We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location; small room”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel is within walking to many good restaurants, several museums, the opera house, and the Sculpture and Shore Walk. The breakfast buffet was expansive, but never changed, and the breakfast area got very crowded. The breakfast room looks out onto the street, with direct view of obscene graffiti. The room was clean and modern, but it is VERY SMALL with only a sliding frosted glass door between the bathroom and the bed! There was very little storage space in the room. There is NO clock radio; there is a clock on the phone, but it is hung on the far wall from the bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    767
    165
    49
    33
See reviews for
323
1,033
116
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I often find boutique hotels to be quirky but disappointing overall and was more than surprised by my experience at Icelandair Marina in Reykjavic. The staff went out of their way to help (particularly Anna, but many others too), the food was excellent, the buffet breakfast was fabulous and very healthy, the cocktails were funky and delicious, great decor, useful facilities, perfect location. We booked a delux room which was definitely worth the extra money for a little extra space and a view of the harbour. Iceland is expensive everywhere, so the hotel is overpriced but that is the norm in Reykjavik so you need a decent budget. Overall a great experience and I would definitely go back. My suggestion would be to offer yoga mats in the gym. Also, the bathrooms are small and don't allow much privacy but we didn't mind too much ;-)

Room Tip: Book delux with a harbour view. Avoid the balcony rooms in favour of extra indoor space as the weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowenahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We loved it! Had a huge family room near reception.funky design.double bunks.big tv, sofa & chairs. Free wifi in public areas and we could pick it up in the room too.Very helpful staff . Good buzz but very peaceful at nights even though right on marina.There is busy road behind the hotel but did not hear traffic whilst in restaurant so think the glazing is thick. Would ask for Marina side room though as it is much nicer view. Good buffet breakfast fruit yogurt, nice breads , cereall and cooked stuff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittmanclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Couldn't find a review area for the Slipp Bar located at the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina. Anyway....just wanted people to know that the bar and lounge located in this hotel is outstanding. Wonderful ambiance, food, and service. They have a good selection of 'light fare' which included a great salad for my vegetarian husband and good steamed mussels for me. The bar lounge is bustling and a great place for people watching. It obviously seems to be a favorite spot for locals after a work day.

Room Tip: A bustling bar/lounge with good drinks and a good selection of food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The bathrooms in this hotel are not appropriate for two or more people. The bathroom wall is a frosted sliding door, which, due to design and/or construction, when "closed" still left about an inch of open crack. This meant that there was no privacy for sight, sound or smell. And the frosted glass meant no ability to keep out light when using the bathroom in the night. I would therefore consider the hotel room suitable for one person only.

If you are one person, this hotel has a great location in the centre of the city, within easy walking distances of restaurants, museums, and shops. We had a harbourfront view, which was awesome; and a balcony which would have been nice if the weather had co-operated.

The hotel is new, rooms were clean, and I enjoyed the common lounge area downstairs. I did not like having to use the downstairs common area to access free internet.

The breakfast was good, with lots of selection, including hot dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula_eyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a great spot and allows you to look out over the harbour and the mountains and really get a feel of being in Reykjavik. We stayed 3 nights and had two adjoining rooms which worked well for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. I'd requested a harbour view - and it was what we expected, a working harbour which was really interesting. We watched the boat that had just been painted outside our balcony motor out to sea and felt quite emotional. The lobby/ library area was great to chill in and people watch and the boys really enjoyed the fitness centre. The breakfast was delicious with a huge selection of cold and hot food. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a harbour view as I can't see any point staying here and looking out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMILYUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel faces a shipyard where ships are repaired. This means some noise during working days. We would prefer a room at this side of the hotel as the other side faces a quite busy road. The rather small rooms are clean and modern. Parking space availabe around the hotel. Beds are good. The lounge is agreeably furnished and there is a bar and restaurant. Breakfast is good. The hotel is close to several places worth a visit, like the marine museum and the volcano movie. Also some restaurants in the neigbourghood. Within walking distance of the city center.
As other hotels in Iceland, prices are quite high.

Room Tip: We would prefer a room at the port side of the hotel as the other side faces a quite busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandmflanders2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,556 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing