We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting building ”

Reykjavik Art Museum Asmundarsafn
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.95*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
Ranked #57 of 179 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Listasafn Reykjavíkur Reykjavik Art Museum is the leading art museum in Iceland and has three locations in Reykjavik: Hafnarhus, Kjarvalsstadir and Asmundarsafn. Asmundarsafn is the former home and workshop of the sculptor Asmundur Sveinsson, who designed and mostly constructed this building himself in Laugardalur. The museum served to preserve his work and life, and displays the largest collection of his sculptures both inside and outside the building. Asmundur's art greatly reflects his lifelong interest in the Icelandic sagas, folk tales and classical mythology.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting building ”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This was a bit of trek out of town but we were up for the walk and were determined to visit all the three museums on one day ticket. It was and interesting building and the sculptures were fascinating. The last room upstairs intriguing!

Helpful?
Thank NickiH945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    14
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stopped off here as part of a segway tour, you might not want to walk from the city centre. It's well worth a visit if you can fit it in though. Fairly small, but quirky.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bagborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Discovery”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We first visited Reykjavik's main art gallery near the harbour and were distinctly underwhelmed. There was a very jolly installation on the ground floor comprising several large fans placed flat on their faces, blowing streams of tape out in large circles, which was impressive, but otherwise it was dire. The same ticket afforded us entry to the Sveinsson gallery, however and although it was late in the day, we decided to give it a shot. I'm so glad we did, it's a beautiful place.

The building itself was designed by Sveinsson in a Middle Eastern style, with a square base and central domed roof. A crescent has been built on one side to extend the exhibition space, which works well. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who gave us a brief resume of the exhibits and offered coffee.

I was blown away by Sveinsson's work. As an admirer of Moore and Hepworth, it was very interesting to find one of their contemporaries in another country, creating work which echoes their style. Sviensson is particularly good on women; he seems to have a knack of capturing the familial love mothers, sisters and daughters engender with a tenderness of form which is very moving. Until I was informed otherwise I though he was a female artist, his understanding of women seemed so innate.

The sculpture is displayed both indoors and around the small garden, where the larger pieces have the space to spread their expansive limbs. This museum is well worth a visit if you're keen on sculpture. I'd certainly go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank funnyjaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of Top Highlights in Reykjavik”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The gardens and museum were the very last thing we saw on our 10 day trip to Iceland and one of the main highlights. The garden's sculptures are certainly interesting but the interior of the museum, the architecture, the lighting, the descriptive stories that explain the sculptures complete the entire experience. All three of us were thrilled to have visited this museum. And to sit and reflect with a generous offering of coffee to contemplate the Museum and our Icelandic adventures was sublime.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sac0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Not my thing, a few non descript blobs in a badly kept garden on a busy road. This man must have been a tortured soul in need of therapy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reykjavik Art Museum Asmundarsafn also viewed

 

Been to Reykjavik Art Museum Asmundarsafn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing