We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Hotel in Great Location”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is just off the main street in Reykjavik within the City Center and that alone makes it worth the stay. It is clean and well-maintained as well.

That being said, I'm not sure it deserves the rave reviews others have given to it. The desk staff was moderately helpful -- if you were booking or had booked a tour through them. Otherwise, you were pretty much left to your own devices. (And yet, at least two different set of guests were overheard to complain about tour bookings not properly made or insufficient information given about a booking.)

The room, as well, was just average; it could certainly use an update and the shower was, well, tiny -- like being in one of those Star Trek teleporter tubes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoshTrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Odinsve in November 13. Location is brilliant - close to everything but not actually on the noisy main streets - the room was well furnished and recently refurbished. It's so nice having endless hot water - but I guess this is common in Iceland.
WiFi is free, fast and unlimited, and plenty of English TV channels.
Staff were friendly and welcoming (with one exception that I can ignore).

Will be happy to stay again when we return to Iceland, which we will next year.

Bed was comfortable, but it was a bit odd having two single duvets on the double bed - although to be fair, we knew that this was a double room with the beds pushed together.

Breakfast was awful, so I'm glad we were on an inclusive deal. Don't pay extra for it - there are loads of decent coffee shops in Reykjavik to get something much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent hotel! the price was great and booked after reading other reviews. The hotel is in a great location of the city, the room was brand new and very clean. Free WiFi was great and the hotel staff were excellent and could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has recieved very good rates. I fail to understand why. First of all, the pictures of the rooms on the webpage is clearly not showing the room I´ve been staying in. The room is in desperate need of an interior designer. It is very dated and worn. The water in the bathroom STINKS of sulfur. The breakfast was not good and definitely not worth 14 euro.
However, there are a few things good though: the bed is very comfortable. The wifi is free of charge and very fast. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel, staff were amazing, nothing was to much trouble, they arranged our excursions for us, arranged transport to and from each location. Lovely warm room which was cleaned daily and replenished with items we used. Buffet breakfast in the adjoining snap Resturant was plentiful with loads of choice. Pure white bedding and towels which was immaculate. Would defiantly go back here as location was great. There was refurbishment going on but did not interfere with our stay. We had a queen size room, the only downside was two single beds not for me but hubby was not happy, lol all in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: We had a queen room which was spacious with a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was in Reykjavik for Iceland Airwaves music festival in Oct/Nov 2013. It was my first time in the city, so I was pleased to discover that the hotel was 2-3 minutes walk away from the main attractions.

Our room was a twin room on the first floor of the hotel. It would be fair to day that the note room was small, very small, as too was the bathroom (if you stood in the middle of the room you could touch each wall). However, it appears that many non-chain hotels in Reykjavik are of similar proportions.

On each and every occasion that I needed the assistance of the reception/ concierge staff, they were incredibly helpful.

There is only one reason why I'm giving the hotel 3 stars instead of 4, which is that our room on the first floor was above a retail outlet which was being refurbished, which meant that builders would continually wake us up at 0730AM. I was in the city for a music festival, therefore not getting back to the room until 0300. Also, the phone in the room didn't work.

Next time I'm in the city, i'll probably stay elsewhere. Not because there was anything particularly wrong with the hotel, just because there was nothing exceptional about the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor, as the restaurant and retail units will wake you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpizzlePizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We only stayed one night at Hotel Odinsve. Pleasantly surprised to find our "room" was actually a furnished apartment, a nice change from the the smaller Airbnb spots we had been staying in so far. After a restful night's sleep we returned to the lobby multiple times for tour pick-ups and even to use the WiFi. Each time we were greeting with smiles and a warm, friendly vibe. Absolutely would return for a second stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £112 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing