We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartment in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We, two mature couples, stayed for 2 nights in one of the apartments managed by the hotel. The apartments are about 200 metres from the hotel and even better located than the hotel itself.
The apartment is modern and well furnished. The kitchen was perfect for our needs - not more than breakfasts.
The apartments are right on one of the main shopping streets in the centre of Reykjavik. Amusingly the next building up the street is the Reykjavik prison, and the top floor apartments have a great view into the prison yard. I believe there were not more than 2 inmates in this tiny relic of a prison while we were there.
There is restricted paid parking in the area between 10:00 and 18:00, but outside those hours there is no problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    509
    114
    29
    14
See reviews for
200
557
110
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A little boutique hotel perched on the side of the hill. Walking distance to everything.
Tiny rooms but well appointed with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. A well stocked mini bar.
Helpful and friendly reception staff.
Great restaurant in the hotel. Yummy and generous breakfast in restaurant.
Happy to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jennpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Odinsve as part of a NatGeo trip. The hotel was clean and bright, although apparently not prepared for couples (nearly all the rooms we saw had twin beds that, if you were lucky, were moved together to form a "king size" bed). The issue is the restaurant/bar. It's really a hopping place - and that's not necessarily a good thing. The location is great, no doubt about that. So, if you choose to stay here, be sure that you stay in an upper level room, away from the restaurant/bar.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the restaurant/bar - it's open until the wee hours and is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights with family. The location is just far enough from the middle of town to enjoy some quiet in the evening. We had a few mix ups with our tours and the staff were extremely helpful, offering to call and set things straight for us. Thanks especially to Alexandra!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippiehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

While travelling around Iceland I stay at this hotel on three separate occasions and found this small hotel in the heart of this beautiful city most convenient and enjoyable. Don't expect 5 star in Reykjavik but it is not needed as the city is still adjusting to the over 1 million tourists that converge on the small island. The rooms are small, try and get to the 4th level where the rooms tend to be larger and with a nice view of the city. Ours opened to a small balcony which made fresh air in the morning possible in a city well serviced by room heating. We were told rooms can be noisy due to being above a very popular resturant called Snaps but this was not our experience. You are in the heart of town however and like any city some night life might wake the light sleepers. The staff at reception I found to be outstanding, young, helpful and most engaged and more that willing to help with the smallest request. They made restaurant bookings, hire cars and arranged bus tickets to the airport, a must due to high taxi charges and the long distance to the international terminal. Reykjavik punches above its weight in excellent restaurants, try the Sea Grill close to hotel, the Grill Market and any of the many coffee shops around. Paying is easier than in any other country as credit cards are accepted for the smallest purchase. I only needed few occasions for the Krona. Will return to Reykjavik and will again stay at the Odinsve.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is well-situated in the centre of Reykjavik. We were lucky enough to be in a big room with gorgeous wooden floors. we appreciated free tea and coffee however floors and windows were not quite clean. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet was so close to the heater/wall that I couldn’t sit properly on it ( and i’m not that big lol). I’ m not saying it would happen everyday but we found the surroundings of the room noisy, from the bin men coming to collect bottles outside, the early morning maids and the next door neighbours opening their room. Wi-fi did not work properly. We’ve met a couple of excellent receptionists, we’ve also met the worst, I should have taken his name really, interrupting me while I was explaining my problem, telling me all sorts of nonsense until he finally listened properly and was able to answer me correctly. I personally would not go back.

Room Tip: ask for a big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfield,ct
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel and its staff demonstrated the best in hospitality and personal care. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Our room was adequate and basic, clean and comfortable. Our son and his family had a family room consisting of one large room and a sleeping loft, quite nice. The hotel is well located and a short walk to most sites. The best part of the hotel was the staff, friendly and helpful. A special shout out goes to Bjarnie, the manager. On the third day of our stay in Reykyavik, we had a medical emergency necessitating another night's stay. There were no rooms at the hotel, but they did offer us an apartment. Bjarnie walked us to see the apartment in the pouring rain, then loaded up his car with us and our luggage, carried the luggage to the third floor apartment, got us extra linens, and even gave us a good rate for the apartment. I would like to use this review to personally thank Bjarnie for all his help and his genuine concern for our son and our situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnutsFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing