We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but beware of buying a stamp here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Perlan

Perlan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.03*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #19 of 178 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Perlan - Museum of Icelandic Natural Wonders, will open it's doors in the summer of 2017. When finished this will be the biggest exhibition of the natural wonders of Iceland. While construction takes place, the building will be open to visitors so they can enjoy one of Reykjavik's best viewing platforms. On the fourth floor, Kaffitar will open a pop-up cafe. This summer we will open the Glacier Exhibition, the first part of the Museum of Icelandic Natural Wonders, which is being built on two storeys in one of Perlan’s six hot water tanks. It will illustrate the glaciers, their history and future, and give visitors the amazing opportunity to experience travelling through one of them. At the same time a new and exciting restaurant will open on the top floor of Perlan, underneath the huge glass dome. On the fourth floor will be a gift store that specializes in Icelandic craft and design. The second part of the Museum of Icelandic Natural Wonders opens in 2018: a new, cutting-edge planetarium that offers a 360-degree domed immersive experience with surround sound and the best image quality available in the world today. In the summer of 2018 we will open the third part, which will also be the largest part to date. Now we will use the entire ground floor of Perlan to feature various pearls of Icelandic nature.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice view but beware of buying a stamp here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The view from here is very nice - but Reykjavik isn't a very photogenic city - very sprawling and boring - but from the city the 'Golden Circle' tour is a MUST SEE! But do not buy a stamp for your postcard from here! We were charged 350isk for each stamp! The actual cost is 180isk - and the postcards have not arrived! So buy the postcards - take the pictures BUT go elsewhere for your stamps! The only downside we had of Iceland - but she left a very bad impression!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMackem1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    1,297
    627
    131
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Frozen hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had the displeasure of spending New Year's Eve here on a pre-arranged "once in a lifetime" package which included the promise of fine dining, a coach tour of the traditional Icelandic bonfires and a firework spectacular. It certainly was a once-in-a-lifetime experience as we will never be repeating the horror. The first course was a piece of melon, the second course looked as if it was pureed whale brains - however, as it was the vegetarian option I decided to ask the waitress as it was so salty it made me think it must have come from the sea. The waitress returned thrusting the plate back onto my table informing me rudely that she'd asked the kitchen and it was in fact a mushroom risotto. By this time, the grey mass was also cold and congealed, so I decided to forgo seeing how it compared to all the other risottos. Dessert was a chocolate "creation" two inches high by one inch wide. Sorry, but the dimensions are important as that's the only way i can describe the brown coloured bloop of non-desript shape. All for 500 Euros. The view from the top of the tower was spectacular but it was so cold none of the other eight strangers on our table of ten stayed outside any longer than we did. Avoid or face being ripped off like we were.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great structure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely location to walk to from regular bus journey, no need to book a trip! Free entry and a great all round vista for panoramic views of the city. Interior fab and an excellent restaurant and meal etc but expensive, but worth the rotating view!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vwm186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great views of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great views of the city, but not much else to do there. There is a cafe, shop and expensive restaurant inside, and a walking route outside.

One upside is that it's free to go in the Pearl and up to the viewing area, which is 360 degree round the building.

Easiest way to get there is on the hop on hop off bus tour that's calls at the pearl.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something free to do on a sunny day.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

While in Reykjavik we saw the Pearl every day from where we were staying. On a nice sunny day we finally made it over to check it out. It does have a great view of the city and the glass is very beautiful. However there were about 14 tour buses there as well making it extremely crowed which took away from the experience. Still worth checking out. It really only takes 30 minutes and it is free. It is nice that they disguised the hot water tanks as something worth looking at. Good place to take pictures of the city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perlan also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Perlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing