We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cute, contemporary hotel in an ideal location to explore the hidden treasure of Reykjavík!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A cute, contemporary hotel in an ideal location to explore the hidden treasure of Reykjavík!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The Marina Hotel offers modern lodging, an ideal location right at the marina, an ideal launching point to explore the hidden treasure of Reykjavík, Iceland. Shopping and sites are within walking distance and tours pick up right at the hotel, offering the utmost inconvenience....

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    736
    149
    45
    31
See reviews for
304
989
112
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent a long time choosing our hotel for a short 3 night stay in Reykjavik and we chose Reykjavik Marina because of the reviews and location. The hotel is situated right on the busy harbour with its 24 hour lights and heavy industrial sounds; these did not bother us, in fact, we enjoyed watching the activity. However, a large fishing vessel pulled high up the slip did compromise the view of the distant glacier, and the lights put paid to any chance of seeing the Northern Lights from our attic room. The position of the hotel for the main attractions in Reykjavik could not be beaten, and there are many restaurants and bars nearby. Having said that, you might prefer to eat in because the food is really good and not that much pricier than other nearby hostelries.

The décor of the hotel has been referred to as quirky in many reviews and we were a little disappointed to be honest. Not so much quirky as a mishmash of themes obviously put together by an interior designer hoping to create a ‘quirky feel’, and failing. The same designer is presumably responsible for the entire Icelandair hotel chain, because they are all the same. That’s not to say it doesn’t work, it’s fine if you like IKEA meets British Homestores, but there is not any real character to the place as it is so manufactured.

The public areas were being decorated while we were there, but this did not cause us any difficulties.

Apart from one regrettably dippy girl at reception, (she was really annoying and completely ineffective) the staff were fantastic. Friendly, efficient and so very helpful. We did find that waiting by a till with your money in your hand was not always sufficient to attract the attention of two girls serving at the bar, and to stop them talking long enough to serve us, but this was easily overcome by being more demonstrative and calling them over. In fact this apparent laid back attitude, which might come across as being unhelpful, is typical of the Icelandic people who prefer to be approached more directly.

The room was a disappointment. We paid extra for an attic room with balcony and view over the sea. I do not know what the other lower rooms are like, but ours was tiny. Way too small to consider unpacking our suitcases and with no closed storage whatsoever for things like cameras, chargers, underwear etc. I think that the publicity pictures are very misrepresentative, giving the illusion that the rooms are a lot bigger than they actually are. This could be a problem to some people, or to guests who are staying longer than a few nights. A sign in the bathroom admits that it is ‘small but functional’, whereas we felt it was a decent size and adequate. What we did not like was the sliding glass partition wall with gaps that meant the occupant has very little privacy. While for most aspects of sharing a room this is unlikely to be a problem, there are some times when you are likely to want more privacy than is offered. While the frosted glass did obscure the actions of the occupants, you might still feel as if you are in a goldfish bowl, and that sounds in particular travel. I hope that I have tactfully described the truth of the situation! The balcony on the other hand was generously proportioned and we did spend a lot of time sitting out there. You can request a kettle at reception for your room, otherwise one is not provided.

Would we stay there again? Probably not, because we are unlikely to want to stay in Reykjavik again preferring to stay at another location in Iceland away from the city. But if you are after a city break, then Reykjavik Marina appears to be a smart choice.

Room Tip: Having a balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterandlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a quirky but charismatic hotel-brutalist concrete with homely touches . The hotel is situated on the waterfront with fascinating views of the working shipyard . The hotel buzzes at night but there is no disturbance to those guests not wishing to partake .The food and service is first class and the staff are engaging , knowledgeable and intuitive about ones needs .We had a small but functional room with a really comfortable bed and fantastic views across the sound to snow covered hills , the bird watching from the window was fantastic and we even saw the aurora from our window (3rd floor harbour facing)!My view is that this would be hard to beat in a city where everything is expensive compared to the uk .A major plus is that the breakfast which came with the room booking was a huge buffet -great quality and variety.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed 6 nights and truly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The concierge service was most accommodating and helpful, courteous and paid attention to detail. Breakfast was delicious with an extensive buffet. Evenings in the lounge was relaxed and fun, a great place to hang out. An all around great experience. Would choose this hotel for a return visit to Iceland!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supernatxpresion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had the studio six room - 202. For four people it was terrific - the bunks are king sized and there is a large distance between bottom and top bunk - so no feeling of being closed in. The lounge area in the room was also very comfortable. This hotel is quirky.. it doesn't feel as if it just another chain hotel - attention to detail really make this an interesting place to stay.
It is right next to a slip way and we had a massive ship outside the window in dry dock!
Great location - minutes to walk to the centre of town and all tours pick up from here as well.
Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstruthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I purchased a package airfare/hotel deal through Icelandair, so this hotel was mostly "assigned" to me. I couldn't have been happier. The staff from front desk to food service to housekeeping were always attentive, helpful, and polite. Rooms, modestly sized, have everything you need, with clever layout. Cleanliness was clearly a priority of theirs. Most impressively, there was character in the presentation of everything - breakfast buffet, room decor, exercise room, etc.

Location is in the Marina, so it was a bit of a walk to get to the city center, but certainly worth it considering the better quality of the hotel itself. I'm likely to stay here again next time I'm in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

stayed at the icelandair marina for a week over new year, hotel was excellent, food very good, hotel staff more than happy to help you out with anything whether its booking a taxi, trip or general information. hotel room was perfect, lovely and clean and cleaned everyday, this hotel is within walking distance to all shops, restaurants, on top of the harbour for excursions, any trip booked you are collected from reception, we even booked a last minute trip two hours before it left and this wasn't a problem.
saw the northern lights three times in this week ( wow was truly magical) that's another tick of the bucket list, went snowmobiling highly recommended, blue lagoon wow what an experience that was in the snow (its a must)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing