We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't waste your time here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)

National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.34*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #77 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: THE NATIONAL GALLERY OF ICELAND Iceland's leading art museum, established in 1884. Its collection consists mainly of 19th, 20th and 21st century art.
Overijssel
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Please don't waste your time here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

When we exited this museum I told my girlfriend: That was 30 minutes of my life wasted. Almost 80% of the museum was used for an exhibition of a Dutch artist. No Icelandic art to be found in this museum at all. One room was used for an exhibition about an art project. The project involved carrying a paper boat over the Alps... In the gift shop you could buy art related items, but none of them were exposed in the museum. (Think Marylin Monroe and Claude Monet!)

Tip: Skip this museum and go to the National Museum of Iceland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    32
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very odd”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The main room had a large boat that looked like it was made of paper mache, with video footage of a few blokes dragging it across the Alps.. for what reason? Who knows. Another room had a battered crib as an exhibition. There were a few pieces of simple modern art. We were done within 10 minutes. Really disappointed to learn the Old Masters paintings were put into storage to make way for this. Thankfully entrance was free with the Welcome Card.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
279 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not my thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was for me very disappointing. Its on the welcome card so we did it.Just be aware in winter sept 15th many attractions close on Mondays.This had a room about a man taking a boat up the alps.A video show and some pictures and the boat.The next floor had a small display of pictures of a kind of paper weaving.I liked the picture on the landing on the way to the second floor.Nice building,door round the back next to the cathedral.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We visited this Gallery because we'd read online that it contained some beautiful old masters, but in fact, it was a complete waste of time and money, as none of these are actually on display at the moment....what a shame!! We were informed that the artwork was all in the basement, and what was actually out was awful!! One room was just full of coloured stripes, with an old baby's cot in the middle of it. I don't call this art!

It is a beautiful building, but completely wasted on all this so called modern art!! Don't bother!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 207Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Vestgronland, Greenland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Icelandic and International Culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The exhibitions at the National Gallery of Iceland are of high quality with both national and international works.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KGM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing