used the loo or the hand basin which was virtually under the shower itself.

However, the location is fantastic right in the centre of Reykjavik, looking onto the church which can easily be used as a landmark to find your way home. Noisy on a Saturday night when Reykjavik comes alive but that would be the same for everywhere in the centre.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I have just returned from a long weekend in Reykjavik and I had the best time ever. The only thing that could have been better was the hotel. It was very clean but very basic, more like a hostel. The rooms were very simple, no tea/coffee facilities or hairdryers. The bathroom was very very compact. The only problem with our room was that it was on the corner and the windows weren't very noise-proof. Some people talking outside woke me in the middle of the night. I was also kept awake two nights in a row by someone in the next room snoring. All in all, it wasn't a bad hotel, just a little noisy. Breakfast was good, if a little limited. The staff knew all about the tours and helped organise things for us. We had a great time, all the excursion companies collect you (free of charge) from your hotel for all excursions and there is so much to do.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesinLondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Visited this hotel in September 09
It enjoys a great location next to the Cathedral, only problem is that someone climbed up during the middle of the night and started ringing the bell at 2am. What a clown, should be locked up! Building work is noisy and goes on all day.
When I arrived I was told the room was on the ground floor. I didn't want that because there were lots of drunk guys from Denmark, Belgium and England in the lobby so I didn't really want that. Instead I was offered a room in the annexe just over the road.
The room was very basic and not particularly clean.
Staff were keen to sell excursions but I guess they get commission because I got better deals elsewhere...
Breakfast is virtually non-existent in Iceland, so the hotel's offering of cereal and toast was ok. Free wireless is only available in the lobby, so all the geeks hang out there looking at their computers. On the other hand they do show all the UK football and Champions League on a big screen.
Downside was that my wallet went missing from my room on the last night. Hmmm...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,349 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
405 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
173 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
585 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoroustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £101 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing