We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with great location”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with great location”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The decor was upscale Ikea, but everything was just right, including the nice wrap around terrace from where we can see the sea. Great breakfast, including American style bacon which was appreciated by our son. A lovely staff. Would comfortably stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ljasminek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ijasminek,

With pleasure I read your review and it is wonderful to hear you had an amazing time with a great view!

Hopefully we will meet soon again!

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    527
    124
    30
    14
See reviews for
218
575
113
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a stay at Hotel Odinsve - we were extremely lucky to be placed in what can only be described as a hotel room with quite possibly one of the best views over Reykjavik. A bright, airy and modern room with small balcony and amazing skyline views.
Hotel was really well location and was next door to a superb restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 404 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lscue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review and your recommendations to other travelers. We are very glad that you appreciate your room comfortable and bright.

Thank you again and we do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Reykjavik during our recent trip for a long weekend. Since we were only in Iceland for a couple of days we had a pretty busy schedule and did not actually spend too much time in the hotel. However, it certainly had everything we wanted (and was reasonably priced as well). The location is great, everything you could possibly want to do in Reykjavik is within a short walking distance. The room was quote spacious and always clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice with a good choice of food (breakfast was served in a big room downstairs which turned into a pub in the evenings, which looked like it always had a good and jolly crowd although we were too exhausted to try it and mostly went straight to our room to recharge for the next days’ worth of activities). But most of all we were impressed with the staff – all of who were always helpful and friendly. They also gave us some good tips around the whale watching tours and helped us organise our Northern Lights tour, which is obviously very weather dependent.

We would definitely come again and recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finduslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Findus,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are happy to read your compliments of the warm hospitality extended to you by our team at the reception. We are hoping welcoming you back to our hotel and ensuring your next visit is another amazing experience.

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a fantastic location for getting to know Reykjavik. This is a lovely hotel, so clean and so warm, with very friendly, helpful staff. It is close to so many "must see" places as well as swimming pools and places to eat and drink.
If I am fortunate enough to go back to Reykjavik, I will not even bother looking at any other places to stay, I'll be delighted to make my way straight back to Hotel Odinsve.

Room Tip: 217 was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your grateful review of Hotel Odinsve. Reading such a wonderful comment of our service and facilities is a real pleasure.

You are more then welcome the next time you will visit Iceland

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 night stay in this lovely hotel. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room though small had everything we needed, very comfortable bed, very clean and a good sized shower room. Excellent hotel in a perfect location for walking around downtown Reykavik I hope we are lucky enough to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Glenis,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words of the quality of our rooms and staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were thoroughly impressed with our Icelandic experience. Most of all after our adventures during the day, we enjoyed returning to our picturesque hotel set in the heart of Reykjavic. Thank you for providing us with a home from home experience.

We are back home and miss the people, the culture and the ambience! Icelane should be categorised as one of the seven wonders of the world. Beautiful!

It was the first holiday we've had in eleven years! Magical!

Room Tip: Choose a Junior Suite - Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniely01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you so much for such wonderful review. We love to hear that your stay felt like home. If you come back to one of the 7 wonders of the world we would love to accommodate you again.

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel Odinsve is made up of the main hotel and then an apartment building 3 minutes walk away. There is free parking before 10am and after 6pm in the garage right across from the building. As we rented a car and were out during the day, we didn't really have to pay for parking. I believe the rate is something like $2 an hour if you park between 10am-6pm.

We stayed in apartment type A, which covers the full length of the top floor of the building. The apartment is fit to be in an Ikea showroom, with a gorgeous kitchen with wood countertops, stainless steel appliances, a peninsula cooking top, and every cookware, dinner wear, and gadget you could need.

There are two bedrooms, one with a queen bed, and another with two twin beds. The open floor plan shows off the expansiveness of the apartment, with a large living room and dining room. The bathroom is huge as well.

I felt more comfortable in this apartment than in my own home! Housekeeping comes every other day. The location is smack right in the middle of everything, on the same main street as the cathedral.

The only negative about the apartment is that there is no elevator and the stairway to climb up 4 flights of stairs is quite narrow. Other than that, it was a fantastic deal and I would recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aphroditehalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Odinsve O, General Manager at Hotel Odinsve, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your valuable review. We are extremely pleased that you were satisfied with our services and your stay was comfortable with us.

The building of our Apartments is an old building that is completely renovated. We apologize if the fact that we do not have an elevator caused you any inconvenience.

Best regards,



Bjarni Hákonarson

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing