We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Successful base for a short break with a teenager” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
2 reviews
“Successful base for a short break with a teenager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here with my teenage son on a 3 night trip. A very good base for us - quite hip and an excellent breakfast (fortunately included in our price). Contrary to other people's experiences we had an very good 'deluxe' room overlooking the harbour (definitely request that). Compact but not small, the room's theme was knots - which we both thought was quite fun. I liked the location and it was very quiet. Wifi was everywhere. I would have liked a kettle in my room but hot water was free downstairs so I could make my own black tea (I may sound like a saddo but Iceland is very expensive - you practically need a second mortgage to eat at the Blue Lagoon). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the harbour not the road
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vmw_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    736
    149
    45
    31
See reviews for
304
989
112
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in one of the family rooms and loved all of the quirky touches. My two sons loved the monster size double bunk bed which was made from girders and certainly provided a good nights sleep.

The hotel is perfectly positioned on the Marina and is great for walking into town or going on a whale watching trip.

The breakfast buffet was of a really high quality with a good range of different food to choose from and some excellent Icelandic coffee.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful and did an excellent job of making us feel welcome.

The bar was lively and interesting and we enjoyed the food that we ate there. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and managed to find a table so that we could have dessert after the children had gone to bed.

The only minor downside was the large tour party that was collected by Super Jeep from rights outside our room at a much too early hour one morning but this did not detract from our stay at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeosu, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was travelling with my wife and our 4 year old daughter. When we arrived at the hotel we were "upgraded" to a family room. So, the family room was at the ground floor and consisted of a long narrow room with a bunk bed (with double beds top and bottom) at the end. Not a bad room, not a good room - a very average room.
No possibility for making coffee or tea in the room and no fridge either. The breakfast buffet was good and the bar is very cosy.

The best way to rate the hotel must be - would I want to return?
I'm in doubt. The location is good, the bar was cosy and the breakfast buffet was good. I do however, feel let down by the room. So all in all I would probably not return to the hotel - to the bar perhaps, but not the hotel.

Pro: location
Con: price vs. what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was there with a tour group and thought the bed was the most comfortable I had ever slept in at a hotel. The rooms were smaller but wide and they made excellent use of space with cubby holes and funny signs explaining the smallness of the bathroom. The room lights were a little odd and I was confused about their internet policy until I figured it out in day 2. I was having a slight language barrier problem with staff but was finally able to figure out that anywhere in the lobby was free use, not just the computer in the lobby.

From the hotel you can walk to many things in town, including restaurants and shopping. The area is not that attractive (by a marina) and the design was a little odd (one door hidden in an alley), but the room was very comfortable and quiet. We did hear an odd horn outside one night around 10 pm for about 10 minutes but we never heard what it was for and the sound stopped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesa_Eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

3 things I want to say about this hotel:

1) The decor is very cute. It's a great place to sit and socialize with friends, get caught up on wifi in the lobby, have a drink in the open layout cocktail bar, seek out tours if you want, get a coffee in the quick snack bar (this is a great feature since a lot of Reykjavik coffee shops don't open before 7, and before 12 on a Sunday and if you are a jetlagged American traveler you will need that early coffee), and organize your day. The bathrooms are worth a visit by themselves. But you can get all those benefits without having to stay there.

2) Breakfast is amazing. This one is worth the value, which wasn't cheap (maybe around $20 per person) but it is more than everything you could want and it was the best deal for high quality food that we found on our trip. It could match any mood you are in and the coffee was very good. Our breakfast wasn't included in our stay so I would recommend for other people to just skip the expensive hotel and come here for the breakfast.

3) The hotel was cute and small but not worth the cost. There were no real amenities here. Wifi was not included in our room, our room was the basic 2 person room, with a view onto the street and buildings on opposite side of the street. I made our reservation 4-5 months before our trip and mentioned that it was our 1st year wedding anniversary. There was no mention of this by anyone when we checked in, no note of congratulations or anything. That's not essential but anyplace that is a truly high quality hotel would have mentioned it. The room was around $250/night. Breakfast not included. Bathroom was in the bedroom but separated by a sliding glass door. They did not provide any travel sized toiletries or any coffee makers. No closets or room to put your clothes. We were on the 2nd or 3rd floor and had to lug everything up the stairs. Bed was comfortable but we didn't spend very much time at the hotel--no reason to. The Front Desk staff seemed stressed out...Not a bad place but it just didn't seem worth that kind of money. I can't imagine being comfortable there for more than our 2 days. It's probably a good option for parties of 5 just traveling to Reykjavik for the weekend and want a large room to share.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for only 2 nights, but what a nice hotel!
Recently opened, stylish harbour-themed hotel in Reykjavik's city center.

This theme comes back in the rooms, which are neat and good sized.

Lively bar on Fridays and Saturdays, where one can meet and have a drink with locals.

Definately worth your stay!

Room Tip: Half of the hotel has rooms with view over the old harbour. The scenery is rough, timeless, so be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the hotel, at the start and end of our holiday in Iceland. We chose the hotel in part because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We enjoyed both our stays very much. The location is interesting, being right on the harbour but only a few minutes walk from the centre. The staff are really friendly and helpful, both rooms we used were clean and well appointed, the buffet breakfasts are delicious and there's plenty of fun, quirky touches to the design and of the hotel which makes staying there feel different to so many plastic hotels. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing