We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chain hotel but totally individual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A chain hotel but totally individual”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Arrived at 9.00am, after an overnight flight, for a five night stay. Room ready at 9.30 - to my great and welcome surprise. Modern design was not "standard modern" but tasteful and individual. The fourth-floor, harbour view room with balcony was adequate, quiet, clean and very comfortable. Great shower. Staff were friendly, efficient and competent without exception. Location is ideal for the town with many restaurants, coffe shops and bars within easy walking distance. Just can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, even numbers, are quiet with great views over the harbour and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    758
    160
    49
    32
See reviews for
316
1,022
114
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

just spent 2 days in the Hotel: had a nice pass, some beer, the Minibar was excellently stocked, a good bar.....
Unfortunately I left the Hotel for being in Reijkyavik, which I regretted. Next Time I just stay in the Hotel........

Room Tip: Have a drink at the bar before you check in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlySofija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoboken, nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I just spent 5 days at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. We arrived on the overnight flight and were able to check in early with no problems. Always a nice addition. From that point forward, I was very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The front desk is not only reception but act as the concierge as well. They can suggest great restaurants and will call to make reservations. They also help you coordinate your day excursions with the local vendors. We even had them call to move one of our excursions due to bad weather and not only did they happily do it but Icelandic excursions was fine with us moving our trip. In general, it seems as though most Icelanders are very chill and want to make your experience as positive as they can. In addition to the service, the hotel itself is very clean and has a cool, funky vibe. The lobby is inviting and the bar is always packed (the drinks are great!). The room is not huge nor us the bathroom but we spent so little time in our room that it didn't bother us one bit. From my perspective, Iceland is a place to go out and explore (rain or shine) and this hotel allows you to do that at good price. I will also add that the location is ideal. Directly across from the marina with lots of cute restaurants close by and the walk to town is 5-10mins. Lastly, the breakfast included is delicious with a full spread of homemade delights. Lots more positive things to say about Iceland in general but I will end by saying that I can't compare our hotel to others having not stayed there but we did drop others off on our way back from our day trips and we seemed to be in one if tve the best locations and the feel our hotel seemed much more upbeat and alive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtimesnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I recently spent 6 days in Reykjavik at this hotel property. Our experience was a good one for the most part.

The good part: Modern hotel with comfortable and cozy public areas. Very nice and very popular bar with good drinks and food. Very attentive and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Very pleased with the location near the harbor, but within easy walking distance to everything in the older (tourist oriented) part of the city. Very clean rooms. Quiet (we were on the top floor) despite the bar downstairs; had no problems at all with street noise or the shipyard next door in the harbor.

The not so good part: We found the room small (even by European standards) and the bathroom even smaller. We upgraded with an "attic" room with balcony because it was suppose to be bigger; can't imagine a smaller room. Our even numbered room faced the street with an unimpressive view; there was only a small wooden bench on the balcony. Thus, we never used the area at all. It seems that even number rooms face the harbor; a balcony might be nice for that view, but the seating problem still exists.

A cute sign in the bathroom acknowledges the "cozy" bath area by suggesting that the hotel wanted you to get out and explore the town, not waste time in the bath. Good suggestion, but it is still nice to have a large area to do the necessities of getting ready to go out.

Bottom line: A single person in the bedroom would have no problem at all. If you are a couple, expect a tight space. Request a harbor view room. However, the room is not the reason we traveled to Iceland, and we did use the room on a limited basis. The location, attentive staff, fun bar, and modern/clean decor made up to a large extent for the room limitations.

We loved Reykjavik, the many things to do in town, the wonderful guided tours out of the city into some of the most unusual scenic areas we have been to, the many good restaurants and bars, and the enjoyable Icelandic people we met all made for a very nice vacation that I wish had lasted longer. By the way, when in Reykjavik do go to the new opera, concert hall; it is architecturally intriguing, and there varied music presentations available as well as a 360 degree movie theater featuring a trip around Iceland.

Room Tip: Get a top floor (only 4 story building) room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank drhank333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a young, funky, quirky hotel. The bar and restaurant seem to have become places for the locals to hang out too. Everything is kind of basic but done to a high level of basicness (does that even make sense?!?!) I guess that it won't be to everyone's taste... but personally, i loved the decor, the vibe, the location and the energy.

The location is great for reykjavik... Only the Radisson Blu is better in my opinion. Plus if you're doing any of the excursions with grayline... it's a 5 minute walk from their HQ!

From the other reviews - there have been some teething problems! But i was actually stunned to learn that this hotel had only been open 6 months.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

This is the place to hang out at night and weekends if you want to see and be seen. Even the locals come here hoping to catch you going to the star or somebody famous. We did run across 1 famous person and heard rumors of others on the way orthat they had just left the hotel. Very modern newly decorated in style and very hip. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAlpin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a room on the street side of the hotel and it was the noisiest place I've ever been. There is no soundproofing at all. And not only did we have traffic noise to contend with, we could hear people talking in the next room and noise in the hallway. When we complained the front desk not only couldn't change our room, they said noone had ever complained before. They weren't very nice about it. So yes, the location is great, the bar is crowded and a good place to meet locals and the interior design interesting but I could never recommend this as a good place to spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing