We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Odinsve
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$477
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$597
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$551
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
540
560
135
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
560
135
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnaps restaurantgreat locationattached restaurantthe main hotelmain shoppingjunior suitefirst floorfront desk staffhot waterminute walksmall hotelthe heart of the citythe main dragquiet streetwould definitely stay here againtea and coffee making facilitiescentral location
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

While travelling around Iceland I stay at this hotel on three separate occasions and found this small hotel in the heart of this beautiful city most convenient and enjoyable. Don't expect 5 star in Reykjavik but it is not needed as the city is still adjusting to the over 1 million tourists that converge on the small island. The rooms are small, try and get to the 4th level where the rooms tend to be larger and with a nice view of the city. Ours opened to a small balcony which made fresh air in the morning possible in a city well serviced by room heating. We were told rooms can be noisy due to being above a very popular resturant called Snaps but this was not our experience. You are in the heart of town however and like any city some night life might wake the light sleepers. The staff at reception I found to be outstanding, young, helpful and most engaged and more that willing to help with the smallest request. They made restaurant bookings, hire cars and arranged bus tickets to the airport, a must due to high taxi charges and the long distance to the international terminal. Reykjavik punches above its weight in excellent restaurants, try the Sea Grill close to hotel, the Grill Market and any of the many coffee shops around. Paying is easier than in any other country as credit cards are accepted for the smallest purchase. I only needed few occasions for the Krona. Will return to Reykjavik and will again stay at the Odinsve.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is well-situated in the centre of Reykjavik. We were lucky enough to be in a big room with gorgeous wooden floors. we appreciated free tea and coffee however floors and windows were not quite clean. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet was so close to the heater/wall that I couldn’t sit properly on it ( and i’m not that big lol). I’ m not saying it would happen everyday but we found the surroundings of the room noisy, from the bin men coming to collect bottles outside, the early morning maids and the next door neighbours opening their room. Wi-fi did not work properly. We’ve met a couple of excellent receptionists, we’ve also met the worst, I should have taken his name really, interrupting me while I was explaining my problem, telling me all sorts of nonsense until he finally listened properly and was able to answer me correctly. I personally would not go back.

Room Tip: ask for a big bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel and its staff demonstrated the best in hospitality and personal care. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Our room was adequate and basic, clean and comfortable. Our son and his family had a family room consisting of one large room and a sleeping loft, quite nice. The hotel is well located and a short walk to most sites. The best part of the hotel was the staff, friendly and helpful. A special shout out goes to Bjarnie, the manager. On the third day of our stay in Reykyavik, we had a medical emergency necessitating another night's stay. There were no rooms at the hotel, but they did offer us an apartment. Bjarnie walked us to see the apartment in the pouring rain, then loaded up his car with us and our luggage, carried the luggage to the third floor apartment, got us extra linens, and even gave us a good rate for the apartment. I would like to use this review to personally thank Bjarnie for all his help and his genuine concern for our son and our situation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnutsFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Odinsve in July with my 3 children. Excellent value, friendly staff, clean rooms and a really great Bar & Bistro where we ate very happily on 3 occaisions. Highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Reykjavik as it is also very central for all activities.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cogans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

+ Location is excellent.
+ Nice lobby and room staff (german Rebecca and the other blond ladies)
+ Nice lobby design
- Interior design of rooms is a joke! We stayed there two times (before and after our trip around the island) and had different rooms. Both rooms lacked of any space to store luggage - and no, for two days we do not unpack two big baggages in hotels cabinet. Especially not, if you are unable to open the cabinet as the magnetic door profile of the rooms main door did not allow us to open the cabinet doors.
- Breakfast in own restaurant 'Snaps' is really chintzy. Short in knifes, dish, eggs, tea and many more things.
- Breakfast service is the worst I've seen since years in a hotel. Even though the location looks fancy, the service isn't. Service staff was mostly uninterested in making hospitality a good experience. Our table neighbors had been upset about the same things as they had been asking for getting eggs and received the answers back there weren't any more as the earlier group took all of them and they (= the hotel!) "had to pay for them too". This is ridiculous for a premium four star hotel. This is youth hostel niveau for premium downtown price and completely unacceptable.
- 'Snaps' in the evening seems to be a hot location. So hot that it was impossible to eat in this hotels own bar - even though we had a room there. Service staff again didn't care about us.
- Hotel cannot be recognized from outside as there is no visible name on the building. Even locals (car rental company guy) did not find it.
- The very clunky room key needs to placed at counter each time (cues)
- Soda costs money
- Water constantly smelled sulphuric (which might not be a problem of the hotel, but more a general problem in Reykjavik area).
- Rooms above 'Snaps' might receive serious party noise during evening

Room Tip: Get a room where you can open your luggage w/o needing to step over it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MASCH_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews