We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our 10 day trip through Iceland. It is a very good location, close to the action and the main shopping streets, but off on a quieter street. Easy to walk from here to all the attractions of Reykavik. Helpful staff, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have bigger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi_B111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Tried to book a hotel I had stayed in before. 1300 Euro for 3 nights put me off. This hotel is in the centre and better in my opinion. ... about 1/3 of the price but better room, better facilities and good restaurant attached ( Snaps).
will stay here again if visiting again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our experience at Hotel Odinsve was totally positive. All the staff were gracious and extremely helpful. The reception staff excellent assistance each time we had a question on an attractions, other places to eat or general directions. They were extremely helpful in making tour arrangements for us. We used the restaurant for breakfast. It had a wide selection of offering on the buffet. We also used the restaurant for an end of the day light meal and drink. The service was friendly and prompt. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the downtown core or the world renown church. We have already recommended to friends. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellently situated within walking distance of downtown and most attractions and restaurants in Reykjavik, this is a small hotel (43 rooms),clean, tidy and well managed. For those in the know, it is very close to the Reykjavik Cathedral which is worth a visit itself.

Reception staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The rooms are fairly large and the bathrooms comfortable and clean.

The hotel offers a good breakfast and has a very popular restaurant (Snaps) which is frequented by guests and locals alike and buzzes with life in the evenings. It serves both local and international dishes.

The hotel is on the stopping list of the Reykjavik Excursions airport bus for drop off and pickup and it is thus easy to commute to Keflavik International Airport.

Not cheap, but then nothing seems to be cheap in Iceland. If it is not a boring chain hotel you are after and you are not a backpacker this is a very good choice.

Highly recommended and I can't see myself looking elsewhere on my next trip to Iceland.

Room Tip: This is a city hotel so don't expect and special views from the room. We took the room allocated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Love this hotel. It is centrally located, just a block or two from the big church. It is quiet and the rooms are clean. We first stayed here is 2004 and had a very grand room then. This was our third stay and each time the rooms are a little less luxurious. However, it is less than half the cost of the first visit. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are good and the restaurant downstairs is also very good. We will stay here again the next time. It is a little gem. Doesn't get five stars because we have stayed in some really amazing hotels that are truly 5 star, and this one is not a luxury stay, but very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Really can't recommend the apartments. Nicely appointed, spacious and very convenient location, however the noise from the nightclub over the street is intolerable. You expect some noise as a trade-off for the city centre location, but the constant thump of Techno bass until 4:30am on three nights consecutive nights was too much. Poor sleep and stress for half of our very expensive stay.
The staff in the hotel were very pleasant, but they has clearly had received many complaints about this. Spoiled our stay in Iceland.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Smartie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We loved Hotel Odinsve! It was small, quiet, clean and soooo comfy - it was exactly what we were looking for. I had heard that it can get quite noisy in the city on the weekends, we slept with the window open for the nice cool air, and didn't hear a thing. The room was bright and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the water was nice and hot. The bathroom was tiny, but it served us just fine. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and helpful, and the location was fabulous for all of the walking, city-stuff that we wanted to do. I can't say enough great things about our holiday - I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced into the courtyard - beautiful view of Hallgrímskirkja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineTO081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
600 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £127 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing