We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis after a loooong flight”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An oasis after a loooong flight”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Odinsve. The first time we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a top floor suite, and that is VERY nice. No such luck this time, but we liked our quiet sunny room at the back of the hotel with the white comforters and comfy twin beds - it was quite spacious and had tea and coffee making equipment. The staff were great, and we were able to check in upon arrival early in the morning, which was much appreciated after an overnight flight. Warning to larger people - check that you will fit in the shower, which is very small! Maybe upgrade to that suite I mentioned if that is the case. Food in Iceland is expensive, you might as well pay the extra cost for the breakfast, which is ample and will set you up for your day.

Room Tip: Make sure you fit in the shower! And get the breakfast, it's ample and will save you money in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmumirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    527
    124
    30
    14
See reviews for
218
575
113
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

More on par with a typical hostel in town. Don't let the facade of their website fool you, this place is just an overrated hostel complete with a staff who plays the snoody bit too hard. I am writing this review as a listen to dishes being done in the commercial kitchen below... at midnight. I slept better in the 1.5 person tent my wife and I shared on the Laugavegurinn Trail the past 4 nights.
Iceland is awesome! We have been here 2.5 weeks on our honeymoon. Avoid Reykavik. There is much to be seen on this island and much better places to stay. Example: Hotel Selfoss was a third the cost room/night and double the value. Hotel Rangia, Hotel Ion, and the hotel at Skatafell where all amazing all-around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zfraysier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel Odinsve is on a small street in central Reykjavik, within easy walking distance to the old harbor, restaurants, shopping, and the BSI bus terminal. Our room was clean and comfortable. Like most American tourists in Europe, we found the bathroom and shower disconcertingly small, but that's not unique to this place. Our room faced the courtyard; the hotel was mostly quiet, though occasionally we could hear people talking through the open windows of the other rooms. The staff very very friendly and quite helpful with booking our tours and giving us directions.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but had two very good breakfasts and some good coffee at the cafe across the street, called "C is for Cookie".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Odinsve for 2 nights in June 2014 and really enjoyed it. We found it quite hard to choose a hotel since we read a lot of reviews of other hotels which seemed noisy, not central and old.

Hotel Odinsve is located right in the heart of the city and you can reach everything by foot. The staff is really helpful and suggested amazing restaurants!

We stayed on the top floor and the room was quite big with a lot of light (hard to fall asleep in summer though...), a big balcony with views over the city and compared to other hotel rooms we experienced in Iceland not even that noisy! It was clean and we really liked the beds.

A big plus was the breakfast - sou find everything you would want and they even make waffles! :)

Our overall impression was really good and we would definitely recommend Hotel Odinsve to others.

+
spacious and clean rooms
location! really central
friendly staff
breakast is really great


-
one night we had some people partying in the room next to us at 3 a.m. and it sadly took the staff more than 40mins to tell them to be quiet. after that they left the hotel but since a lot of other guests complained as well (extremely loud music, jumping around and screaming) we thought they could have done something a little bit faster.

Room Tip: We had the room on floor 4 - even with a big balcony! Was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrinPhillipp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our 10 day trip through Iceland. It is a very good location, close to the action and the main shopping streets, but off on a quieter street. Easy to walk from here to all the attractions of Reykavik. Helpful staff, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have bigger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi_B111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Tried to book a hotel I had stayed in before. 1300 Euro for 3 nights put me off. This hotel is in the centre and better in my opinion. ... about 1/3 of the price but better room, better facilities and good restaurant attached ( Snaps).
will stay here again if visiting again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our experience at Hotel Odinsve was totally positive. All the staff were gracious and extremely helpful. The reception staff excellent assistance each time we had a question on an attractions, other places to eat or general directions. They were extremely helpful in making tour arrangements for us. We used the restaurant for breakfast. It had a wide selection of offering on the buffet. We also used the restaurant for an end of the day light meal and drink. The service was friendly and prompt. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the downtown core or the world renown church. We have already recommended to friends. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing